We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, comfortable and friendly”
Review of Hotel Salvators

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Salvators
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month with my partner and two friends as part of my birthday celebrations - the hotel gave us a complimentary half-bottle of Cava in our room, so we were off to a good start. Hotel is very well situated just 5 minutes by cab from the station and in a very central but quite quiet part of town - approx 10 minutes walk to the main market square. All the rooms are quite nicely furnished - we had a very comfy king-sized bed - and all have little things to make them individual - ours, room 2 had a tropical fish-tank and a little terrace with decking that would easily seat four and despite having no view would be nice to sit and crack open a bottle of wine or two on a summer's evening. Also had really terrific en-suite shower room with futuristic taps and shower unit. Excellent breakfasts were had in the cosy little bar / lounge area - all very fresh produce - good ham and eggs - criossants warmed and toast made to order. Extremely friendly staff and everywhere very clean and tidy. Overall a really good find in a great location and we'd certainly consider using it again if we return to Bruge - which we are very likely to as we found it a great place to unwind. One warning though, we found it quite expensive to wine and dine out, so sampling all of the 780 beers would need a very healthy wallet.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank le-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Salvators
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed here in September in room 43 it is a large room that has two very comfortable double beds with an additional fold out bed that we did not use. There is also a small kitchen area that was useful. Our 6 year old loved the jacuzzi bath. Room 43 is situated in an annexe which is literally just across the road from the main Hotel and is up two flights of stairs, which weren't a problem for us. The church bells do not ring until 8am which is a great wake up call to go down for the very good continental breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.
The hotel is well located for the main attractions and we found the area around the hotel to be very quiet and peaceful

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

This hotel is a real find. It’s a lovely looking building, right by on of the main sights of the city, and with easy access to the other sights. The rooms have all kinds of unusual touches – lighting, TV, sound, bathroom etc. The breakfast are excellent too, and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

I can’t recall ever staying in a room of such an unusual shape – it’s an excellent choice for anyone jaded after staying in the box-like chain hotels.

The one item needing attention was the stair carpet – but that is being replaced before the end of September 2009.

Bruges is the sort of city where you’ll really benefit from staying centrally, and any visit here is so much more rewarding than a trip to Brussels.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Salvators with my husband and another couple, and we just loved it. Our room had a fishtank and a little patio where we spent and afternoon sampling the beers we picked up in town. Their room had a great view over the street and the cathedral next door. The waffles and omelet breakfast was treat, and the staff was very friendly. This is not the Westin, but for a local hotel, it was perfectly charming and a wonderful place to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingwithmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Absolutely amazing. We stayed in room 42 and it was the most exclusive room I have ever seen (while I work for the most exclusive hotels in Amsterdam every day). Especially the private sauna option (in the other building), and the design in the room surprised me. For these prices you can't book anything alike, even if it was in the middle of nowhere (and it is not, we did everything by foot). Really if you love yourself... book it!

Only the food was not that amazing, but well enough, and tehre a many placed where you can eat just around the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed in Room 7 for 2 nights, and absolutely adored Hotel Salvators. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, giving us an apertif upon our arrival and even packing us a breakfast the evening before our departure since we had a very early train ride the next day! The location is perfect - right next to the large old beautiful Salvators church, an easy walk to all of the Bruges sights and restaurants, and about a 15 minute walk from the train station. The room was spacious with many windows and lots of light, and the jacuzzi tub was a nice way to relax after a long day of walking!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelF_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Our stay at Salvators was a very pleasant one! We stayed in Room 42 in the Annex. It had been newly remodeled, and had a big bathroom with shower, kitchenette, table, and a large screen tv. It was clean and tastefully decorated. I would have given the room 5 stars except the bed was a little uncomfortable. There was some sort of vertical bar right down the middle of the bed.

The hotel is excellently located -right in the middle of everything. You can walk everywhere in Bruges, but we found that our favorite spots were steps from the hotel. It is also close to the train station. I'm sure you could walk to the hotel from the train station, but we took a cab both ways because we just weren't sure how to get there. The roads in Bruges wind every which way and street names change randomly.

The breakfast in this hotel is great. Plenty of choices and they fix your eggs to order. Always fresh coffee and hot water for tea. A huge assortment of breads, cheeses, cold meats, and chocolate croissants! They will of course serve you a waffle. Our breakfast kept us fueled until late afternoon.

We found that the people who managed and worked in the hotel were very nice, friendly, and helpful. I don't think you can beat the value of this place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#67 of 97 in Bruges
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#43 of 97 in Bruges
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.1 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#71 of 97 in Bruges
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvators

Address: Sint-Salvatorskerkhof 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvators 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Salvators reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvators Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing