We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty central hotel with great breakfasts”
Review of Hotel Malleberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malleberg
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. We had a double en suite room and stayed for 2 nights. Had a warm welcome on arrival. For me the thing that really stuck out was the huge breakfast spread. Very good!

The hotel is in a perfect location on a quiet street in the centre. Easily walkable to all the main sights, bars and the canals.

Clean rooms.

The only drawback was a loud bell that rang a lot of the time, that you could hear from the upstairs room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I were so happy we found the Hotel Malleberg for our 2-night stay in Bruges. It's a small hotel (maybe 6 rooms total?) in a beautiful old building, which was the perfect setting for a Bruges stay. They room and bathroom were nothing super fancy, but clean and spacious. The breakfast was very nice, and the little courtyard in the back was lovely. There is no elevator and we stayed on the top floor, so we did have to lug our bags up 2 flights of stairs when we arrived, but once that was done, the stairs really weren't a bother. Our only little critiques: the wifi connection wasn't very strong in our room and we wished there was in-room coffee/tea. (There was a single-cup coffee machine available for use in the basement breakfast room any time.) The location of the hotel is pretty perfect--a few steps from the Burg and about a 3-minute walk to the Markt, but still pretty quiet. Overall, a great experience. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyctraveler814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We greatly enjoyed our time at the Malleberg in Bruges. If you want quaint, old (well, a couple of hundred years old), convenient, and well maintained....this is an excellent choice. Being travelers who like to experience local accommodtions, food, sights, we were very pleased with our stay. The on site owners were knowledgeable and available. Our room was spotlessley clean although fairly basic. Breakfast was very nice with a variety of choices. We giggled at the people who chose the big name hotel just next door...paying twice the price and staying in accommodations that could have been in any big city. I love the "big name" when in a place where the only attraction is the hotel, but the convenience and charm of the Malleberg far outweighed the pricier cookie-cutter name brand.

Room Tip: Because the hotel was full we were on the top floor. Typical of many small European hotels, there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Basic large room (#2) with bath. Good breakfast and Wifi included in room rate. Good location near center of town. Lots of restaurants nearby. No elevator so will need to carry bags upstairs. One room on ground level. Pretty interior courtyard. Accommodating hosts. Downsize walls are paper thin...could hear normal conversation of girls in adjoining room.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This was an excellent small hotel in an ideal location close to the main square. It was excellent value for money in a comfortable room with tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was excellent served in a comfortable spacious room. The proprietor was very helpful and spoke good English. We would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you find stairs difficult ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Brilliant location just off the Burg Square (next door to the Crowne Plaza), right next to everything. Reception staff were helpful. Triple room was spacious and clean. The courtyard looked really nice although didnt have time to enjoy it. Breakfast had lots of options including cereal, meat, cheese, lots of spreads, boiled egg. Cost 48Euros per person per night in August (cheap compared to the UK). I would definately choose this hotel again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleSherbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights for a weekend in Bruges. We were originally impressed with the hotel, but were horrified to find such a dirty bathroom. Not sure if all of the rooms are like this, but we were surprised to find it this way, since everything else seemed to be taken care of so well.

Otherwise the room was clean, breakfast was fantastic. Unfortunately the bathroom ruined it for me.

As far as location this is literally right in the center of town. I wouldn't have minded staying a bit outside of the tourist zone to get better value for our money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank six1two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank V, Owner at Hotel Malleberg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,
First thanks for putting your comment .
However your experience with the bathroom was not pleasant, we take all responsibility for the bad cleaning of it.If you had mentioned it at the reception desk, immediate action would have been taken.Being a anonimous writer we cannot say "sorry" personally to you but we hope you read this reply.
We will do everything to prevent this happening again in te future and hope nevertheless to welcome you again in Bruges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#15 of 97 in Bruges
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#37 of 97 in Bruges
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#27 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#51 of 97 in Bruges
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#48 of 97 in Bruges
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malleberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malleberg

Address: Hoogstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Bruges
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £85 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malleberg 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malleberg is a comfortable, friendly, family-run hotel at a unique location just 200 m from the market square. Situated in the heart of magnificent Bruges, the hotel is ideal for cyclists and perfect for discovering the old town of Bruges and its surrounding area. A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Our pleasant rooms provide every comfort and they all have their own bathroom with shower. Coffee and tea facilities in the room are standard. You will experience Belgian hospitality in this typical Bruges town house that instantly becomes home to every guest. Families are very welcome to our family suite, which is ideal for parents and their children. You start the day with a full, refined, hearty breakfast in our 16th-century cellar. Please let us know if you need any information on tourist attractions, excursions, bicycle rental, museums, etc. In the afternoons you are invited to have a free cup of coffee or tea in our lounge. A PC is available at no extra charge and there is free Wi-Fi all over the hotel and in all the rooms. On a nice day you can enjoy our patio with its gorgeous flowers and plants. Our hotel becomes a home to every guest! The Vienne-Van Lersberghe family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Malleberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malleberg Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing