We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a weekend stay in Bruges and after long search on the Internet decided for the Martins Relais, mainly because they offered family rooms, which most other 4 star Hotels did not do.
The room was on the top floor, second floor, with view over the back garden of the Hotel. The room was big with a high ceiling and had enough space for a family of 3.
The location is great, not totally in the center , but only in walking distance from it, which is great as it lies a bit quite away from the tourist crowds.
The breakfast was very good and the bar service in the evening was very efficient and friendly.
Overall, I can recommend the Hotel.

Room Tip: use teh parking offered by the Hotel if you are with a car, otherwise you have to constantly feed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riojawikinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, Directeur général at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Riojawikinger,

Many thanks for your nice comment on our hotel.

We are glad to read you and your family loved the room, the breakfast and the efficiency of our staff members.

Even though the area of the hotel was very important in the history of Bruges (goods coming into the city and being unloaded from the canal in front of the hotel), it is true that the mass tourism (market square area) is a few minutes’ walk away.

Thanks again for your review, we hope we may welcome you again one day.

Best Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in February 2014 for a weekend break. The staff were lovely and friendly. The hotel itself looked lovely and cosy, lots of antiques and old style design. The room was clean and comfortable. The beds were comfy and our garden view room was quiet and we were able to sleep with our windows open and had no problems with any noise. We read reviews on the rooms being dated, but whilst the furniture was antique styled, it added to the character of the hotel. The bathroom was modern and clean and the room itself had tea and coffee facilities which were restocked when the maid attended. We were able to leave our luggage safely and on our day of departure the staff booked our taxi which turned up on time. Nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is in an excellent location next to one of the many waterways. It's an easy 5 min stroll to the centre and has some lovely chocolate shops within a minutes walk. Would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with mom and sister in January. The hotel is lovely and very clean but what made our stay so lovely was the staff. They were very helpful not only with telling us places to visit but so concerned that we enjoyed our stay. Especially the gentleman on reception he was so kind and helpful. I would like to definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

3 night stay with mother. They couldn't have made us more welcome. Help with luggage. Directions. Nothing too. Much trouble. Booked with a Eurostar package from London. £400 for 2 for 3 nights inc travel but not breakfast. Room with garden view quiet. Can imagine that canal side might be noisy due to passing traffic on cobbled street. Walking distance to everything in Bruges. Good cafés and restaurants all very close. Excellent weekend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for a few days in early January. It's in a great location, 5 minutes walk from the main square.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable.
We had a kingsize bed, but I have to say it wasn't the most comfortable I've slept in, but it was ok.
I'd stay here again, but probably request a room on the opposite side to the canal. It was quiet at night, the traffic didn't keep us awake, but cars driving down the cobbled street in the morning were quite loud. It really wasn't that bad, only the odd car, but just worth considering if you want complete peace and quiet.
We had breakfast in with our package deal, and it was a good buffet style breakfast. Nothing amazing, but a decent selection - plenty to set us up for the day (well at least and till hot chocolate and cake time!)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueGirl_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Bluegirl,

Thank you for sharing your experiences in our hotel.

We are happy to read that overall you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

You are right about the canal-garden side, but when the availability allows it, we often let our guests choose and inform them about the possible traffic noise at the canal side. Our garden view rooms really are the quietest ones in Bruges, with our large inner garden.

We hope we may welcome you again one day!

Kind Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My girl friend and I stayed at Hotel Martins for 3 nights over New Years eve. The hotel is in a great location just behind the bell tower. We drove from Kent, and the handy thing with the hotel is the parking under ground. Albeit 25 euros a night is a little steep.
We were moved from our first room when we checked in as the shower was blocked, which was a shame as we were in the new wing of the hotel and the room was lovely. The room we ended up in was slightly dated but can't complain too much.
Would recommend to friends and family. Bruges is a great place, nearly as good as all the beer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Martin's Relais is a short bus trip from the train station. Finding the right stop may be tricky - it's easiest to get off at the Markt and make the 7 minute walk.

We stayed in a canal view room on the first floor. The view was lovely. The room was uniquely decorated with wood paneled walls and elegant curtains. Both the room and bathroom were generously sized. The bathroom had a heated floor, especially nice in winter! We had a bathtub and hand held shower, which was nice.

The hotel consists of three connected houses, some acquired more recently than others. This makes for some interesting twists and turns. Someone in a wheelchair or who has difficulty with stairs should notify the hotel ahead of time.

The room was in a private little alcove, and we could even leave the hall light on when we left. All the other lights were motion sensors, which was cool. Just when I thought we'd be walking in the dark, a light flipped on.

I would stay here again, but would probably request one of the garden rooms. The canal view rooms also happen to be along a cobblestone street. Not too many cars go by - 1 every 5 minutes - but a car speeding along cobblestone is loud! I will say it didn't keep me up at night as traffic died down around 11 pm. But for me, I'd rather have a super quiet room than one with a view, so I'd try a garden room next time. Other than the noise from cars, our room felt very private.

We didn't eat the hotel breakfast as there were several inexpensive places around the corner.

Super friendly staff gave great directions for sight seeing and transportation back to the airport.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £86 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing