We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse right in the centre of Bruges”
Review of The Abiente Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abiente Rooms
Ranked #27 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hostess was very welcoming and the rooms were lovely. There is a great little communal lounge in the attic with a sofa, some board games and a small kitchen. Great if you want to save a little money on breakfast or lunch maybe or alternatively just a nice space to relax between sight seeing trips. The breakfast at €12.50 per person was excellent, with a selection of breads, pastries, meat, cheese, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, jams etc. Veele also encouraged us to take food from breakfast to make a sandwich for lunch, which was a lovely gesture. The parking I thought was good value at €10 per night and very convenient for the B&B, we were not keen to park in a public car park as we had camping equipment etc in the car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

The guesthouse is located few minutes walk from the most beautiful part of Bruges canal. 5 min walk from the Markt. Comfortable and clean room. Friendly host - gave us plenty tips about best local restaurants and bars! And a welcoming bottle of wine was a lovely touch :)

Room Tip: The green room was facing the street, so it was a bit noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aiste T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This B & B is perfectly situated within 5 mins walk of the Markt and the centre of Bruges. Located within a historic building - the 2 bedrooms are spacious and have loads of character: beamed ceilings and smart decor, very comfortable beds and with attractive ensuite. Veele (helpful hostess) extends a warm and informative welcome to her guests - we were given a map of Bruges and lent a useful guidebook on arrival. There was also a bottle of wine and a large bottle of water waiting in our room. There is a shared living room on the 2nd floor complete with fridge and microwave for the use of guests which can prove handy as eating out can be pricey, although we found Veele's breakfasts are so generous we didn't need much at lunchtime. We recommend making use of the plastic bags she hands out at breakfast and to take away fresh pastries and bread. At lunchtime head to the Vis Markt (fish market) and pick up some freshly made prawn/salmon salads for under 6 Euros apiece and save your spending power for eating out in the evening when you can easily spend 40 Euros a head.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillbackathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This B&B is exactly what it is advertised as ( a rare thing these days!) and it's lovely !
Location good for the centre of Brugges and all the restaurants and shops, rooms a good size and nicely furnished , breakfast quality and quantity excellent, Hostess informative and helpful -you really could'nt ask for more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in March and really enjoyed it. We arrived quite late as our Eurostar train didn't arrive in Bruges til midnight but we had been given a code to use and directions to our room and all worked perfectly. Waiting for us was a bottle of wine and bottles of water - a really nice touch after a long journey and much appreciated.
The room was really nice - large bed, spacious and quiet. The bathroom was modern with bath shower and all very clean.
The location of the B&B is perfect as you can go out for the day but also pop back if you need as Bruges is small enough and the B&B is in a handy location.
The breakfast was delicious - fresh tea and coffee, fresh orange juice, cereals, fresh croissant, hams, cheeses, boiled egg, delicious tomatoes and you are even given a bag to pack with anything you'd like for a packed lunch.
The host was very friendly and warm, checking everything was ok and giving us advice on activites and restaurants.
There is also a little kitchenette/sofa area at the top of the B&B so you can leave food or drinks in the fridge and make a cup of tea or coffee if you wish.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The breakfast is an additional extra charge - but well worth it and you can save money on lunch too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss_fg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend at this bed and breakfast and it was the perfect place to stay in Bruges. The host was very friendly and helpful, she greeted us with a coffee and showed us the best restaurants in Bruges. She was happy to help with anything. The room was so beautiful and the bed was very very comfy! Breakfast was a huge spread of continental meats, cheeses, breads, fruit, yoghurt and it was delicious. There was far too much food for 2 people. We would definitely stay here again as the location was very central (less than a 10 minute to the Markt) and it was a lovely romantic place to stay with a fantastic host.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Guesthouse Abiente at the beginning of march. This is a fabulous guesthouse and is very close to the centre of Bruges. We stayed in the grey room which was beautiful. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The guest house also has a shared lounge upstairs with a small kitchen including tea and coffee making facilities and a comfortable seating area. The hosts Willem and Veerla were exceptional. Upon arrival Willem showed us around and then took the time to provide us with a map of Bruges telling us about local points of interest and helping us to choose a resturant (which he even booked for us). The breakfast was excellent and plentiful and Veerla also asked us to take some more food for lunch later. This guesthouse is a gem and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrslambden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bruges
669 reviews
0.6 mi away
The White Queen B&B
The White Queen B&B
#35 of 232 in Bruges
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#6 of 232 in Bruges
647 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B La Maison Bruges
B&B La Maison Bruges
#4 of 232 in Bruges
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Next Door Bed & Breakfast
Next Door Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 232 in Bruges
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abiente Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abiente Rooms

Address: Eekhoutstraat 30, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Guesthouse Abiente)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £83 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abiente Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 2 modern rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV and a shared living room/loft in our freshly renovated 17th century house in the heart of the historic centre of Bruges. Located with a 300 metres from Bruges' central Markt square. For guests who are interested we have parking spots available for 10,- extra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Abiente Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing