We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B in Bruges”
Review of 't Geerwijn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
't Geerwijn
Ranked #103 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in this wonderful B&B.We had the attic room which was very spacious and had a microwave and fridge.The stairs are steep but very manageable! Each morning we had a delicious breakfast that includes eggs if you wished. Chris is very friendly and gave us helpful travel tips.The location is perfect, close to the main square, grocery stores, laundry, restaurants and the best Gelato/Sorbet shop! We had a rental car and were able to park for free just a short walk away. Bruge is a beautiful city, lots to explore and do including renting bikes to ride along the canal.We would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Attic room is large, and very quiet but you must be okay with stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Recently spent 5 nights with Chris at 'tgeerwijn B&B in Bruges, Belgium. Very nice B&B. Chris was very friendly. Rooms are quite pretty (remember, in Europe, the first floor is usually up one flight of stairs!) and roomy. We requested 2 beds, so we were assigned the Cezanne room and were very happy with the room. It included a sink and shower inside the room, and the toilette was in the hall outside our room, which was fine. (I believe all the other rooms had a full bath en-suite.) She served a typical European breakfast of cold cuts, cheese, bread, cereal, boiled eggs (or omelette if you prefer), marmalades, coffee, tea, and fruit juices. There were usually 2-3 other couples there from around the globe, which made breakfast very interesting. Chris is able to assist with details about the city of Bruges, as well as, advice on touring the area in general. The rates were quite reasonable, and the location is perfect! It is only about a 15 minute walk from the train station if you know where you are going. We used a taxi service to and from the station when we had our luggage to drag along. Otherwise, it's a very nice walk. The Market Square is only about 2 blocks from this B&B. Here, you feel like you are in the center of everything; however, the street is a very quiet one. There is no air conditioning, but the rooms were cool enough with the windows open in July. Bruges is a fantastic place to visit, and we would definitely recommend 't geerwin B&B.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the stairs on the top floor had a beautiful garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My wife and I loved this B&B. Beautifully decorated (likely in the past couple of years) and the service could not be beat. Monique treated us like family and also recommended a great restaurant (Bistro Den Huzaar), which we loved. Good location, too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manleeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Owner at 't Geerwijn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. It is always nice to hear that the effort we put in our decoration is well appreciated.

Your sincerely
Chris De Loof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We really liked this place. The location was quiet and centrally located. The owners were away , but the lady who took over was friendly and helpful- and made it easy for us to get in and find our rooms even with our late night arrival. We found our room comfortable and good sized, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast was terrific. Actually, it was the best breakfast I've had in a b&b: cheese, ham, a variety of breads, fresh yogurt and fruit, all quality and gorgeous, served family style. And of course a bottomless cup of strong coffee. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikesncoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Owner at 't Geerwijn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always nice to hear that you had a great stay at our Bed and Breakfast. I hope you enjoyed Bruges as well.

With kind regards.
Chris De Loof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just returned from a trip through Europe (April 2012) and the 't Geerwijn B&B was our favorite. The ambiance of the place and hospitality of Chris and her staff was amazing... the sounds of Bach filling the living space with complimentary port and fresh tulips. The breakfast spread was very good and the room was very nice... although there was no door on the bathroom, this was a small inconvenience to us. The location could not have been better.. very close to the main square, but off far enough for tranquility and peace.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sublimevw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Owner at 't Geerwijn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

First of all, thank you for this review. Like you, we believe that our central location is one our greatest strengths. In addition, it is always nice to hear that our guests had a pleasant stay in Bruges.

Yours sincerely
Chris De Loof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The 't Geerwijn B&B was in a great location of Bruge, quiet and a short walk to the market square, shops and restaurants. A nice facility, but tired and in need of some TLC. We stayed two nights in the top floor, street side room, which was a on the small size due to the low sloping ceiling. Because of this, the bathroom was very small. Breakfast was generous and very good. Make sure you ask Chris about the mosquito repellant plug-in. We didn't know what it was for the first night and were up many times during the night batting mosquitoes. Once we learned of the plug-in, the next night was fine. Also, leave windows closed while the room lights are on during the evening.....this attracts the mosquitoes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larkitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Owner at 't Geerwijn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Hello, thanks for taking the time to write this helpful review. Since the last time you stayed in our B&B, we made sure that there is a mosquito repellent plug-in available in every room, with enough tablets for the entire duration of the stay of our guests. If you have any comments or suggestions, you can always mail us at info@geerwijn.be.
Furthermore, we hope that you have enjoyed the beautiful city of Bruges.

Yours sincerely
Chris De Loof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

t'Geerwijn is a lovely old home in a quiet street just 5 minutes from the the center, tastefully furnished with antiques, books and old paintings. It felt like we were house guests. Our room was large, beautifully decorated, very comfortable. with an ensuite shower room. The breakfast was very good. When we return to Bruges we will book here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Owner at 't Geerwijn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Hello,

First of all I would like to thank you for the great review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests had a great stay. We hope to welcome you on your next trip to Bruges.

With kind regards,
Chris De Loof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
841 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.7 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Woodside Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 't Geerwijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Geerwijn

Address: Geerwijnstraat 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £78 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 't Geerwijn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
't Geerwijn is an atmospheric old town house within walking distance of the historic center of Bruges and 50m of the market, in a quiet neighborhood. You will find cozy double rooms with private bathroom, a lounge and a television.Your host Chris De Loof, serves you a delicious breakfast each morning in a cozy dining room. You have a wide selection of different breads, homemade jams, cheese and meat, fresh eggs. After a refreshing walk was lovely stay at the warm fire in the ancient romantic lounge. Here you can dream away with a fragrant cup of coffee or tea. Free wifi in the whole house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 't Geerwijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing