We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise in this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Salvators

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Salvators
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
northern ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Surprise in this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

This is a lovely hotel in an ideally situated position, within minutes walk of all the main sites.
each room is different, after looking at the internet site we chose room 2, an excellent choice, the room was very cosy with a kingsize double bed, which I can honestly say was the best I have ever slept in. There is a balcony (not a great view, but nice to sit out at the end of the day with a drink) plasma wall mounted tv (with BBC1 & 2/ ITV) a built in living glow fire, a fridge, coffee making facilities, and 2 fish tanks with tropical fish (very theraputic)
The toilet has a large shower cubicle with a superb power shower and sitting area (ideal to let the hot water run over your shoulders and back) There is also a surprise with the water system which is fantastic, it applies to the shower and wash hand basin, but will not tell you what it is as it would spoil it for you.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, and maid service is daily, towel change as you need them.
There is a bar downstairs with the drinks priced at reasonable rates.
Hotel rates include a superb breakfast, we were offered eggs and ham cooked either in omelette/scrambled/ fried way.
A selection of local bread, croissants, meats and cheese.
Cereal/yoghurt/fresh fruit/pure juice tea and coffee, certainly one of the better breakfasts I have enjoyed over the years.
The staff are all friendly and speak excellent English, you also get a Brugge discount card as thankyou for staying with them and this entitles you to money off various attractions in the area.

  • Liked — THE SURPRISE WITH THE WATER SYSTEM
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tankywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    120
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
208
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

Found this hotel online, and personally emailed the staff, who could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The hotel is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the train station, and in a great location for everything else. We checked out early and had to miss breakfast, and the staff prepared a beautiful package for us to take upstairs the night before. There is a great lounge to hang out in (if you can stand the smell of smoke drifting in from the bar), with TV and free internet! We stayed in room 6, which had a cozy loft bed and a pull out couch, the only weird part was the partially transparent bathroom door. We were there for one night and wish it could have been longer!

  • Liked — Great Service, Location
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NyTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

Can't add much more to the previous reviews really. Lovely place, great location, lovely clean room with excellent views.

Breakfast great, and nice to be relaxed between 8-10, rather than the frenzied rush to have breakfast before 9 as in English B & B's. Plenty of choice, and enough to fill you up till late afternoon.

The bike hire is really useful, and very cheap at 5Euros a day.

The staff are very helpful and very pleasant.

All-in-all, I would recommend it to anyone, and the stairs are nowhere near as steep as made out by earlier reviewers.

The smoky bar was only bad one night - all they need is an open window.

Captain

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPhlegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2007

Visiting Hotel in July, travelling on my own. A Bit hairy if you coming from Charerloi to Brugges, Brussels central train station very confusing, but once you on it its grand!

Hotel was lovely, bedroom with kitchenette and big bathroom. Bed was really comfortable with huge big pillows!

The only issues I had was smell of stale smoke everywhere, but it is a smoking hotel. Bathroom floor not the cleanest and carpet could have done with updating. Also could hear very noisy guests the first night but after that it was fine. No AC just a mosquito plug in.

But is so close (30 secs) from main street, and staff are so helpful and friendly, that apart from the bathroom everything else you would overlook.

Very reasonable rate of only €70.00 per night, think if I went again on my own would go for four star bigger hotel with more facilities, but for cheap and cheerful stay for a couple or group it's worth it as not much time would be spent in room really.

  • Liked — the bed and tv screen on wall
  • Disliked — The cleanliness of bathroom poor and smell of stale smoke
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lorr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

The Hotel Salvators saved our trip to Brugge! We had booked a horrible hotel (Hotel Koffieboontje) and were wandering the city depressed, hoping that we could get ourselves drunk enough that we could just pass out and not have to think about how disgusting our accomodations were, when we happened upon the Hotel Salvators.

It was adorable, affordable and had rooms available.

We canceled our reservation at the other hotel (despite the fact that we had pre-paid and couldn't get our money back) and high-tailed it back to Hotel Salvators. The room was great. It was clean, comfortable and charming. We had a nice little sitting area, a comfortable bed, and nice light coming in through two paned windows with window boxes. The view of the street was charming and the hotel is extremely centrally located.

The breakfast was good and included make-your-own soft boiled eggs. There is a nice breakfast room/lounge, where some guests hung out in the evenings (we did not). Bike rentals are available for only 5 Euro and the staff were helpful when we asked for help getting a cab to the train station.

All in all, it was an amazing value for only 70 Euro per night. In fact, it would have felt like a good value for significantly more than that.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Affordable and comfortable. A great value.
  • Disliked — The stairs up to the room were steep and narrow. A very minor concern for us, but would be difficult for those with disabilities or physical limitations.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2007

Hotel Salvators is in a very cute building and would have been perfect except for one thing - the overwhelming smell of smoke. As soon as you come into the building, it hits you like a ton of bricks. The whole room was saturated with the smell. Other than that, the hotel was very nice. Our room, which was on the top floor, had a loft and skylight. The bathroom was clean and recently redone. The room itself was a little 70's looking, but it wasn't bad. The hotel also has a cat. If you aren't a cat person, it will leave you alone, but if you are, it was nice to pet. The hotel has a decently large selection for breakfast and also has WiFi. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — the cat
  • Disliked — the smoke
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth, dorset,uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2007

This hotel was booked at the last minute, after a long search through the internet it seemed like the last one available at Easter, so we had little choice but to go for it. Having said that it was a fabulous surprise. It offers great value for money, a friendly atmosphere, perfect loction, quirky rooms, good food, friendly staff and a very relaxing place to stay

We had the last available room ,which was the most expensive, but well worth every penny. The jacuzzi had lighting and music, there was a terrace and fish tank, plasma TVs - with BBC1 and 2 and ITV!!! It was great to walk miles through the beautiful town all day and come back to a spa bath before heading out to test a few more local beers!

I believe all the rooms are decorated differently so each has it own surprise up its sleeve.

This really is a bargain hotel, genuinely well located - 30 secs from high street and 5 mins from Markt square. Staff fluent in English, french, german etc. We were able to leave our luggage there the day we checked out, and collect it later in the day before our train - that was a great help as we didn't want to drag it around all day.

'Speedy' the hotel cat has a great character and tries very hard to get into your room. He's gorgeous (well I just adore cats anyway) and very friendly, but the staff do try to keep him out of the guests way as obviously some may not like cats, but he certainly has other ideas!!!

I really can't wait to go back. have already recommended it to 3 people and only been home 3 days.

  • Liked — location and really individual room design
  • Disliked — no sofa in room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank katebowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#75 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#65 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvators

Property: Hotel Salvators
Address: Sint-Salvatorskerkhof 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvators 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Salvators reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvators Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing