We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I had the best stay here and I am definitely planning on coming back. I had a huge room, the bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was also huge, the staff was very helpful. The hotel was in a fantastic location, only a few minutes walking to get to the Burg or Markt squares. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwestie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    364
    105
    41
    10
See reviews for
134
541
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for a family break with 2 children and booked the family room , the room was amazing it is probably the largest family room we have stayed in , in Europe. The hotel is full of character and the staff friendly and helpful. Private parking is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The buffet breakfast was great and catered for our needs and the children's. The hotel is only a 5-10 min walk from the Market square and all the main sights in Bruges. Will definitely be staying here again and recommend it if looking for a family room in a lovely hotel close to the centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamrhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a weekend stay in Bruges and after long search on the Internet decided for the Martins Relais, mainly because they offered family rooms, which most other 4 star Hotels did not do.
The room was on the top floor, second floor, with view over the back garden of the Hotel. The room was big with a high ceiling and had enough space for a family of 3.
The location is great, not totally in the center , but only in walking distance from it, which is great as it lies a bit quite away from the tourist crowds.
The breakfast was very good and the bar service in the evening was very efficient and friendly.
Overall, I can recommend the Hotel.

Room Tip: use teh parking offered by the Hotel if you are with a car, otherwise you have to constantly feed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riojawikinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, Directeur général at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Riojawikinger,

Many thanks for your nice comment on our hotel.

We are glad to read you and your family loved the room, the breakfast and the efficiency of our staff members.

Even though the area of the hotel was very important in the history of Bruges (goods coming into the city and being unloaded from the canal in front of the hotel), it is true that the mass tourism (market square area) is a few minutes’ walk away.

Thanks again for your review, we hope we may welcome you again one day.

Best Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in February 2014 for a weekend break. The staff were lovely and friendly. The hotel itself looked lovely and cosy, lots of antiques and old style design. The room was clean and comfortable. The beds were comfy and our garden view room was quiet and we were able to sleep with our windows open and had no problems with any noise. We read reviews on the rooms being dated, but whilst the furniture was antique styled, it added to the character of the hotel. The bathroom was modern and clean and the room itself had tea and coffee facilities which were restocked when the maid attended. We were able to leave our luggage safely and on our day of departure the staff booked our taxi which turned up on time. Nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is in an excellent location next to one of the many waterways. It's an easy 5 min stroll to the centre and has some lovely chocolate shops within a minutes walk. Would definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with mom and sister in January. The hotel is lovely and very clean but what made our stay so lovely was the staff. They were very helpful not only with telling us places to visit but so concerned that we enjoyed our stay. Especially the gentleman on reception he was so kind and helpful. I would like to definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

3 night stay with mother. They couldn't have made us more welcome. Help with luggage. Directions. Nothing too. Much trouble. Booked with a Eurostar package from London. £400 for 2 for 3 nights inc travel but not breakfast. Room with garden view quiet. Can imagine that canal side might be noisy due to passing traffic on cobbled street. Walking distance to everything in Bruges. Good cafés and restaurants all very close. Excellent weekend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for a few days in early January. It's in a great location, 5 minutes walk from the main square.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable.
We had a kingsize bed, but I have to say it wasn't the most comfortable I've slept in, but it was ok.
I'd stay here again, but probably request a room on the opposite side to the canal. It was quiet at night, the traffic didn't keep us awake, but cars driving down the cobbled street in the morning were quite loud. It really wasn't that bad, only the odd car, but just worth considering if you want complete peace and quiet.
We had breakfast in with our package deal, and it was a good buffet style breakfast. Nothing amazing, but a decent selection - plenty to set us up for the day (well at least and till hot chocolate and cake time!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGirl_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Bluegirl,

Thank you for sharing your experiences in our hotel.

We are happy to read that overall you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

You are right about the canal-garden side, but when the availability allows it, we often let our guests choose and inform them about the possible traffic noise at the canal side. Our garden view rooms really are the quietest ones in Bruges, with our large inner garden.

We hope we may welcome you again one day!

Kind Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#36 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Property: Hotel Martin's Relais
Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing