We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel, great location, a must stay for couples!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 't Voermanshuys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel, great location, a must stay for couples!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights in Bruges in early July. Not only was the town absolutely beautiful, but so too was our stay at Hotel 't Voermanshuys, and instantly made us want to stay an extra few nights. The hotel is right near the Bellfry, on a quiet street. A 1 minute walk to all of the action of the town square. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff were incredibly helpful when we first arrived, showing us the main attractions on the map. We would reccomended this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Bruges.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catdog1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    73
    37
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
93
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel 2 wks ago couldnt fault it rooms clean staff friendly and location excellent only critisism was pillows were flat as pancakes but didnt say anythin an sure they would ave provided more if wed asked had lovely wkend and would definately stop ere again oh and breakfast was a bit borin but not much for continental anyway thats just me brillirant wkend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bev w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We completely agree with other reviews - location and price are the main selling points of this hotel; other aspects can be a bit lacking. The breakfast spread wasn't terrible, but far from bountiful, and the anteroom in which it was served smelled a bit like cigarette smoke. The room was relatively small (not unexpected for Europe), but the furniture and decor were out-dated (and not in a charming, antique-y way.) The location is excellent, though - close to everything, but on a quiet street so not too loud.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
643 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

There are two reasons to stay at Hotel t’Voermanshuys; location and price, beyond that keep your expectations in check. Location is excellent, a block away from Markt Sq, however the street is noisy with a bar across the street that kept me awake (with my windows shut) until 1am, but the bar was closed the next evening. Impossible to sleep with windows open, due to "normal" street noise.

My single room was good size for European standards, clean, very simply furnished but very tired looking, with a bit of a musty smell. The bathroom had a tub without shower curtain and a hand held shower head, which I dislike. I’ve never succeeded in showering with one hand and not getting water everywhere. No hairdryer and only “universal” soap. My biggest complaint after the street noise was no WiFi; nearly every hotel has it, so it’s a disappointment when you come across the few that don’t!

Breakfast was adequate, coffee/tea, cheese, meat, cereal and a basket of bread. No eggs or hot food. Service was good, pleasant for breakfast and check in/out, otherwise not tremendously helpful. Other then no sleep the first night, I had a pleasant stay but I’m not sure I would stay here again because of the street noise and lack of WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is in a great position .It is easy to get to all the places of interest easily.The hotel was very quiet ,room was of a good size and beds were comfortable.Buffet breakfast was good ,you can fill up ready for a day of serious sightseeing. Totally adequate,no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank KEVIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Good location, less than a minute walk to The Markt (Market Square) and very close to Bruges other main attractions (Cathedral of Holy Blood, City Hall, etc). The old guy at the reception was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is good.

Maybe it just my luck but the room I've got is less than my expectation. It's a big room with big bedroom (so it's a good point), however I think some renovation need to be done to make the guest's stay better. The furniture are old, one tile outside the bathtub is loose and it was fixed with only a sellotape. The pipe from the toilet is feasible and seems like connected to the pipe from the bathtub. The shower was part of the bath tub but no shower curtain, so if you only want to have a shower, you need to sit down on the bath tub (perhaps this is normal in Europe).

I've got a really good price compared to other available hotel when I booked it since it was long weekend, but I went to Brussel the next day and stayed in a hotel near The Grand Place, it cost EUR 20 less but the room quality is so much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Primaully W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#67 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#84 of 97 in Bruges
3.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Voermanshuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Voermanshuys

Property: Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Address: Oude Burg 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 't Voermanshuys 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel 't Voermanshuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Voermanshuys
t Voermanshuys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing