We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent guesthouse”
Review of Huyze Hertsberge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huyze Hertsberge
Ranked #134 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2011

"Huyze Hertsberge", together with its twin "Cote Canal",-actually they form together one single entity-, are an excellent choice. We were very happy staying there four days. Perfect location: five minutes walk from the Bourg and the Markt, yet very quite and on the canal. All the spaces furnished and decorated with a real taste. A beautiful garden to watch the canal boats and the swans pass by, and to hear the birds singing. And perhaps above all, Caroline, a very friendly and efficient hostess.

Room Tip: suite Empire:perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkisNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

The ambiance and location of Huyze Hertsberge was excellent, not to mention the personal hospitality of our hostess Caroline. This B&B is located directly on the canal, with a beautiful garden to watch the canal boats pass by. We were a little too early for all the flowers, but this garden would be stunning when in bloom. Our room in the attic was excellent, bed comfortable and right in the heart of Bruges, but in a residential area…..So it was very peaceful and quiet. I highly recommend this B&B and we would not stay anywhere else upon our return. Thank you for a wonderful anniversary Caroline, you were the best!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castlerockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

My fiance booked me a three night stay for my birthday in December. I had looked at the reviews on trip advisor so had high expectations and wasn't disappointed. Huyze Hertsberge/Cote Canal is a beautiful B&B with stunning rooms located in walking distance to everything. The canal view is the cherry on the cake. Caroline is the perfect hostess, even baking us extra croissants the next morning when we ploughed through the basket of goodies we was presented with the day before. Caroline is very helpful and is willing to share her knowledge of sights and restaurants going as far as making a reservation for us at one of her favourite places for dinner. The Christmas markets made our trip and we would certainly love to go back in the summer to see a different Bruges.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEBE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My husband and I wanted to have a white Christmas and chose Bruges a we imagined it would be a perfectly charming town for the holidays. We were right and staying at HH was just the right place. As other reviewers commented, Caroline and Hank are warm and welcoming. The house is along the canal (reminder, same place as B&B Cote Canal) and is in walking distance to everything.

We stayed in La Charpente, which has high beamed ceilings and is quite large. If we were in Bruges in the Spring, we may want a room with a bigger window, since the view of their garden, the canal and the town is lovely.

Though we are extroverts, I am not a morning person and at first felt a bit shy having breakfast at a long, shared table. However, the guests were so friendly, and we met people from all over. We all seemed to have a similar joie de vivre and it was really an enjoyable experience visiting with everyone.

Caroline joined us for breakfast every morning and it was so nice to get to know her and Hank personally. The breakfast itself was yummy and substantial. We asked to meet the two dogs, and they were just as welcoming.

Caroline and Hank have great restaurant recommendations. We went to Au Petit Grand for Christmas dinner and recommend it, both service and food were top. What surpassed that was Den Dyver, a Michelin star restaurant that specializes in cooking regional food in regional beer and pairing the meals with the fine regional beer. We were there 3.5 hours and it was paced appropriately, we had a wonderful evening.

Make sure to go to the Groeninge Museum. Can’t go wrong with chocolates, but Van Oost was our favorite (one of Caroline’s recommendations)

We could do this every year for Christmas, but for sure we will return to Bruges and this charming B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViaggiatoreSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My partner and I stayed at Huyze Hertsberge (same location as Côté Canal) in August 2010. We arrived in Bruges by train from Brussels very early and were greeted by Caroline who was very gracious and made us feel comfortable right away. We had selected Suite Empire which was located on the 2nd floor of the main house. The suite was spacious including large bedroom, daybed/sitting area and private bathroom (shower only). The room had a wonderful view of the canal on one side and a narrow street on the other. We had access to the beautifully manicured courtyard/gardens overlooking the canal, the living room and kitchen/dining room.

Breakfast was prepared by Caroline and her husband. Fresh bread, fruits, yogurts, cheese, omelette, ham, etc. were served. Internet was available in the living room area. The famous dog (Fidel) featured in the Hollywood movie, 'In Bruges' lives in a completely separate part of the B&B where he loves lying on the window sill looking at the tourist boats going by.

On the day of departure, we had to leave very early, 5:50am and Caroline was there to see us off with a breakfast bag. A perfect hostess! We highly recommend Huyze Hertsberge/Côté Canal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheddarCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed in the attic room it was very quiet and comfortable. Upon arrival we were greeted by Caroline the host who actually owns Huyze Hertsberge with her husband. There really is a dog that sits in the window we asked to meet him! Caroline suggested "must see things" and "great dining suggestions". For a wonderful place to stay in Bruges I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

When we arrived at the B&B Caroline was the perfect host. Nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Caroline gave us a map and book of restaurants with personal recommendations. The room with a view of the garden and canal was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and enjoyed in the garden by the canal. This beautiful house was the best B&B we have stayed in. We enjoyed our time so much our stay was not long enough and we were lucky to get accommodation booked to return in October. We would not stay anywhere else in Bruges. We met Caroline as a host of a luxury B&B but felt we left her as a friend. We cannot thank her enough for a perfect stay in Bruges.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trikeRomford_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huyze Hertsberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huyze Hertsberge

Address: Hertsbergestraat 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £124 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing