We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Malleberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Malleberg
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Enjoyed 3 nights in this lovely hotel,Spacious room- No 8- at back overlooking courtyard. As it was at the top of the house need to be mobile. although there was a room- No 9- downstairs.Very quiet,clean, comfortable bed,good shower.Breakfast was served in a lovely room in the basement where tea/coffee was served in the afternoon.Breakfast was a cold buffet with a great egg boiling station.Friendly and helpful staff.Great value for money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    131
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
131
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, and found the hotel to be very cosy, clean, friendly and in a great location. It is situated on a quiet side street just off the Burg and literally a two minute walk from the main Markt Square and Belfry Tower. Only a 15 minute walk from the station too!

Helpful?
1 Thank iainb1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I needed a spot for one night in Bruges - this fit the bill perfectly!

It was within walking distance to everything you would want to see (main square, burg, main shopping streets), and was exceptionally clean and well appointed. It was an older place, but I suspect this is to be expected in such an old city - that said, the room was very comfortable and relaxing, and the washroom was also very clean.

The included breakfast was arguably one of the best we've ever had! So good ...

The only negative was the parking was a few streets up, but we managed to drive in, drop of our bags, and then park overnight for a very reasonable flat rate.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We overlooked the courtyard which was nice and quiet ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkm_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Hotel Malleberg was perfect for our stay in Brugge. My wife, 9 year old daughter, and I had triple that was roomy, well maintained, and comfortable. The room was quiet with retrofitted newer windows on the outside of the older exterior windows to keep the appropriate look from the outside inside (no outside noise, though the hotel is not on a major driving road). Frank was super helpful as we had an emergency to send important documents back to the US and he helped us get that done with a scanner and email. The breakfast room is really unique and a nice surprise. It's cozy and well decorated and the food was excellent. As others have said, the location is close to everything in the city center and we walked everywhere. It's a beautiful city and I highly recommend a stay at Hotel Malleberg.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We drove up to this hotel and took a taxi to the train station as we left (under €10, and took less than 10 minutes) the next day. It is located really centrally and is just a 2 minute walk from the Burg Square, and not even 5 minutes from the Grote Markt. It is a tastefully decorated, with beautiful spacious rooms and is very clean and tidy. The shower is very simplistic, but works well. We had two beautiful rooms on the top floor with beautiful wooden beams going across the top. It was really nice.

A buffet breakfast is served downstairs in the cellar and that too is decorated nicely. Fresh coffee/tea/hot chocolate is offered as is a big spread of breads, croissants, pastries and yoghurts, an egg boiling station, cold meats/pates, cereals and fresh fruit.

Bruges is a quiet town (well, quiet when we were there during the week anyhow) so we had no problems with noise or anything being so central.

All in all, a really lovely hotel that is tidy and very pretty. Service was at times a bit cold and abrupt, but was always very efficient and hospitable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chefmignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights first week of October.

The hotel has a lovely entrance hall, reception area, courtyard and breakfast rooms. Very good location for the market n berg and found some nice restaurants not too far away

My only issue was noise from the neighbouring room and traffic as our room faced the street. We could hear everything in room next door from shower running to the couple talking in the middle of the night.

I would stay here again, but would probably request a courtyard facing room

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_Traveller087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We all loved our stay here. The location was fabulous, a short walk to everything we wanted to see. The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff were very friendly.
The rooms were a very nice size for our group of 3. We had to leave very early in the morning and they were very happy to give us our breakfast early. As in most places we stayed, they had only one choice of eggs ---boiled. That is my only complaint.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#54 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#34 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc de Bourgogne
Duc de Bourgogne
#48 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malleberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malleberg

Property: Hotel Malleberg
Address: Hoogstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Bruges
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malleberg 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malleberg is a comfortable, friendly, family-run hotel at a unique location just 200 m from the market square. Situated in the heart of magnificent Bruges, the hotel is ideal for cyclists and perfect for discovering the old town of Bruges and its surrounding area. A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Our pleasant rooms provide every comfort and they all have their own bathroom with shower. Coffee and tea facilities in the room are standard. You will experience Belgian hospitality in this typical Bruges town house that instantly becomes home to every guest. Families are very welcome to our family suite, which is ideal for parents and their children. You start the day with a full, refined, hearty breakfast in our 16th-century cellar. Please let us know if you need any information on tourist attractions, excursions, bicycle rental, museums, etc. In the afternoons you are invited to have a free cup of coffee or tea in our lounge. A PC is available at no extra charge and there is free Wi-Fi all over the hotel and in all the rooms. On a nice day you can enjoy our patio with its gorgeous flowers and plants. Our hotel becomes a home to every guest! The Vienne-Van Lersberghe family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Malleberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malleberg Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing