We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short break”
Review of Hotel Malleberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malleberg
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short break”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break. The owner was very hospitable, welcoming and helpful in pointing out the sights. We were hardly in the hotel but when we were we found it very clean and spacious. The shower was a bit weathered but ultimately, it worked. The continental breakfast was pleasant too.

On a side note, the €20 museum pass is well worth getting as this covers the majority of the sites. And the Olive Tree restaurant rated no 2 in the Trip Advisor recommendation is absolutely superb. The food delicious and the owner is extremely friendly.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MDWXII Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    138
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
139
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garibaldi, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was a small and cozy hotel in a great location in Bruges. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We weren't in the room much because we were out and about quite a bit but I recall the room being comfortable. It was a decent size compared to other European hotels. The breakfast was good, lots of options. TV worked only part of the time but we didn't mind as we weren't there to watch TV.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliduer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

What a delightful little hotel. It’s cosy, comfy, inviting, quiet and exceptional value for money.
Check in was painless, when I arrived back from a stroll I found my bags already in my room. A point to note here might be that there is NO lift so if mobility is a problem, maybe a ground floor room might be advisable.
The tiny, elegant, hotel foyer separates the secure guest area. The key for your room also gains you access to this area as well as the front door if you arrive home after the reception has closed.
I had room 3, up one flight of stairs and tucked behind a door with a corridor making it very private and quiet, the only noise (not loud), I heard was from the person in the next room when they return home.
The room was very large by European standards. It had 2 single (I think king singles) pushed together making a queen bed. The linen was crisp and clean. The pillows were comfortable.
Also in the room was a small dining table, 2 dining chairs, a large comfy leather single seater chair, good sized wardrobe (some clothes hangers included) with lots of shelves. Added extras included a safe, hairdyer, TV (I never got around to turning it on so I’m not sure about the variety of channels available), tea & coffee making facilities (topped up daily), clock and phone. Also the room had quite a number of power points.
I noticed that some reviewers commented on the colour of the decor. I loved it! It made a nice change from the usual neutral colours of hotel rooms. The floors are wood, great for allergy sufferers.
I had no problems writing or reading by the lights provided.
My only suggestion to improve this lovely place would be the inclusion of a fan, as in summer the rooms can be a bit stuffy. The room does have a large window, alas no flyscreens so the mossies might be a problem.
The bathroom was clean with body/shampoo gel provided along with soap and shower cap. Towels were large and good quality, changed daily, if that’s what you want. The shower is reasonably large, there isn’t a bath though. The water was hot and plentiful. My only comment about the shower is the shower rose could do with updating as water tends to go in all directions.
The view from room 3 is above the tiny walled courtyard where they serve afternoon tea (something else I never quite got around to trying).
The included breakfast, down the stairs in the 16C cellar, had a nice selection, not vast but more than adequate. They had 3 or 4 different cereals, a couple of juices, 4/5 different yogurts, fruit, eggs (you boil your own), breads, rolls, cheese, a couple of cold cuts and a selection of crackers and sweet breads plus tea and coffee. More than enough to provide steam for an energetic day’s sightseeing.
Near the breakfast room is a small lounge area with novels which can be borrowed along with local information.
This hotel is spotlessly clean and in good condition.
Situated literally about 200mt from the Burg and therefore central to everything including a large selection of restaurants, that are away from the overpriced and often very average eateries in the Burg and Markt.
There are 2 small convenience shops nearby,one on Phillipstockstraat and another on Hoogstraat .
Check out was equally painless, Frank was happy to call a taxi to get me to the train station on time.
I couldn’t fault the service that Frank, Darlene and their support staff provided and would be happy to recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Room 3 Overlooks the courtyard, whisper quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 35yrdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Was in Bruges with three of my friends, so the room was a family room, one king size bed and two separate beds. The room was missing air conditioning (AC), so we had to leave the windows open for the nights, because the weather was hot by the time of the visit. The hotel is located next to the very center of Bruges, so the street was quite noisy in the night, which was not nice when you had to sleep with windows open. The breakfast was included in the price and there was quite wide selection of stuff in the buffet and the quality was good.

Room Tip: Do not book a family room for four individual persons. There is no A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel in the heart of Bruges. If your looking for a big corporate hotel this isn't the place for you. Hotel Malleberg is a small hotel with bags of charm, only a minute's walk to the market square. Friendly helpful staff, good size room and a decent selection of foods for breakfast. Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We usually stay at 4 star hotels but found the prices prohibitive in Bruges. We were delighted when we arrived at the traditional Hotel Malleberg which is located centrally just yards from the Berg. The rooms are clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. Tea making facilities were available in the room.The buffet breakfast was excellent giving a good choice of cereals, meat, cheese, breads, jams, fruit and boiled eggs.
This is not a good hotel if you have bad knees as the stairs are quite steep and breakfast is served downstairs in the beautiful vaulted cellar. We found our hosts to be friendly, informative and attentive. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you have difficulty climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We arrived in this beautiful little hotel two hours earlier than expected and I was gently reminded of this in the lobby when checking in. But, when you are driving...you are estimating and can't always be right bang on.

The hotel is in a great location. You walk out the door and you are immediately surrounded by canals, bridges, shops, cobblestone streets, quaint little coffee shops and restaurants. The parking is kind of annoying, we had a half hour out front to unload our stuff (and I don't think there is an elevator...at least we never found one) then drive the car a few blocks away to a an inexpensive underground parkade. The hotel is an older cozy version of a European house. It was beautifully appointed with a gorgeous little courtyard where you can sit and enjoy, if it isn't raining! Our room was massive!! High ceilings, table and chairs, big bathroom, coffee/tea makings...everything one could want. It was clean and comfortable. We were sad we could only stay one night.

Breakfast was amazing!!! It had absolutely everything you could possibly want in a breakfast. And best of all, it is served all the way downstairs in what must have been a wine cellar or brick vault of some sort. An amazing experience.

The host was most friendly and helpful. And best of all...the room, a large family room, was very inexpensive. This is definitely the place I would choose to stay again if I go back. You will love it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#39 of 97 in Bruges
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#51 of 97 in Bruges
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#28 of 97 in Bruges
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#9 of 97 in Bruges
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malleberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malleberg

Property: Hotel Malleberg
Address: Hoogstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Bruges
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malleberg 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malleberg is a comfortable, friendly, family-run hotel at a unique location just 200 m from the market square. Situated in the heart of magnificent Bruges, the hotel is ideal for cyclists and perfect for discovering the old town of Bruges and its surrounding area. A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Our pleasant rooms provide every comfort and they all have their own bathroom with shower. Coffee and tea facilities in the room are standard. You will experience Belgian hospitality in this typical Bruges town house that instantly becomes home to every guest. Families are very welcome to our family suite, which is ideal for parents and their children. You start the day with a full, refined, hearty breakfast in our 16th-century cellar. Please let us know if you need any information on tourist attractions, excursions, bicycle rental, museums, etc. In the afternoons you are invited to have a free cup of coffee or tea in our lounge. A PC is available at no extra charge and there is free Wi-Fi all over the hotel and in all the rooms. On a nice day you can enjoy our patio with its gorgeous flowers and plants. Our hotel becomes a home to every guest! The Vienne-Van Lersberghe family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Malleberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malleberg Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing