We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hotel Salvators

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Salvators
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Our stay at Salvators was a very pleasant one! We stayed in Room 42 in the Annex. It had been newly remodeled, and had a big bathroom with shower, kitchenette, table, and a large screen tv. It was clean and tastefully decorated. I would have given the room 5 stars except the bed was a little uncomfortable. There was some sort of vertical bar right down the middle of the bed.

The hotel is excellently located -right in the middle of everything. You can walk everywhere in Bruges, but we found that our favorite spots were steps from the hotel. It is also close to the train station. I'm sure you could walk to the hotel from the train station, but we took a cab both ways because we just weren't sure how to get there. The roads in Bruges wind every which way and street names change randomly.

The breakfast in this hotel is great. Plenty of choices and they fix your eggs to order. Always fresh coffee and hot water for tea. A huge assortment of breads, cheeses, cold meats, and chocolate croissants! They will of course serve you a waffle. Our breakfast kept us fueled until late afternoon.

We found that the people who managed and worked in the hotel were very nice, friendly, and helpful. I don't think you can beat the value of this place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2009

We booked 1 night in Bruges on route to Germany and it was our first time in this medieval city. Having read lots of reviews on trip advisor we decided to go with the Hotel Salvators as it looked very nice for the money - 90 euros for a double room in the centre of a city seemed good value.

We were not disappointed when we got there and the hotel had a nice traditional appearance on the corner of a fairly quiet street which was just off one of the main streets close to the Christmas Markets.

We were lucky in that there was a spare parking place on the road right outside the hotel - parking is free between 19:00 and 09:00. For the extra couple of hours we needed either side of this window, it cost approx. 4E for 2 hours. Very reasonable and we didn`t have the hassle of having to move the car.

We had room number 8 on the 3rd floor which was unusual as it had an extremely tall sloping roof, which is common of the architecture in Bruges. We had a golden teddy bear light on the wall above our bed which was special! In additional they promise a surprise in each room, ours was a round red ball lamp which you could detach from it`s power supply - can`t say we reaklly used it but it makes such a change to stay in an individual hotel with character - there was even a sign in the reception stating this is definitely not a Novotel!

Contrary to some reports we were not kept awake by the Salvators Church clock - it did not sound at night and I think it only started at 08:00am.

Breakfast was excellent and had a very homely feel - scrambed egg was cooked especially for us.
The lounge next to the breakfast room had a big roaring open log fire which was an inviting place to be in the evening - if you have time! The fire was was also lit in the morning and you can also eat your breakfast there if you prefer.

All in all this was a great experience and we would recommend this to anyone seeking a hotel with character in the centre of Bruges at a realistic price!

PS - if you visit Bruges in November - January check out the ice sculpture show, it`s well worth a visit! http://www.icesculpture.be/

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AlfaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

This is a lovely hotel in an ideally situated position, within minutes walk of all the main sites.
each room is different, after looking at the internet site we chose room 2, an excellent choice, the room was very cosy with a kingsize double bed, which I can honestly say was the best I have ever slept in. There is a balcony (not a great view, but nice to sit out at the end of the day with a drink) plasma wall mounted tv (with BBC1 & 2/ ITV) a built in living glow fire, a fridge, coffee making facilities, and 2 fish tanks with tropical fish (very theraputic)
The toilet has a large shower cubicle with a superb power shower and sitting area (ideal to let the hot water run over your shoulders and back) There is also a surprise with the water system which is fantastic, it applies to the shower and wash hand basin, but will not tell you what it is as it would spoil it for you.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, and maid service is daily, towel change as you need them.
There is a bar downstairs with the drinks priced at reasonable rates.
Hotel rates include a superb breakfast, we were offered eggs and ham cooked either in omelette/scrambled/ fried way.
A selection of local bread, croissants, meats and cheese.
Cereal/yoghurt/fresh fruit/pure juice tea and coffee, certainly one of the better breakfasts I have enjoyed over the years.
The staff are all friendly and speak excellent English, you also get a Brugge discount card as thankyou for staying with them and this entitles you to money off various attractions in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tankywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Found this hotel online, and personally emailed the staff, who could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The hotel is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the train station, and in a great location for everything else. We checked out early and had to miss breakfast, and the staff prepared a beautiful package for us to take upstairs the night before. There is a great lounge to hang out in (if you can stand the smell of smoke drifting in from the bar), with TV and free internet! We stayed in room 6, which had a cozy loft bed and a pull out couch, the only weird part was the partially transparent bathroom door. We were there for one night and wish it could have been longer!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NyTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Can't add much more to the previous reviews really. Lovely place, great location, lovely clean room with excellent views.

Breakfast great, and nice to be relaxed between 8-10, rather than the frenzied rush to have breakfast before 9 as in English B & B's. Plenty of choice, and enough to fill you up till late afternoon.

The bike hire is really useful, and very cheap at 5Euros a day.

The staff are very helpful and very pleasant.

All-in-all, I would recommend it to anyone, and the stairs are nowhere near as steep as made out by earlier reviewers.

The smoky bar was only bad one night - all they need is an open window.

Captain

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CaptainPhlegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

Visiting Hotel in July, travelling on my own. A Bit hairy if you coming from Charerloi to Brugges, Brussels central train station very confusing, but once you on it its grand!

Hotel was lovely, bedroom with kitchenette and big bathroom. Bed was really comfortable with huge big pillows!

The only issues I had was smell of stale smoke everywhere, but it is a smoking hotel. Bathroom floor not the cleanest and carpet could have done with updating. Also could hear very noisy guests the first night but after that it was fine. No AC just a mosquito plug in.

But is so close (30 secs) from main street, and staff are so helpful and friendly, that apart from the bathroom everything else you would overlook.

Very reasonable rate of only €70.00 per night, think if I went again on my own would go for four star bigger hotel with more facilities, but for cheap and cheerful stay for a couple or group it's worth it as not much time would be spent in room really.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lorr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2007

The Hotel Salvators saved our trip to Brugge! We had booked a horrible hotel (Hotel Koffieboontje) and were wandering the city depressed, hoping that we could get ourselves drunk enough that we could just pass out and not have to think about how disgusting our accomodations were, when we happened upon the Hotel Salvators.

It was adorable, affordable and had rooms available.

We canceled our reservation at the other hotel (despite the fact that we had pre-paid and couldn't get our money back) and high-tailed it back to Hotel Salvators. The room was great. It was clean, comfortable and charming. We had a nice little sitting area, a comfortable bed, and nice light coming in through two paned windows with window boxes. The view of the street was charming and the hotel is extremely centrally located.

The breakfast was good and included make-your-own soft boiled eggs. There is a nice breakfast room/lounge, where some guests hung out in the evenings (we did not). Bike rentals are available for only 5 Euro and the staff were helpful when we asked for help getting a cab to the train station.

All in all, it was an amazing value for only 70 Euro per night. In fact, it would have felt like a good value for significantly more than that.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#29 of 97 in Bruges
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#41 of 97 in Bruges
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#55 of 97 in Bruges
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#51 of 97 in Bruges
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#77 of 97 in Bruges
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvators

Address: Sint-Salvatorskerkhof 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvators 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Salvators reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvators Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing