We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible B&B”
Review of Cote Canal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cote Canal
Ranked #10 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Incredible B&B”
Reviewed 12 August 2008

By luck we found the Cote Canal, and by more luck, they had 2 rooms available.

The B&B is well located on the Canal, about 5 minutes from the Vismarkt (Fishmarket). From there everything is very close.

The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was simple (continental). There were plenty of restaurants nearby.

Caroline was a very nice hostess and very informative. It is funny the B&B has become a tourist attraction because of the "dog in the window" from the movie "In Bruges".

It would be difficult to come up with any downside to Cote Canal. About the only suggestion I would make is to get larger pillows.

All in all a great weekend.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank francissp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
582
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2008

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was exactly what we'd wanted... a comfortable and romantic home base in Bruges. Caroline is a friendly and gracious host and maintains a very clean and stylish B&B. The house has all of its old world charm intact (high ceilings, plaster mouldings, orginal wooden floors, huge windows, exposed timber framing) but has enough modern ammenities to make it comfortable. The garden (with a canal view) is a wonderful place to sit outside and soak up the sun while sipping Caroline's hand-pressed orange juice.

Caroline strikes an excellent balance of taking care of her guests while also giving them space and privacy. She really enjoys what she does and it shows in her very genuine and friendly approach to her guests.

The B&B is in a fantastic location close to the middle of the town, but is tucked away from hoardes of tourists roaming the main tour circuit.

We would highly recommend staying here.

-Ben & Nicole

  • Liked — Gorgeous old home, antiques and Caroline's breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esoterikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Our three day stay in Brugge is now a favorite memory -- primarily because we had stayed at the Cote Canal. It is everything a top-notched B'nB should be: charming, friendly, unique, comfortable, hospitable, and memorable. On top of all of that, the breakfasts were exceptional. Carolyn, the owner, makes her own breads and her croissants can not be beat. There were four of us traveling together and we felt at home and as Carolyn's honored guests. We enjoyed using the patio over looking the canal and the main house. Carolyn seemed to always be available and ready to help with our questions, but was never in the way. We cannot wait to return. I can't imagine anyone giving Cote Canal a rating less than the best, Excellent!

  • Liked — Carolyn, the owner.
  • Disliked — Steep stairs.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingForesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

A splendid and fortunate choice for a 5 night stay in Bruges. The room was generous in size, overlooking their garden and the canal. The owner was very helpful and pleasant. The included breakfast was delicious, some days served in the garden when the weather was nice. The guesthouse is located about 2 blocks from the main areas of Bruges, and also located near several good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatioPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We stayed in late June 2008 at Cote Canal in Brugge/Bruges (there's an equally wonderful B&B next door called Huyze Hertsberg). We "second" all the wonderful statements in the other reviews -- especially the compliments for Caroline Van Langeraert.

We are not seasoned European travelers, and heard about Brugge from a co-worker. The city is must see for anyone passing through Belgium, and a 2-1/2 day stay worked great for us. Just enough time to decompress from the travel, get acquainted, visit museums and sites, and do some walking and window shopping.

Cote Canal is centrally located just a few blocks from both major squares, and wonderful restaurants and shops. Cote Canal's interior is classy in a very welcoming way, and the backyard overlooks one of the city's canals. It was so relaxing to sit in the beautifully maintained garden and watch the passing boats. The private guest entrance made it easy for us to be out late.
The Clair de Lune room, where we stayed, was absolutely beautiful. It showed Caroline's attention to detail. It was very large, decorated with many family heirlooms and had an attached bathroom.

The breakfast was, hands down, the best we had during our two weeks in Europe. The selection of meats, cheeses, yogurts, jams and especially the breads was unbelievable. Everything was first rate, but that's Caroline.

Cote Canal is Caroline -- her welcoming personality, attention to detail and caring. She went out of her way to recommend restaurants and shops, and sights to see. Just one illustration about her caring. We needed a 5:50 a.m. cab to take us to the train station for an early morning train that we couldn't miss because of a tight connection to Normandy. Caroline said she said she'd take care of it. The cab was there early, and Caroline had gotten up at 5:00 a.m. to make us a takeaway breakfast for the train.

Brugge is a beautiful city, and Caroline made our stay more wonderful. I can see why Cote Canal is rated #1.

  • Liked — Location, facility, hostess
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at Cote Canal over a couple of days in late June 2008. We've been to Brugge several times, always trying a different hotel/B&B when we visit, but I have to say that Caroline and Cote Canal are now where we will stay when in Brugge from now on.

The property is absolutely incredible. Caroline has created a real jewel in the heart of the city. The garden, where you can eat your breakfast or have an evening drink, is also fantastic as it is right on the canal.

Caroline is also the most gracious hostess you could wish for. She helped us with questions regarding everything from good restaurants (stay away from the restaurants in Market Square - go to where the locals eat), to the best chocolate (which ones actually make their own chocolate, and which only import the chocolate and just put it into their own molds), to which merchants are the most honest. The property is outstanding, but Caroline's attention to detail and knowledge make this place truly special.

There may be B&B's that are less expensive, but do yourself a favor and pay the few extra euros for the best place to stay in Brugge.

  • Liked — Caroline, Fidel (the dog), and everything else
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoneNixNada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2008

My wife and I celebrated her birthday in France and Belgium this May (2008) and had a terrific time. In Bruges, we were honored to stay at Cote Canal and meet Caroline, the owner and our elegant hostess. The property was beautiful - we stayed in the Suite Clair de Lune and could not have been more pleased with the rooms and ambiance of the property, right on the canal. The most amazing part of our trip was a train strike which caused a problem with our return from Bruges to Paris through Brussels. We told Caroline of our plight and she jumped into action and helped us cancel our rail tickets, get a refund and made arrangements for a rental car, calling several firms till she got us a great price. She even drove us to pick up the car - going way above the call of duty. The highlight of our trip to Europe was Bruges, Cote Canal and Caroline. We will go back and recommend this unique and elegant property to everyone. Enjoy!!

  • Liked — Room, Ambiance, Location, Owner
  • Disliked — It was a perfect place!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBJ_Naples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Canal

Property: Cote Canal
Address: Hertsbergestraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Guesthouse - Unique Location! Along one of the most picturesque canals in between the two oldest bridges of town. All of our rooms offer a view on garden and canal. But we offer more than a room: the garden with terrace, the lounge and the dining room are all yours.Official classification: de luxe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cote Canal Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing