We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Salvators

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Salvators
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We have just returned from Brugge and stayed for 6 nights at the hotel Salvatore. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are spacious. At breakfast you can order omelets and waffles which are cooked fresh. We had a wonderful time largely down to the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Salvators
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Based on the reviews from Tripadvisor, we booked this hotel for the one night that we stayed in Bruges. The hotel and staff couldn’t have been more helpful and accommodating.

We took a mini-cruise deal with P&O booked on P&O`s website from Hull to Zeebrugge then a coach took us from the ferry to Bruges train station s part of the deal. We booked this hotel separately on the internet. Shortly after booking the hotel, the hotel emailed me asking what time we were expected to arrive. As we were expected to arrive early for checking in at around 10am, the hotel informed us that it was too early to take the room but, they would look after our bags until it was available.

We arrived at 10am, checked in and they took our bags and locked them away as stated. They said, we could have the room from 12 noon. Without asking, they then gave us a map and marked out the main points of interest. They also gave us a card to get discounts at certain places as we were guests at that hotel. We arrived back around midday having had a walk around the area in the short time that we had. We went into the guest lounge and ordered a coffee. The guest lounge comprised of some tables and chairs and a really comfy and very large sofa. The sofa sat right in front of a large open gas/log fire, this was so warm and cosy that we didn’t want to move away from it. Even the hotel cat who sat with us, has his own little seat.!

Anyway to the room we went as promised. As we were only there for a single night, we had booked their cheapest room and it was very clean and large. We had room number 4 and it had a large comfortable double bed, its own kitchenette, en suite shower room and view of the cathedral. The room although right above the main hotel door and on the roadside was very quiet and we were not disturbed by any noise. The hotel has a bar selling a few Belgian blonde beers on draught including cherry beer.

We went down for breakfast and were pleased with the self service choice of continental foods on offer. Check out was 12 noon and we asked the hotel once again to watch our bags so that we could go out for the day as our coach pick up wasn’t until 5:30pm. They said that they would be pleased to help. The weather that day was freezing although dry but then again who’s complaining when there was snow in the UK, in March too.!!
At 3:30pm we returned back to the hotel, ordered a coffee and sat by that wonderful fire. The hotel allowed us after asking them, to stay in the lounge area in front of the fire until we left. They ordered a taxi for us at 4:45pm to the train station. All in all from checking into the hotel until we left, was a day and a half and we had only booked for one night.

The hotel is perfectly situated for Bruges tourists, 50 metres from one of the main shopping streets and a ten minute walk down this street brings you to the main Markt Square.
St. Salvator’s cathedral is on the other side of the road from the entrance and the train station is a 5 minute ride away. The taxi cost us 10 Euros from the station to the hotel and 7 Euros back to the station... Taxi driver’s eh.? We highly recommend this hotel to anyone, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVFC4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Great welcome, good breakfast, central location with reasonably-priced car park within 200 yards. The public areas were full of character and comfortable, and the delights of central Bruges within very easy walking distance. We had a lovely room on the top floor overlooking the Cathedral Square that just made it for us. Finally, it all came at a very reasonable price for the Summer period.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the square is good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndiWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A wonderful value place to stay, perfect location - slap bang in between the centre of Bruges and the train station so very easy to get to.
The hotel itself has very clean and smart original rooms, which combined with a wonderful guest lounge and bar makes for a very welcoming atmosphere, also keep an eye out for the lovey cat lurking around!

Wouldn't have changed a thing about the Hotel, perfect stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just arrived home from a three day stay....this hotel is amazing, the staff especially 'Sandy' are so friendly and all speak good english. The themed rooms are great fun, we had room number 3, (be sure to do the puzzle on the wall, as you will find a surprise). Speedy the cat has the run of the lounge and bar and apparently has his own facebook page. So central to all amenities and overlooks Salvators Cathedral........cannot reccomend this hotel enough!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Bruges and absolutely loved this hotel. It's about a 15 minute walk to the train station or a 7 euro cab ride. The hotel is extremely cozy, with a bar area downstairs as well as a roaring fireplace to relax in front of after a cold day in the snow. We definitely took advantage of the fireplace and the 2 beers the hotel had on tap a few times during our stay. The room was cozy, and there was even a faux fireplace in it. Everything was clean, and the beds were really comfortable compared to what you usually find in European hotels. The hotel is right next to a huge church, so we had a nice view from our window. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and totally worth it. Along with your standard breads and cheese platters, you can also get freshly made Belgian waffles or omelettes. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and would definitely recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Bruges. It fits the quaint feeling of the town perfectly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleLeeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

You couldn't be any more central than Hotel Salvators - stunning period building opposite the lovely Salvators Cathedral. There is nearby parking for about 5e a day which the staff will direct you to.

Hotel staff are fantastic - really laid back and friendly, yet very informative and helpful. We stayed in the building opposite which was a delight - full of character, history and charm. Our room was a studio apartment in the eves, which was perfect as we had a baby with us and was self-contained with kitchenette, seating area and bathroom with a baby bath installed. The only criticism is that the stairs are very narrow and steep which makes it a bit precarious with a baby and bags etc. Other than that, couldn't fault the room. Our friends stayed in the main building and they had a lovely room overlooking the Cathedral and were really happy with the facilities.

Breakfast was included in the price, and was a Continental buffet style. Really good quality food and plenty of it. There was no rush to leave the dining area which had a gorgeous, huge open fire and stunning Xmas tree in it - really cosy and festive!

Absolutely loved this hotel - it was a real find. I would highly recommend it for a w'end in Bruges - everything is within walking distance and there's a great little bar in there for a relaxing evening drink. It's reasonably priced and the staff are a credit to the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeenieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#67 of 97 in Bruges
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#43 of 97 in Bruges
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.1 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#71 of 97 in Bruges
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvators

Address: Sint-Salvatorskerkhof 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvators 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Salvators reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvators Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing