We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmmmm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hmmmmmm”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Quick trip to Bruges, which is a lovely place well preserved and charming. The Hotel Martin's - hmmmmm, lets see. I did not book this one, I had business nearby and some associates booked this hotel for me. Very nice location, quiet, central

Minor annoyance at check in as my name was wrong on the reservation which meant the wifi did not work and I was in a hurry so this was just an unnecessary hold up.

A colleague had stayed in this hotel previously and had a lovely canalside or riverside room which I did not get so that was annoying (and pathetic, I know!).

After a business dinner, I spent a very convivial evening in the hotel bar / lounge / library which had a very decent selection of beers and whisky

The hotel amenities were fine, slightly dated but everything in working order

Breakfast room very pleasant and a full selection of drinks, juices, and all types of food for breakfast. Service in the breakfast room was a bit slack but overall in the hotel I found the staff friendly and attentive

The value for money box got ticked as I found the Martin's Relais good value on the company tariff I received from our business partners

So all in all, not spectacular but very nice location, well fitted out if dated, decent staff, nice bar lounge and worthy of a very good rating in my opinion

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    365
    107
    42
    10
See reviews for
135
547
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Martin's Relais is an ideal location for a visit to Brugge. It is situated a few blocks from the main square of Brugge, not too close too be noisy but not to far to walk. The atmosphere is relaxing with its old world charm. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The rooms are large and ours had a lovely view of the garden courtyard.Wifi worked great. Beds were large and comfortable. It was a nice place to return to after a long day of sightseeing. Desk and bar are open 24 hours. It is a gorgeous building that will make you feel like you are staying in your rich uncle's country house. Front and back entrances make it easier to get to your desired activity.

Room Tip: Lower floor avoids need for elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloriamaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a canal view double and spent 3 nights here.
Wow the room was fantastic.
Very large spacious room with huge bathroom. We had a canal view from the main room and bathroom overlooked the garden. Opening windows gave us wonderful airflow.
The bed was exceptional as was all bedding and linen.
We chose not to include breakfast as €20 each a day seemed a little too much for the amount we would actually each ( usually a pastry and coffee) but I'm sure it would have been wonderful.
Reception staff were very professional and greeted us with a warm friendly manner. We arrived before check in time and our room wasn't quite ready but storing our luggage was no problem at all.
One thing that I loved was the smell. The hotel, upon entry had a wonderful, clean and fresh smell. I would love to know what the deodoriser or cleaning product is as I just loved it. :-)
Bruges is a wonderful place and Martins Relais was a great choice for us. Location, room, sleep quality all excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traci_rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Martin's Relais is a beautiful and convenient hotel that, while being just a few minutes walk from the center of the old town, makes you feel as though you are in a private little heaven.

We stayed for 3 nights and truly enjoyed it. It is literally an historic site, with signage pointing out that it is "Amsterdam Oud Huis". Located on a canal, there are two entrances/exits, one on Genthof Street and the other (in back) on the canal.

Very helpful reception staff but what you are really paying for is the delightful old building and its proximity to the center of old, historic Bruges.

I'm sure there are cheaper hotels in Bruges but this one is a keeper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in a "superior double" which was lovely and big, and had more than enough room for the extra bed we needed. The breakfast selection was very good.
The hotel is a little bit worn around the edges, and could do with a bit of a spruce up. For example the lampshade in the room was held on to it's wire frame with bits of masking tape. However this shouldn't detract from it being very nice, and in a lovely quiet location, only minutes from the main square. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Loved this hotel!!! Not sure why it didnt get 5 green circles.
Stayed here for a few nights, fabulous location, 5 mins from the big square, but just far enough to not be in the tourist circus with the tour guides and horse drawn carriages running you over when you leave the hotel. A good choice of places to eat and drink right by the hotel.
The hotel itsself is beautiful inside and out, the photos on the website dont do it justice. We were lucky enough to have a canal view room which was lovely and were also right next to the side entrance.
Didnt have food or much interaction with the staff, they werent massively friendly but were fast and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceland_poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a very pleasant 3D2N stay at Hotel Martin's Relais. The triple room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff at the check in / check out were very efficient and friendly. Breakfast was generous and more than sufficient. We had the garden view. We just love the big windows, especially in the warm weather. The location is quiet, next to a canal and within walking distance to the town centre and the restaurants. Bruges is a very interesting place to explore on foot. We love it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#35 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Property: Hotel Martin's Relais
Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing