We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and very central”
Review of Hotel Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cavalier
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel is 2-star rated and is—for 2 stars—very good indeed. Spacious room and bathroom, good breakfasts, very friendly staff, and, most importantly, very central and at the same time quiet location. A rather unique combination. Bruges is not cheap in general, so properly the price of this hotel can be called "low".

Contras: expect the "2-star" condition of everything. In our room, the bathroom door could hardly be closed; at breakfast, the glass cover-plates on the tables had broken and scotch-fixed corners. However it doesn't spoil the general impression if you don't go for a honey-moon.

Room Tip: - Since buses go in the street in front of the hotel, I would recommend to avoid the street-facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karapetyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at the end of May 2012 for two nights. We really loved the place and the owner, Vivenne, was very nice and helpful. Below are some Pros and Cons about this hotel from our viewpoint:

Pros:
- The room was very clean, a good size for our use, and nicely equipped.
- It was very quiet and a good temperature in the room, but a portable fan was provided (at least on the 4th floor) if needed.
- The owner, Vivianne, is very nice and helpful. She provides a great and hearty breakfast every morning. Our last morning we were leaving 6 AM and missed breakfast, but she was kind enough to pack us food to bring with us, which we did not expect, but really appreciated.
- The location is great, very central and close to alot to see and do in Bruges. Vivianne also provided a discount coupon to get the town attractions pass at a better price.
- Cost - the price was a good value for the money!

Cons:
- There were steep stairs, but we knew we were getting a long walk up when we choose the backpackers room on the 4th floor!
- Only issue that might bother some if you did also pick the 4th floor room is that there is no true window. In the event of a fire you would be trapped in your room if the stairway was unusable and since the window does not open and is in the roof, then no one would likely know you were there. Unlikely that this would happen, but maybe a concern to some people.
- The shower in the 4th floor room is rather small.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I traveled all over Europe last Summer. It goes without saying that Western Europe is not cheap in comparison to the rest of Europe, Bruges being no exception. Hotel Cavalier was one of the best values we found on our trip. The rooms were very comfortable and the location couldn't be better. The owner is extremely helpful and makes a wonderful breakfast and works hard to make sure your stay is pleasant. Without hesitation, I would recommend this place to anyone that values their money and finds pleasure in actually getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We came to this hotel with our 1 and 3 yr old children. They gave us a nice large room with a baby crib and extra bed. The four of us stayed for 90 euros. The breakfast was good and the concierge was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much. We do advise taking the bus from the train station though, if you have small children. it was a bit of a hike. The walls were pretty thin but I think this is typical of hotels in Brugge b/c other hotels we contacted before this one wd not accept children under 6 yrs b/c of noise issues.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Vivienne is spectacular. She makes you feel so special. We had a great stay. Wonderful breakfast in a charming setting. Book directly with the hotel for best rates. Great location - close to bus and one block from town square. Vivienne also knows where everything is located. She was a great help to us. Anytime we are in Bruge this is where we will stay. You will be pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonnie-downtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed here for a night on a fleeting visit to Brugge. The hotel is well situated just off the market square and the towering belfry. Friendly accommodating staff and a very good breakfast are two ofthe best features of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivanasnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Best value and location in Brugge. Very helpful staff at desk and breakfast is excellent. Would recommend to anyone wanting to have a genuine local experience in Belgium and in in particular,

Room Tip: Double rooms are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#64 of 97 in Bruges
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#21 of 97 in Bruges
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#68 of 97 in Bruges
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalier

Address: Kuipersstraat 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cavalier 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing