We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel for the price.”
Review of Hotel Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cavalier
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We (2 adults, 2 children) stayed in the family room at this hotel for 1 night during our last-minute trip to Bruges. The hotel is very close to the main square and thus in a fabulous location.

The facilities are basic but perfect for our requirements. After navigating the 1-way system (beware, SatNav ketp trying to send us the wrong way up one-way streets and cyclists appear to be allowed to cycle either way) we arrived. The lady who runs the hotel was very friendly and we were able to check in early. The room comprised of a double bed and bunk beds. The shower room was clean although the curtain didn't keep all the water in the shower base.

The breakfast was lovely with a wide selection of breads, rolls, pastries, meats, cheese, fruit and cereals. My children loved the hot chocolate!

A great stay. Not luxurious but perfect for what we wanted and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsRussell-Samways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

location is good, service is good, and the room size was also quite spacious. the breakfast was very good, especially the mini cakes. the shower was a bit small but tolerable.
however, the walls are very thin and you can clearly hear what they are talking about next door and what they are watching on TV. if you go to bed early, this problem can be avoided. overall, is clean but basic and conveniently located.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank 12yearoldcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. Location to the main square is fantastic. Hotel room was basic but clean and comfortable enough. Breakfast was continental and very nice. Special mention to the hotel staff who very helpful and friendly. Overall a good choice for a reasonable price and location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is just a bit off the main square of Bruges meaning that it is a bit quieter than some other choices. There is a bus line out in front but even in a front facing room it is quiet. Our room was a very good size; one of the largest rooms we had in Europe. Nice breakfast and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights, the host was lovely very helpful gave us recommendations for restaurants etc. Its less than a 2 min walk to markt square so you're as central as you can get. We had a great south facing double room facing the back courtyard perfect for what we wanted. If your looking for a good 2 star hotel you can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliodhna1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed (with partner) at the Hotel Cavalier in Bruges for two nights. The room was nice and cozy, as well as clean. The whole has got this old fashioned feel to it that I very much like. The owner is friendly and talkative, and can give good advice as to where to go and where to eat. Breakfast was also good.

The only downside are the thin walls. You can pretty much literally understand what your neighbors are saying. We had bad luck, with the people next to us getting up at 0700 in the morning in the weekend! I guess you've got to be lucky on that one. I'm not sure if the hotel has any rooms with no adjacent room, but I'd go for that if possible!

All in all, good value for money and on a good location in the beautiful city of Bruges (3 mins walk from 'the Markt').

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arrahant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The woman who runs this hotel must be superwoman, because she seems to be working around the clock! She's up very early in the morning to prepare the breakfast (which is very good, but I will get to that later), and is up late at night to accommodate guests. The hotel is very well located, near the central square but also a very short walking distance from the residential area, which is host to many cheaper restaurants in Bruges (and if you've been there you'll know this is invaluable-- €20+ for one person for any given meal is absurd!).

The room itself was a little bit dated, but clean and roomy enough for three people with an extra cot. The rooms weren't soundproof, and it was easy to hear other guests, but thankfully we had quiet people in the room next door.

One major downside was the sewer-gas smell that was prevalent in our hallway-- it wasn't until our second night here that we had whiffs of it in our room, and it would be much better if that smell wasn't so strong. Also, connection to the wifi is a bit difficult and slow, and you dont get it in all parts of the room. It is also somewhat unpredictable and sometimes goes out or struggles to connect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatalieSteinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#69 of 97 in Bruges
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Pauw
Hotel De Pauw
#75 of 97 in Bruges
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#65 of 97 in Bruges
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalier

Address: Kuipersstraat 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £71 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cavalier 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing