We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL STAY”
Review of Cote Canal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cote Canal
Ranked #10 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL STAY”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We can't argue with all the other reviews which compliment this wonderful B&B. Our three day stay was memorable due to the location and quality of the the facility, and also because of Caroline's discreet but attentive thoughtfulness throughout our time here. We stayed in the Empire Room which was more like an apartment. The bed was large and most comfortable; and having breakfasts downstairs, in either the period dining room or out on the garden terrace overlooking the canal, was a pleasure. We cannot fault the Cote Canal in any way.

Another good recommendation was having supper at the Bistro de Schaar, a leisurely ten minutes walk from the B&B, and off the tourist track. We had a lovely supper there, but booking was essential well beforehand.

Room Tip: See review comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
581
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Wonderful place that won't disappoint you. Perfect for couples as it is very romantic! Rooms have charme and are perfect, service is great (you won't miss anything), Caroline the perfect host (she's adorable). She knows the city inside out and will help you find your way around Brugge.
Talk to her and you will avoid all tourist traps but get greats tips in return. The pictures are living up to the expectation, the comments as well. The garden is an oasis of peace, breakfast is awesome! The place to be in Brugge! We will come back, for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay at this beautiful boutique style B&B situated overlooking the canal in central Bruges. The eclectic décor of the bedrooms is a delight which is matched by Caroline's welcome and service during our stay. We were advised where to go and probably more importantly where not to go during our stay in Bruges which was all very helpful. In our room, which was huge, we had a good selection of toiletries, fluffy towel robes, slippers, chocolates, mineral water, etc. in fact everything one would expect and that little bit more. The garden is lovely and offered much needed shade as it was very hot when we visited. We had breakfast in the garden overlooking the canal and were offered an excellent selection of cereals, fruits of all kinds, yoghurts, eggs, a variety of breads, jams, more chocolate! and many other items too numerous to mention. We have no hesitation in recommending this gorgeous B&B and should we return to Bruges, we will definitely return to Cote Canal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 214SusieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I knew this was going to be good from the reviews but it was even better than my wildest expectations. From the booking enquiry to arriving Caroline was extremely helpful and our stay was made memorable because she is so good at what she does and obviously loves this place.
The house is fabulous and it is a privilege to be able to stay in such an historic building where Winston Churchill used to paint in the garden. Caroline has decorated the place beautifully and the bedrooms are very spacious and comfortable. Fresh towels and daily maid service are something you dont normally get in B and B which means you get a hotel facilities in a much more comfortable surrounding. Breakfast was amazing and all fresh produce. Caroline even squeezes you fresh orange daily. We were set until later in the afternoon and there was so much choice of everything. The house is perfectly set for sight seeing being right in the heart of Brugge and only a few minutes stroll to all the main attractions. I very rarely gush over somewhere I have stayed but this place gets 11/10 and 1 million percent for effort. I would not even think of going anywhere else next time I am in Brugge and have already recommended Caroline and Cote Canal to all my friends and family. Finally and not least it was fanatstic to meet Fidel and his bodyguard Molly Thanks for the sloppy kisses. Many thanks to Caroline for an amazing stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What a great place to stay if you are not into chrome and formality. Caroline runs the perfect little b&b with style. Perfectly located overlooking the Cote canal, complete with lovely little garden perfect for a leisurely breakfast or evening drinks. As we were arriving by train at 11pm it was appreciated that Caroline's partner waited to pick us up at the station. Due to her bookings we spent the first 3 nights in the attic room which was perfectly adequate but not quite up to the standard of the other suites but we were aware of this when we booked as it was arranged at short notice. We moved into the room 'Clin d'oeil' for our final 3 days and could not fault it in any way. Breakfast was served either in the common dining room or as I said in the garden. The standard of food and service provided personally by Caroline was excellent with enough variety that even after 6 days we looked forward to it and the opportunity to meet other guests. The sitting room was not really used during our stay but may be useful if the weather had been poor. Lots of useful and interesting insights into the building, the town and suggestions for trips outside the city from Caroline were helpful. She has great plans for developing the accommodation so we wish her well and hope we can return one day.

Room Tip: One of the suites, we had Clin d'oeil which means twinkling eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadSydney_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The location and setting are beautiful-- beautiful garden, beautiful canal views, beautiful building in general. The owners were both very sweet and helpful. The owners emailed us very good and helpful directions, and it was no trouble finding the place.

We stayed in the Clair de Lune suite, which was huge and very decorated. In fact, we almost felt a little uncomfortable in the room since it was so incredibly decorated-- almost like we were staying in a museum rather than a home. For example, there are antique hairbrushes, used old hand creams, etc. on the dressing table. For me, the appeal of staying at a B&B is that you get the service of a hotel but the feel of being in a real home. We expected it to be nicely decorated and romantic for the price, and it was... but we felt a bit too young for the room, which may have meant we picked the wrong B&B for our style. It was incredibly beautiful, but make sure the style is to your taste before you book it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Can't say enough great things about Caroline and her B&B. We stayed in the Suite Clair de Lune which was beautiful and spacious. As soon as you check in, Caroline tells you all about the area and hands you a map and circles the places to go and visit and what to avoid and what not to miss. She made dinner reservations for us and recommended the flemish stew at the brewery which is not to be missed. The breakfast was great and plenty of choices. Of course seeing Fidel is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glassgjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Canal

Property: Cote Canal
Address: Hertsbergestraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Guesthouse - Unique Location! Along one of the most picturesque canals in between the two oldest bridges of town. All of our rooms offer a view on garden and canal. But we offer more than a room: the garden with terrace, the lounge and the dining room are all yours.Official classification: de luxe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cote Canal Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing