We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Le Coquin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Coquin B&B
Ranked #110 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Such a beautiful place in walking distance to the city. Awesome breakfast. We had a really nice stay with our 4-month old baby. The owner was really friendly and helpfull. We can totally recommend this Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Yvonne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent place to stay..alain is a wonderful host..the only thing is its slightly away from the city..but that doesnt matter as it gives you the privacy and the peace..excellent place to unwind and chill..it has only 3 rooms so it is not crowded at all..only thing which alain has to change is that he has to change the wash room doors as they are made of glass and it is transperant. Breakfast is superb..so try out le coquin you will not repent..

Room Tip: Any room is ok..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venkat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful little find! We stayed here for a long weekend with friends, Alaine the owner is more than helpful, he speaks very good english, has amazing local knowledge and can recommend anything from where to eat to museums and chocolate shops!
You can hire bikes for a very reasonable price and the b&b is situated very close to the centre but is also in a very quiet and relaxing location.
There is also Alaines cat, who is by far the most charming and welcoming cat I have met! He instantly picked up we were animal lovers and joined us most times we sat in the lounge area!
We were a group of 4 adults (2 couples) and the large family room with kitchenette and terrace was more than adequate for us!
We will be coming back and highly recommend it!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Henna-bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Le Coquin is very suitably located alongside the Bruges to Sluis canal and within walking distance of Bruges Centre if you are reasonably fit, about 2 miles. The house is tastefully decorated by host, Alaine, who obviously has an artistic side. Everywhere is clean and comfortable, breakfast is plentiful and Alaine is full of useful information. We will be returning.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay and found our host Alaine laid back and friendly.
Alaine runs a comfortable B&B which is situated alongside the Damse Vaart Canal (Damme) . A beautiful tree lined canal that will take you all the way to Sluis in Holland in less than 2 hours by bike.
Positives-
Alaine speaks English (and other languages) very well.
Excellent location (an easy and beautiful 15/20 minute walk to Brugge Town Centre) and perfect for cycling.
Very reasonable bike hire.
Free parking.
Large room ( we were 4 adults) with terrace (plus table and chairs) overlooking the canal.
We enjoyed sitting outside relaxing with a sundowner or light meal after a long day's trek and sight seeing.
Ample cupboards and hanging space.
Many interesting and original artwork in the house.
Good sized bathroom with a good shower.
Excellent breakfast - fresh fruit and juices, selection of healthy cereals, yogurts, jams and honey, cold meats and local cheese, fresh breads, freshly prepared pancakes and good coffee.
We were very impressed with Alaine's section of jams, health seeds and dried fruits.
Breakfast is served from 8h30 to 10h00 - so time for an early morning run or cycle but late enough for a lie in. The kids went cycling whilst we stayed in bed!
Guests have their own key so there is no time limits for coming and going.
The bathroom is a good size and has an excellent double shower head with sufficient pressure. For my sporty lot this is important. We did not use the hot tub. Maybe next time.

Things that can be improved-
There were many power points but we found none of them worked until we discovered that the power points only work if the main light(with fan) is switched on.This includes the hair dryer in the bathroom. The only plugs that worked were the kitchen facility ones so there was a mad scramble to get all our mobile phones charged up ( we took along extra converter plugs).
We asked Alaine to thus advise future guests how it works.
Alaine charges extra per day 5 euros and 3 euros for use of small double hotplate and bar sized fridge. We were not aware until the last moment and feel this should be incorporated in the room price.
Kitchen facilities in the room were inadequate for 4 people - 1 small pan, 1 litre pot, only 4 side plates (no normal sized plates) cutlery for 3 people. No salad bowl or serving plate. Whilst we did not want to cook big meals we wanted to sample some of the fine cheeses and breads we bought locally and cook the odd couscous or pasta. Some self catering is important for us and this is why we choose places with at least some form of self catering rather than hotels.The local restaurants are excellent but for us once a day is enough.
The kitchen has a small microwave which we do not use.
In all fairness to Alaine when we complained on the final day he did not charge us for the kitchen.However we feel that a simple but reasonably stocked kitchen - 4 normal sized plates, cutlery etc. for 4 people, a salad bowl could make the world of difference. Alternatively just letting guests know further utensils are available upon request.
Towels were replaced upon request and although clean, smelled strongly of tobacco.
The white bed linen is getting a bit ropey and really needs to be replaced.
We enjoyed our stay and hope to return. We totally recommend Le Coquin B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms with access to terrace are best. Switch main light on to use plugs in family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alloverthershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I have stayed at this place several times over the years and always found it to be a very friendly, clean and handy place to stay. Situated about a mile or so from the edge of the city, its either a 5 min bike ride,Supplied at the B&B or a 20 min walk .
The owner Alaine is very welcoming and seems to be able to speak evey language under the sun.....
Its very clean, rooms are well kitted out and quite quiet for a B&B.
Breakfast is best part of all you can eat with lots of choice, and the living room area has a massive log burner in it to warm you up after a chilly ride back from the city (it was march after all)
I have stayed in nearly all the room at this place now and the family room upstairs with the hottub is my favourite but they are all perfectly acceptable
I would reccomend this place to anyone and will be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We booked one night at this b+b and as soon as we arrived we wished we'd booked for longer. The rooms are truly superb, from the huge bathrooms with underfloor heating, to the tv with every channel imaginable to the incredible attention to detail taken by Alain the owner to make every thing as close to perfect as possible. There really is nothing to fault about this place. The entire hotel is spotlessly clean, the beds comfy and the atmosphere excellent. There is a very friendly cat that roams the grounds and chickens in the garden to provide fresh eggs for breakfast. There are bikes to hire for a few euros which turn the 20-30 walk into the centre into a 5 minute ride, we would recommend this vey much.
Thank you Alain for a wonderful stay, we'll certainly be back and we'll be bringing some of our family with us next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coupe-josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
3.6 mi away
Le Plat Pays
Le Plat Pays
#42 of 232 in Bruges
74 reviews
11.9 mi away
Woodside Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Fort Lapin
Fort Lapin
#122 of 232 in Bruges
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
1.1 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Coquin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Coquin B&B

Address: Noorweegse Kaai 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £82 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Coquin B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Le Coquin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing