We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“72 Five-Star Reviews Can't Be Wrong...make that 73” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cote Canal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cote Canal
Ranked #8 of 228 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“72 Five-Star Reviews Can't Be Wrong...make that 73”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

My wife and I are grateful to all the Advisors who persuaded us to make our Bruges accommodations a bit of a splurge by reserving at the Cote Canal. There are B&B's in all sorts of charming places in Europe, but this one really sets a high bar, and, in fact, holds the current trade association award for best B&B in Belgium. No arguments there.

The location is amazing. It is right on a canal, but situated off the main tourist routes so there is never noise. We were part of the weekend hordes--even during a tough economy in March--that marched past hotels near the old town center, and were very glad we weren't staying in the middle of all the noise. On the other hand, you can walk leisurely along the canal from the Cote Canal to all the attractions in minutes.

We stayed in the room called "Clin d'Oeil" ("wink") and it was spacious, clean, and delightfully decorated. There is a large, inviting bathtub, as well as a stall shower. All the fixtures appeared to be in new condition. The generously-sized bed was comfortable, and the bedclothes were of high quality. There is a flat-screen television in the room with Flemish, French, and English channels. Wireless internet is also provided without cost--just ask for the credentials.

Breakfast was a real treat. In addition to a wide and horribly tempting selection of fresh breadstuffs, there was fresh-squeezed orange juice, a variety of cheeses [including the excellent alte brugge (ph.)], three kinds of sliced meat, yogurt, homemade jams, fabulous real, live American-style coffee (espresso and tea available as well), and even fresh scrambled eggs made on the spot.

Let me add my praise of Carolyn to the choir. She is just a sheer delight. The house belonged to her great grandfather who bought it more than a hundred years ago, and every piece of furniture, artwork, and decorative piece belonged to some member of her family. No flea market finds here. Carolyn is one of those people who genuinely enjoys meeting people from all over the world and making them feel comfortable while they enjoy the pleasures of Bruges. She speaks at least Flemish, English and French quite fluently, and could even understand the charming Yorkshire couple who were there when we were.

There is a large and comfortable living room which is open at all times to her guests, a spacious garden between the house and the canal, and a covered outdoor terrace, all available for use on fine days.

Oh, a word about the house celebrity. Carolyn's dog spends a good portion of the day looking out an open window that overlooks the canal, and it turns out that the dog appears in the British film, "In Bruges"!

Bruges is just a gem of a city, and guests are wise to follow Carolyn's advice on how best to enjoy it. She can also help you choose a restaurant, and make a reservation for you. Many restaurants in Bruges are closed on Sunday or Monday night, at least in March, so planning ahead pays off. We had dinner at Den Divers and at the Swaene, and enjoyed both. The former specializes in dishes prepared with beer, and they provide a pairing menu that includes a complementary beer with each dish. The Swaene offers both Flemish and French-style dishes, and their Flemish stew was excellent.

The cost of Cote Canal is higher than we generally expect for a B&B, but we couldn't have had a better experience at any price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cartaphilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
578
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

I have just got back from a long weekend in Bruges with my girlfriend. It was her birthday so I decided to splash out on the number one B&B in all of Bruges (according to Trip Adviser). As always this site was spot on, and this B&B was one of the best we have ever stayed in.
The overall style and attention to detail at the Cote Canal was just amazing. The host Caroline was a treasure. She is a mine of information and advice, and never crosses over into the overbearing B&B hosts you sometimes have to deal with.
We were supposed to stay in the attic room for one night and then move to the Clare de Lune suite for the remaining two days of our stay, but the attic room was so nice we decided to stay there for the full 3 nights.
The location is also perfect. It's set between the two oldest bridges in town, and that stretch of canal features on many postcards. it's also just a 5 min walk to the main square.
If you're looking for somewhere special to stay in Bruges, look no further.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKiplingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic weekend in Bruges before heading to Amsterdam for business. Bruges is an amazing and beautiful city, and the Inn was lovely. Caroline has wonderful style and grace, evident in the Inn's tasteful furnishings as well as the impeccable service. Breakfast was great, the location is convenient to all of Bruges, and it was a lovely, quiet place to stay. Only one negative comment: it was very cold during our stay, and the heat in this beautiful, old home had trouble keeping up!

  • Liked — Beautiful Inn close to everything.
  • Disliked — Chilly room to return to after a cold walk outside! Also, internet worked in public area only.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweet2th555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

Beautifully located, with a great view of the canal from our bedroom and the breakfast room, (you can hear the ducks and geese waking up in the morning!) and just a couple of minutes from the Burgh and Markt. We chose the room where you can watch the telly (yes, they have BBC1!) from the deliciously large bath. We received a wonderfully warm welcome from our host who went out of her way to ensure we had a lovely stay. Slippers. Bath robes. Heart-shaped chocolates at breakfast on Valentine's Day, what more could you ask for? Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The beautiful warm welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

A very special place to stay!

This was our second visit to Cote Canal and both were perfect. Our first visit was in December 07 where we had both rooms; my husband and I stayed Clin d'Oeil a luxurious romantic room and my mother-in-law and sister-in-law were in Clair de Lune – airy and elegant.

Our second stay…was to celebrate our 20 year wedding anniversary in the most beautiful B&B in Bruges in the most romantic city in Europe. We also splurged and had dinner at Restaurant Patrick Devos where the food and wine was perfectly matched.

Why we love the Cote Canal:

1) Beautifully decorated 18th century canal home. Pretty enough to be in any home decorator magazine.
2) Breakfasts are lovely. Elegant table setting.
3) Caroline, a wonderful hostess and a perfectionist ….always busy making improvements to a B& B that does not need improving!
4) The house is spotless clean.
5) The shared common room is cozy and relaxing. A nice place to have tea on a cold winter’s day.

Cote Canal truly deserves to be the number one B&B in Bruges!

  • Liked — the decor & Caroline
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

My wife and i loved our stay in Bruges largely because of the comfort, conveience and welcoming advice we recieved at Cote Canal.

Caroline was helpful even before we arrived by emailing advice before we booked this beautiful B&B. It is centrally located in Bruges (right on a canal) and walking distance to all attractions.

Caroline provided a mapand helpful advice on what to see and where to eat & drink. The room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable & with a view of the canal.

Loved drinking my Belgian beer in the garden waving at tourists passing in boats taking photos of "Fidel" the Labrador.

I have satyed in many B&B's and small Hotels and this one is my favorite!

  • Liked — Location, welcome, ambience, breakfast, hostess, view........
  • Disliked — Leaving, my wife even took the keys with her!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank milmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

The B&B is a place you can spend hours at, just reading, drinking and watching the tourists go by on the canal. It is perfect walking distance from the main areas. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast held you over all morning.

  • Liked — the Patio and the Views
  • Disliked — Top room is Very hot in summer
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kickoffthejams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Canal

Property: Cote Canal
Address: Hertsbergestraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Guesthouse - Unique Location! Along one of the most picturesque canals in between the two oldest bridges of town. All of our rooms offer a view on garden and canal. But we offer more than a room: the garden with terrace, the lounge and the dining room are all yours.Official classification: de luxe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cote Canal Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing