We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Salvators

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Salvators
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Very nice hotel in beautiful town of Bruges. Room was very comfortable and a decent size and staff was helpful with providing recommendations. Nice fireplace downstairs where you can have a drink or relax. Breakfast was excellent - there were fresh items to choose from and you could also order from the kitchen - i recommend the belgian waffles - they were very good. Wifi on top floor was not so great - but if you come down to the lounge/lobby area you wont have any problems. I just knocked off one star because when checking out I was told that I owed 2 for 2 beers that I had charged to our room. I explained that we had not charged anything to our room, and that there apparently was a mistake by another member of the staff. They hesistantly removed the items from the final bill and did not offer an apology. So it left a bit of a bad taste in my mouth. But except for that, all in all a great stay and I recommend this hotel for an affordable stay in the great city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicklx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

A lovely hotel in a great location by the cathedral. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, welcoming bar with a good choice of board games. Quirky room but very comfortable with a lovely view of the cathedral. I don't think there is a lift, but the staff are very helpful so I expect they would help with luggage if needed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The hotel is situated in a very good location just a 5 minute walk to all the sights.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable.The weather when we were there was very very cold but the open fire in the hotel was always more than welcoming.Breakfast was again very good,when we came down on our 1st morning for breakfast,we were asked if we would like waffles or eggs cooked anyway we wanted, that was a very pleasant surprise.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for a very homely comfortable stay and we hope to return in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We have just returned from Brugge and stayed for 6 nights at the hotel Salvatore. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are spacious. At breakfast you can order omelets and waffles which are cooked fresh. We had a wonderful time largely down to the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Based on the reviews from Tripadvisor, we booked this hotel for the one night that we stayed in Bruges. The hotel and staff couldn’t have been more helpful and accommodating.

We took a mini-cruise deal with P&O booked on P&O`s website from Hull to Zeebrugge then a coach took us from the ferry to Bruges train station s part of the deal. We booked this hotel separately on the internet. Shortly after booking the hotel, the hotel emailed me asking what time we were expected to arrive. As we were expected to arrive early for checking in at around 10am, the hotel informed us that it was too early to take the room but, they would look after our bags until it was available.

We arrived at 10am, checked in and they took our bags and locked them away as stated. They said, we could have the room from 12 noon. Without asking, they then gave us a map and marked out the main points of interest. They also gave us a card to get discounts at certain places as we were guests at that hotel. We arrived back around midday having had a walk around the area in the short time that we had. We went into the guest lounge and ordered a coffee. The guest lounge comprised of some tables and chairs and a really comfy and very large sofa. The sofa sat right in front of a large open gas/log fire, this was so warm and cosy that we didn’t want to move away from it. Even the hotel cat who sat with us, has his own little seat.!

Anyway to the room we went as promised. As we were only there for a single night, we had booked their cheapest room and it was very clean and large. We had room number 4 and it had a large comfortable double bed, its own kitchenette, en suite shower room and view of the cathedral. The room although right above the main hotel door and on the roadside was very quiet and we were not disturbed by any noise. The hotel has a bar selling a few Belgian blonde beers on draught including cherry beer.

We went down for breakfast and were pleased with the self service choice of continental foods on offer. Check out was 12 noon and we asked the hotel once again to watch our bags so that we could go out for the day as our coach pick up wasn’t until 5:30pm. They said that they would be pleased to help. The weather that day was freezing although dry but then again who’s complaining when there was snow in the UK, in March too.!!
At 3:30pm we returned back to the hotel, ordered a coffee and sat by that wonderful fire. The hotel allowed us after asking them, to stay in the lounge area in front of the fire until we left. They ordered a taxi for us at 4:45pm to the train station. All in all from checking into the hotel until we left, was a day and a half and we had only booked for one night.

The hotel is perfectly situated for Bruges tourists, 50 metres from one of the main shopping streets and a ten minute walk down this street brings you to the main Markt Square.
St. Salvator’s cathedral is on the other side of the road from the entrance and the train station is a 5 minute ride away. The taxi cost us 10 Euros from the station to the hotel and 7 Euros back to the station... Taxi driver’s eh.? We highly recommend this hotel to anyone, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVFC4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Great welcome, good breakfast, central location with reasonably-priced car park within 200 yards. The public areas were full of character and comfortable, and the delights of central Bruges within very easy walking distance. We had a lovely room on the top floor overlooking the Cathedral Square that just made it for us. Finally, it all came at a very reasonable price for the Summer period.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the square is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndiWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A wonderful value place to stay, perfect location - slap bang in between the centre of Bruges and the train station so very easy to get to.
The hotel itself has very clean and smart original rooms, which combined with a wonderful guest lounge and bar makes for a very welcoming atmosphere, also keep an eye out for the lovey cat lurking around!

Wouldn't have changed a thing about the Hotel, perfect stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#41 of 97 in Bruges
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#55 of 97 in Bruges
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#52 of 97 in Bruges
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#76 of 97 in Bruges
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvators

Address: Sint-Salvatorskerkhof 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £65 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvators 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Salvators reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvators Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing