We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy place to stay”
Review of Hotel Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cavalier
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here, while we were visiting the Bruges and found it very pleasant. The hotel is close to the town centre and has a nice view of the streets outside. The rooms and everything were very clean and the lady at the reception was joyful and always eager to help us with directions. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nd3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

2 minutes from Central Square. 100 Euros for triple room. Steep stairs, typical Benelux. OK, needs some TLC but spotless, friendly staff and adequate breakfast. Excellent value in an expensive city.
Fantastic bars and beers in City.Recommend book 80 beers/bars in Bruges from CAMRA £8. Go off season avoid June through September.

Room Tip: No problems with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saintmirren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hi,

This place is highly rated. On websites like tripadvisor. But in the end is stll just 2 stars.
Downsides:
We were lucky just at 1st floor. If you are staying at the top floor...quite a long trip up the stairs. Stairs are quite steep and bit scary.
Rooms are bit tired and old looking.The red carpet doesnt invite walking with bare feet.
TBH...Was shocked why it was so highly rated.
In the rooms its quite easy to hear when people comeback.
Biggest downside...nextdoor is a nightclub/

Than the good points.
The location is perfect a few minutes from the grote MArkt.
Breakfast was tremendous. Great fresh breads. Boiled eggs. Perfect continental breakfasts.
The woman was really nice and service oriented.
The bed was comfortable.
Everything seems clean

So it's still a 2 star and because everything is clean..I can still recommend it. And the plusses makes the high rating understandable.

Would i stay here again...very unsure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tan1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Disappointing
Given the other excellent reviews I was disappointed and almost shocked with the room we had in this Hotel. I am not given to being too critical and generally find my views in-step with other Trip advisor reviewers so I can only assume that my experience was due to being placed at the back of the Hotel on the top floor. The bedroom was dimly lit, very basic and dour. If we had not been so tired when we arrived I would probably not have stayed.
Pros; Excellent location almost in Market Square
Very friendly staff
Very good breakfast
Room was clean
Good car park just around corner from Hotel, only 8 euro for 24hrs
Breakfast lounge very attractive and full of character
Cons: The characterless bedroom which was very poor, dimly lit and a bit shabby with no redeeming features or charm.
No coffee or tea making facilities
Towels were thin and worn (they were perfectly clean)
TV very small and dated... OK you certainly would not be spending long in this room but the Hotel has no residents lounge so when not out you have little to distract you from the thought that surely the other rooms have got to be a whole lot better?
Hotel corridors were smelly.
Very poor value

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 1st floor? At all costs avoid top floor rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have just come back from a couples holiday and stayed at this charming hotel right in the middle of the city. Just a 2 minute walk from the famous Markt square. The hotel is very enchanting and perfect for an authentic stay in Bruges. Breakfast was continental and just what you needed after sampling the Belgian beer. The lady who runs the hotel is extremely helpful and friendly. Great value. Would definitely come back when in Bruges.

If you park in the Bierkof car park just 100m away from the hotel it will cost you a mere 8 euros per 24 hours. Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurboJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned from a two night stay in this hotel. The hotel is full of character, and very central to everything ( a two minute walk to the square). The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast very nice and manager of hotel very hard working. Only downfall is that the hotel is situated next to a club so very noisy on weekend with extremely loud music (however this is no fault of the hotel), so wouldn't recommend if you wanted a early night sleep! Car park situated two minutes around the corner, and very cheap to park. Will definitely be back again due to the character of hotel and being so central.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top are probably quieter from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at this lovely hotel and honestly could not have asked for a better stay.

We were absolutely delighted when we walked in and were allocated our rooms two hours early by the very friendly manager. The rooms are exactly as we wanted, charming and comfortable. Bed was lovely and big, and the shower was roomy and water always hot. Breakfast was also lovely and always being topped up with more bread and juice.

The location made this hotel, literally a 5 minute walk to the Market square. Parking is just around the corner around 100 metres, and cost us 21 euros for 3 days, absolute bargain.

We will definitely be back for another stay in this beautiful hotel.

Recommendations whilst staying at this hotel:

Bad: Please avoid the restaurant named "La Taverne Brugeoise" on the square near the hotel, I have never had poorer service and more over priced food in my life, 6 euros for a coke, and 23 euros for 7 pieces of beef stew and a half portion of chips. (Check other reviews!)

Good: Do the river cruise! Just under 8 euros and a beautiful relaxing trip up the canal, lovely!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#64 of 97 in Bruges
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#21 of 97 in Bruges
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#68 of 97 in Bruges
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalier

Address: Kuipersstraat 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cavalier 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing