We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Martin's Relais
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Novotel Brugge Centrum(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Brugge(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Martin's Brugge(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Brugge Centrum(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Navarra Brugge(Bruges)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveller rating
425
416
117
46
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
416
117
46
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal viewthe main squarelovely hotelold buildingoverlooking the gardenthe ground floorcobbled streetsmoked salmonantique furnitureold world charmspacious roomreception stafflarge windowschampagne breakfastlots of characterhotel is situatedhigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just got back from a fabulous 2 night stay at the Martin Relais for my husbands 50th, we found it to be a charming luxurious, quirky hotel, great location near to all that Bruges has to offer. We had Room 33 canal view, 1st floor, it had the the largest bed I've ever slept in and a wardrobe to rival anything from Narnia, the bathroom was huge, in all excellent facilities. We heard no noise from traffic on the little road outside or other people only the odd creaky floorboard. The breakfast was superb, Cava, fruit juice, french bread and rolls, croissants, patries, ham, chesse, jam etc etc. fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, smoked salmon as well as baked beans, sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs, tea/coffee well worth the 17 euros we paid in advance (22 if not booked). When we come back to Bruges we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: A canal view room is a must the little road is not noisy and its lovely to open the windows and see water.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiebaby1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Susiebaby1969,

Thank you very much for your nice words on our hotel.

It is a great pleasure for me and my staff members to read you have enjoyed your canal view room, the breakfast and the atmosphere in general.

Just for your information: through some reservation channels (mostly online) it is not always stated very clearly about the cost of the breakfast and the advantage of booking it in advance. Therefor we have changed our policy a bit and you can still book in for the breakfast until 11pm the evening before (at 17€). The “normal” price of 22€ is only charged when people only decide in the morning.

Hopefully we may welcome you another time in Martin’s Relais!

Warm Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights for my husband's 30th birthday. We had a lovely warm welcome from the friendly reception staff, who remembered it was my husband's birthday and even left a note in our room wishing him a happy birthday which I thought was a lovely touch.
We stayed in a garden view room which was nice and quite. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us - you step out of the hotel right onto a pretty street with a canal running through it, and it's a maximum 5 minute walk to the main market square, with shops and restaurants even closer.
We had breakfast at the hotel which was lovely. Plenty of choice with both English breakfast and cold meats, cheeses, cereal etc to choose from. You could even have Cava if you wanted! Also lovely to sit eating breakfast overlooking the canal.
We couldn't fault this hotel in beautiful Bruges, and if we go again we wouldn't hesitate to re-book here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room which was really peaceful with a nice view of the pretty garden.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EzzyStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for a second time in room 20, a canal view room on the second floor , which is a delight. Large spacious rooms with excellent sized bathrooms. You can hear cars on the cobbled road below , which we have no problem with however if you are a lighter sleeper they have wonderful garden rooms which are quieter but do not have the view. We have always found the staff to be courteous and friendly. We drive and use their hotel parking, which is in a safe underground car park a short walk away. You really don't need your car once in Bruges as everything is within easy walking distance. We love this lovely old atmospheric hotel and love it so much we have made our booking for November already. We would also highly recommend Ribs and Beer for your evening meal if you love racks of ribs and the local beers but book well ahead as you won't get a table on the night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear KazerKent,

Thank you very much for coming to stay in our hotel again, and for posting your nice review on Tripadvisor.

It is an honour to read you have visited us several times already, and you are even planning to come back again in the future...

For the next time, please do not hesitate to come speak to my reception staff, they have some excellent restaurant recommendations as well!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Warm Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We absolutely loved this place, we had a beautiful room, with huge balcony. Bathroom and room are very well appointed and very clean. We had view of the flower garden, which I can absolutely recommend, Canal side can be pretty noisy at night. Excellent breakfast as well!
Parking at decent price. Did I mention they have a parrot?
Highly recommended hotel, we were so happy with our choice, we were three so we had an extra bed rolled into the room, which fitted perfectly, but that said, this bed could have been a bit more comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingridH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a very wonderful property located a few blocks away from the central square and therefore quiet. Our room over looked the canal, which was special. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. The hotel is a collection of older - centuries older - homes which are now consolidated.

The room was large with marvelous wooden paneling. And a first rate shower and tv

Issues would be the springs in the side chairs in the room have springs that have sprung! Not a big deal unless you want to sit a spell. Bed was super, though. The breakfast is not included and at 22 euros is high. The small breakfast with coffee and roles was 8 pounds, still high.

We woul∂ defintely retunr.

Room Tip: There is NO pool or fitness center but I can't get rid of he buttons! Get a room on the canal.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim31944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews