We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not another Novotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Salvators

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Salvators
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not another Novotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

That is the motto that greets you at reception. I have nothing against Novotel, but this is certainly a highly original place to stay.

A beautiful old building on the doorstep of St Salvators Cathedral in Brugges, and a step away form the main shopping streets, yet quiet and peaceful. The rooms are highly original, with cool designs. We stayed in two different rooms, both with beds in lofts (so ask if stairs are an issue). Our two year old son did not have a problem with the stairs, but he definitely LOVED the fish in the super-cool aquariums.

Just one minor criticism (you can't please everybody): beds were a bit soft for my liking, but I find that's quite typical in Belgium.

Stay in room 1 if you can get it - amazing spa bath.

Room Tip: Room 1 if you can get it. All rooms are different, so ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DATbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    120
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
208
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a romantic weekend with my boyfriend - absolutely amazing from start to finish! I originally accidently booked the wrong room and emailed the hotel desperate to change it - they replied promptly saying it was totally fine to amend the booking - phew! Perfect location, so easy to find opposite the cathedral. Super friendly and helpful staff showed us all the places to visit on the city map. Our room was pretty incredible - full aquarium, bath in the middle of the room, full modern kitchen, rain shower and even a single bed in a sneaky cupboard with its own TV. Very clean and bed was so comfy! Breakfast was delicious and calorific - definitely recommend the biscuit flavoured spread! Sitting in front of the fire with a over attention-seeking cat was the perfect way to end our days in Bruges. Will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Room 41 if you like fish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash_Reed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here the three days over New Years. The hotel it self is located perfectly in Brugge. It's less then a 5 minute walk into the main square.

The hotel staff are very friendly and keep you well informed on things going on in and outside the hotel.

Breakfast is very pleasing with a wide range of selections. The usual continental breakfast as well as omelet, scrambled egg or waffles.

The rooms are lovely and quirky. Each room has it's own personality and the beds are very very comfortable. My only negative is that there were not bottles of water in the room and that our room (no 4) was quite dark, being a woman who loves make up this proved a bit of a problem for me but none the less we will be back next new year for our annual stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie4192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Overlooking St. Salvator's Cathedral, this has to be one of the best locations in Bruges.
Quaint dining room with sofa in front of huge open fire.
Good, if limited breakfast menu.
As is the norm in Bruges there is no lift (elevator), just plenty of stairs.
Bed extremely comfortable with plenty of extra bedding.
Room, although certainly not dirty, is shabby chic without the chic. Bathroom likewise.
Noise can be a problem dependant upon fellow guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0ring0ldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night at Hotel Salvators, loved the quirky room, very clean and comfortable. Great location in the middle of Bruges, short walk to 'everywhere', yet was surprisingly quiet at night. Staff were friendly and very accommodating with checking in time and looking after our luggage. Excellent breakfast and lovely lounge area to enjoy an evening drink next to the fire. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamafalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Let start with the positives.
- The location is fantastic. It is close enough from the train station and easy to get to by car. There’s enough space to park outside for 5 minutes and drop the bags off before driving to the underground car park (100m away).
- Despite being close to the centre of town and in a tourist area, we found it to be pleasantly quiet in the evening time. Not that many people wondering around due to it being so cold. I expect things might be a little different in the summer.
- The fire place and living room. Lovely sitting by the fire in the evening time with a beer from the bar. The hotel cat (Speedy) does his best to sit on you, so if you’re allergic to cats, better stay clear.
- Bed was very comfortable.
- A good variety for breakfast.

The not so great.
- As others have stated, the rooms aren’t their cleanest and are out-dated. There are some quirky features to be found in just about every room, but stained carpets, sticky bathroom floors, dust and dirt are a turn off.
- Thin walls. You could hear everything going on in the bedroom next door.

Would I return? Probably, but only for the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecfc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. The location was excellent, but unfortunately that was about it. The room was dirty with cobwebs on the ceiling. You did have a small kitchen in the room with utensils available which were filthy, especially the cutlery tray. The furniture was very dated and needed replacing. The breakfast consisted of eggs or a waffle, when my husband asked for both he was told he could only have one or the other. There was also bread available but no toasting facilities. When I asked for tea at breakfast I was told only coffee was available and I had to have tea in my room, which was absolutely ridiculous.
We will not be staying here again and I wouldn't recommend it.
Location was excellent, and there are a lot more hotels to choose from than this one

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#75 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#64 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvators

Property: Hotel Salvators
Address: Sint-Salvatorskerkhof 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvators 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Salvators reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvators Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing