We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An (affordable) gem in an expensive city”
Review of Bonobo Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bonobo Apart Hotel
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Bruges in an amazing city. It's also very expensive.
Having travelled through Europe for a few weeks I was pleased to come upon the Bonobo. The rooms were huge and we opted for the kitchenette which was great given the expense of eating out in this city.
Checking in was seamless, our hosts had an array of information for us, as well as a discount card which saved us lots of euros when we went to a couple of museums and rented bikes.
The hotel is ideally situated: close to everything. Also: free WiFi!
The next time I come I will ask for a room facing away from the road (which was only slightly noisy.
Our hosts were super helpful and very professional and had a great sense of humour. I can't recommend them enough. Bruges is a very expensive city and our stay there was so affordable and the hosts were simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
There are newer reviews for Bonobo Apart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We like the freedom and extra accommodation that self-catering allows us hence, given previous reviews of this apart hotel, we booked the Bonobo for a three night stay. We were not disappointed.

We had a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor leading directly onto the lovely terrace (room 12) with table, chairs and parasol. The accommodation was scrupulously clean and the facilities, although simple (not basic) more than catered for our needs. The private car park is a real bonus and very reasonably priced.

Hans and Magda could not have been better hosts. Very friendly and providing all information regarding local attractions including discount cards,

I won't comment on how centrally located this property is, it has already been said. Only to say it is ideal for visiting restaurants, shops, historical sites etc within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArgyllIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent 4 nights at Bonobo Apartment Hotel. We had a lounge/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. It was very roomy on the first floor with windows overlooking the street. We were pleased there was a lift! The back rooms look out over the lovely backyard. There is also a lock up car park. We found the owners very helpful and friendly and enjoyed our time there very much. As we had our own kitchen we were able to buy food for meals. The location is perfect! Just a 15 min walk to the train station and minutes to be in the main square. We walked and walked and found this wonderful place so picturesque and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back could be quieter but not a great amount of noise during the night time. Also, the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this apartment hotel for 4 nights. We had an XL apartment on the top floor. This had a small kitchen (no oven or dishwasher), two bedrooms and one bathroom. The common room had a table with chairs and a small couch with TV. There was a small elevator. Our group of 5 adults and one infant fit ok, but it was a little tight at times.

The location in Bruges is excellent, just a short walk from the major tourist sites and in an area full of character. The attached parking lot at 9€ per day was immensely convenient if you have a vehicle. If coming by train, a taxi from the station is advised.

The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful, and they made reservations for dinner for us at a restaurant we could not contact before we left for our trip. They also had a nice crib for our baby. As well many umbrellas were available for our use during the rainy weather we encountered during our stay.

Overall, we were quite satisfied with our stay and felt we got good value for the price. We would likely stay here again if in Bruges in the future.

One final note, a few hours after we left the hotel to go to Brussels we received a phone call from the owner informing us that we had left some valuables behind in the safe in the room. We made arrangements to return to the hotel to get them, and we very much appreciated the timely contact by the owner to assist us with our forgotten belongings.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wpgdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Plus points are it is centrally located, has good service and is not bad value for money.

Nothing wrong with hotel but I think the other glowing reviews indicating this as the best all round hotel in bruges is misleading. It is a good to average budget hotel (ie sparse rooms etc).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liferunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great location for our short trip, in easy walking distance to the many of the highlights of the city. Travelling with my mother I am always wary of the need for a quiet but central location and bonobo certainly supplied this.
The apartment was spotlessly clean and well set up. (worth noting though that whilst there was a hob, microwave and toaster there wasn't an oven - not a problem for us as we were eating main meals out)
Bruges can be eyewateringly expensive for food so it was great to have the kitchen area to offset some meal costs. Super market is fairly near as are a whole range of bakers and delis.
The owners were on holiday during our stay so we didn't meet them til our last day but all staff were helpful and friendly.
The guidebook and map offered were great and really enhanced our trip they pointed us in the direction of the discover Bruges and museum discount cards -worth checking out if you plan some cultural visits- we opted for the discover Bruges card which allowed access to a range of activities and museums some of which I would have been disappointed by had we spent full price on entry. The card definitely encouraged us to see a lot more than we would have otherwise.
Last tip would be to check out the Olive Tree restaurant - amazingly fresh and tasty food , very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I found this place through Trip Advisor and as always reaped the rewards. We stayed 4 nights and loved it. My wife and I in one room, my mother in law and her friend in another, (Xmas pressie from last Xmas from us). The 2 x self contained apartments were just what we needed. Space to chill out as a group and a place to call home for the 5 days we were there. Brilliant location. Great hosts. Lovely extra's like a guide book, maps, recommendations. Brilliant pub with 320 beers nearby, cash point nearby, supermarket nearby. Finally secure parking spaces in the heart of the city. The other thing that was unusual was our satnav took us straight there. Hassle free short break. Loved it. Big thanks to the owners who tell me they've been there 8 years and after extensive renovations they have clearly got this place to where it is now. The reviews speak for themselves. This place has it all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxurySeekerNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonobo Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonobo Apart Hotel

Address: Goezeputstraat 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#2 Family Hotel in Bruges
#9 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £77 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonobo Apart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonobo Apart Hotel is situated in the historical heart of Bruges in a very quiet and picturesque street. The hotel has 11 large apartments for 1 to 6 persons. Each apartment has a kitchenette, safe, wifi, flatscreen television. 3 of the apartments are situated in the terrace and 1 of these apartments is wheelchairs accessible. Extra: family hotel, pets not allowed, no smoking, private carpark next to the hotel, sunny terrace, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bonobo Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bonobo Apart
Bonobo Apart Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing