We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buy your waffles and sit in the small park in front of Burg Square”
Review of Chez Albert

Chez Albert
Ranked #2 of 50 Dessert in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
Description: Eat and enjoy a fresh made Belgian Waffle @ the best waffle shop in the historic centre of Bruges!Toppings are available:- Real Belgian chocolate- Fresh whipped cream- Seasons specials!Share your experience on Tripadvisor or Facebook!
Restaurant details
Description: Eat and enjoy a fresh made Belgian Waffle @ the best waffle shop in the historic centre of Bruges!Toppings are available:- Real Belgian chocolate- Fresh whipped cream- Seasons specials!Share your experience on Tripadvisor or Facebook!
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Buy your waffles and sit in the small park in front of Burg Square”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Freshly made waffles with all kinds of toppings available! But I find it hard to eat it while standing because it is served on a flimsy paper plate and a plastic fork so I walked a bit further towards Burg Square and found many park benches to the left across from the square where I could sit and enjoy my waffles while people watching.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kahurangi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    161
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great waffles”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband had waffles from Chez albert twice on the same day he loved them so much, so fresh and the chocolate sauce on top is great! We didn't queue in the morning but the afternoon as it was easter weekend we queue for 5 minutes which was totally fine as they are made fresh in front of you and taste delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank catalienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great waffles!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place does amazing waffles. We went twice - first time had to queue up for 5 minutes or so (it's popular!) but it's worth the wait. Light, fluffy, sweet waffles were completely different to the pre-packed ones you get in England. Went back a second time with much less of a queue and the waffle wasn't quite as good - it wasn't so fresh probably because there wasn't a queue. But it was still good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank olipom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful waffles”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

During our weekend trip we had waffles here twice! Chez Albert was recommended to us by our carriage driver who has lived in Bruges all her life. She said they were the best waffles in town & I have to agree with her!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Yummy waffles”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Located just off the main square (going towards the adacjent town hall square) this is a "hole in the wall" type establishment selling drinks and more importantly fresh waffles. You queue at the window and can see the waffles freshly made.

They come with a variety of toppings but seems the most popular are those with the melted chocolate and cream or hot cherry sauce and cream.

Portion sizes very good and would recommend the cherry one.

If in Belgium you gotta have a waffle and this is a great place to start!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitlam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Albert also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Chez Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing