We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Nice”
Review of Rosenburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosenburg Hotel
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Nice”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here in October 2013.

The Rosenburg is very small and doesn't have a ton of amenities. That said, our Canal view room was nicely appointed and had floor to ceiling windows with views of the canal. The neighborhood was quiet and was a 10 minute walk from the Market Place.

Breakfast was great in a small atrium downstairs and the staff was helpful and nice.

I enjoyed being central but away from the tourist hustle and would choose to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    187
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
71
254
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed for just the single night and could not fault the hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and tidy.
Food was excellent.
New tax of 2 EURO per person per night to be paid on leaving hotel.
Located just off the centre of the city of Bruges and within easy reach by walking along the canal, a ten minute or less walk, (walking shoes, trainers or flat shoes are recommended), because the pavements are made up of square blocks, and can be hard on the feet.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the road over the canal. The traffic rumbles at night and early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETERW689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night with other Wigan Athletic supporters & couldn't fault this hotel. Our room was spacious and spotless. Breakfast was good & we only got to try the Bar Menu as the Restaurant had stopped serving when we got back from the match and our snack was good. The pizza delivered to our room in the afternoon wasn't nice it looked like it had been cooked in the microwave and was cold when it arrived. You will need to get a taxi into the centre of Bruges which cost from 9 euros but some charge as much as 16 euros. I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Well, once again we have nothing but good to say about "The Hotel Rosenburg" The Hotel is ideally situated within five minutes walk of the town centre and has a surprise at every turning.
Our room was beautiful,clean and quiet. Breakfast was nice and relaxed with plenty of choices for any nationality. Although not a full english breakfast ,it did have scrambled eggs,smoked bacon and baked beans. The hot freshly baked bread was fantastic.
The girls at this hotel are fantastic and cannot do enough to assist. I locked myself out of the car on our last day and Elvera, the receptionist, did everything she could to help me get it sorted by phoning around different places for assistance. That alone would make my wife and I return again to this little jewel in the crown of Brugges.I must not forget Femke who also helped us to get settled in.
There are many places to eat in Brugges and the traveller will be spoiled for choice. In the square there are fast food stalls and the place is surrounded with restaurants to suit any palate. Do not just stay in the square for food because there are so many different restaurants throughout the city. Go on foot and expect to be out all day every day because this city is so alive with many places of interest. We went to the Museum Groeiginen which is just up from the boat trip point. In there are some sculptures of the " Four Horsemen of The Apocalypse"
and moving on from there you will find a small old building wherein is an Artist called David de Graef. His type of artwork may not be to everyones choice but fans of H.R.Giger will love it.
We purchased one of his books and asked him to inscibe it for us and he sat back and airbrushed a lovely picture inside the cover and we were completely amazed by his generousity. So enjoy Brugges you will.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humptydumpty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After a 10 day tour on a bus it was nice to just relax in this beautiful city and the accommodation was excellent. The room was amazing, clean, spacious, quiet and modern for the building its in. Our room was facing the canal which gave us great views. The hotel staff were extremely professional and friendly, answering any question we had about the area, even pointing out a few attractions we didn't know about. Breakfast was fantastic, a great selection and great views of the rose gardens which my partner loved. A convenience store across the road and a laundry a few shops down with the city centre only minutes away. Fantastic stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leemack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very well situated hotel -being on the canal and just far enough out of the city to be peaceful, yet near enough to walk to the centre effortlessly.The walk into the city is either alongside the canal or through a lovely park. Hotel staff were friendly,spoke excellent English and were prepared to go the extra mile to help. An example being their willingness to heat up the croissants when asked (and even to bake 2 especially fresh for me when my request to merely warm them was misunderstood!) They were delicious!! Brugges itself it truly beautiful with hidden gems round every corner!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late March and it was lovely. Bruges is such a beautiful town, and I'm so glad we stayed here. The hotel is opposite a canal and was the perfect location for us. It was a 5 minute walk into the centre of town through Astrid Park, so we were away from the busier side of town. Everything is walking distance from the hotel, so getting around was easy.

Check-in was quick, and I was so impressed with the staff. The receptionist was very helpful and polite, and a lady who I assumed was the manager always said hello and made us feel welcome. We were given a free map and discounts to local museums etc.

We stayed in a spacious room on the first floor (can't remember the room number) which had a large double and an extra single bed. We had a view overlooking a quiet street, a table, wardrobe, TV with plenty of channels, tea & coffee making facilities, and a lovely big bathroom. Even though it snowed and rained for most of our trip, the room was warm and there were extra blankets and pillows if we needed them. Free wifi which was quick, and maid service daily. The rooms were immaculate.

The variety availably for breakfast meant we didn't get bored of eating the same food every day. There was hot food (scrambled egg, bacon and beans), fresh bread, croissants, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cereal, jam and funny little chocolate sprinkle boxes. Plenty of juice, tea and coffee. We ate our breakfast at 7.30 for two of the days, which meant we were the only people in the breakfast room. On our last day we went down at about 9, and even though there were a fair few people there, it didn't feel busy and there was plenty of food. All the food was regularly topped up so nothing was sitting out all morning.

The only negative thing about our stay was that our room joined with another via two doors, so whilst the rest of the hotel was quiet, we could hear a bit of noise from the next room. Also, even though the rooms are non-smoking, the guests in the adjacent room smoked anyway. This meant when we came back one evening, our room stank of cigarette smoke (because there were only two doors between our room and their joining room). However we went down to reception to complain, and the lady took it very seriously and called them to ask them to stop (which they did). I was happy to find the next day when we came back in the evening that the maid had sprayed our room with extra air freshener, which was a nice thoughtful touch.

Check out was also quick, and the manager called a taxi for us to the station. I would really recommend staying here, and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Pennie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
802 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#28 of 97 in Bruges
1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosenburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosenburg Hotel

Property: Rosenburg Hotel
Address: Coupure 30, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosenburg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosenburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosenburg Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing