We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in good location.”
Review of Hotel Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cavalier
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel in good location.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Ideal for city centre. Charming hotel with clean, good size rooms, good breakfast in lovely dining room. Viviane is a lovely, helpful manager - nothing is too much trouble. Exceptionally good value given the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchyfeet28Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    80
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
98
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Cavalier. Our room was at the top of the hotel. No lift so beware of stairs. Tiny, steep stairs. If you do not have large luggage then it is worth the climb. Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom size was very good by European standards. Breakfast was excellent (included). We would definitely go back and stay again at the Cavalier.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms but our room at the top of the hotel was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Cavaler for 2 nights in late October 2013. Could not ask for a better location, city center about 2 blocks away. Manager Viviane an absolute gem, she was very helpful in providing city information. Wi-fi worked great, cable TV had several international channels. Beautiful dining room, breakfast items in great supply and very good selection. The morning we checked out Viviane packed a beautiful lunch for us as our train departed for Paris at 6:30 AM. I highly recommend this moderately priced hotel in one of the most beautiful of European cities.

Room Tip: Room 3 in second floor is a great double room. Would not suggest much higher as there is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed in September.. This is a very good value for the money. The location can't be beat. This is a small and very clean place. Our only real issue was with the pesky skeleton key that is used on the locks. We had a really hard time with this. There was a sweet spot that you had to hit in order to unlock or lock the door that really frustrated us. Although the innkeeper was generally nice, I do believe she became just a little annoyed with us since we had such a hard time with it.. Could have been just our perception of the situation. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were adequately large enough for us. Teeny tiny bathroom though.. WIFI did not work in our room, which i missed a little.. We went to the bar a couple of doors down and used their WIFi though, so it was fine for just 2 nights. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmoreMacon_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My daughter and myself stayed here in mid September for a one night stay, wish it were more. The Hotel is small and cozy but our room was quite well sized and the Hotel is very adequate for the reasonable price. The continental breakfast was very satisfying and fresh, and the location was very central to everything. The owner was also very helpful and accomodated our early arrival and looked after our bags after check out. What more can you really want or need from a city Hotel, when you are out most of the day anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnieBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Hotel Cavalier is a very reasonably priced small hotel located in the center of Bruges. The room was small but charming and clean. There was a basic but good breakfast included in with the room that made for a great start to our day in Bruges.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanJ415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Affordable place to stop in Bruges, very close to the main attractions and town sqares.
3 of us stopped here whilst watching football, owner was very friendly and helpfull. Hotel is full of antiques and the breakfast room is very nice. Great continental breakfast. Rooms are adequate for our needs, clean but a bit dated (it is a very old building so expected this)
Overall a good place to stay and ideal for centre of City

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#69 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#37 of 97 in Bruges
1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#43 of 97 in Bruges
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#38 of 97 in Bruges
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalier

Property: Hotel Cavalier
Address: Kuipersstraat 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#44 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cavalier 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing