We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great place with warmth and attention”
Review of The Abiente Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Abiente Rooms
Ranked #35 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“really great place with warmth and attention”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

the hotel has just 2 rooms, but it has a lot of positive energy invested to make these rooms. very close to the center. very pleasant hosts. ask them for a parking place in advance - we didn't do this and spent half an hour looking for a parking. the hotel has one parking place for 10 euros

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Had a brilliant stay at the guesthouse. The communications before and during the stay was great and was a really relaxing place to stay. The food was excellent and we were encouraged to take excess breakfast food away. Willem and Veerle were very knowledgeable about the best places to visit and eat, and their recommendations were excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottiebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I had such a wonderful stay at Guesthouse Abiente! Veerle and Willem were very accommodating and reached out to use via email as soon as we made our reservation. It was so nice to be able to check into our room right away without being stuck with our luggage. Veerle even sat down with us and provided a map marking great restaurants and lent us two guide books for our stay. Unfortunately, we didn’t get the chance to have their breakfast, but we look forward to it next time we’re in Bruges!

As far as our rooms….WOW! We loved it! It was very spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the De Groenen room which had a lovely view of the old rooftops behind the building. Soo pretty! The bathroom was also lovely and had a beautiful skylight.

I think my favorite part of our room is how comfortable it felt. I’ve always had a hard time fully relaxing in other hotels and B&Bs, but this really felt like a home away from home. You can truly unwind from the day at this guesthouse!

The kitchen and lounge upstairs was a wonderful perk! My husband and I were able to cut up and refrigerate some meat, cheese & bread that we purchased from the market to take with us on the train the following day. Afterwards, we relaxed on the couch in the hangout room with a cup of tea. Such a nice way to end the night!

One last note, the location is PERFECT! It’s in a quite area, but just walk up one block and you are right in all of the action! I highly recommend staying here on your trip to Bruges. My husband and I will be planning our next trip to Bruges based on when we can get a room here! That’s how much we loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the De Groenen room and loved it! There are only 2 rooms available so make sure to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My new fiance and his parents and I stayed at Guesthouse Abiente and were over the moon with everything- the location was perfect for exploring Bruges, the hospitality of the guesthouse owners was fantastic, and the fact that because we had booked both rooms we had the whole place to ourselves; our own little home in Bruges. It was perfect.
The breakfast was more of a feast and should definitely be booked - it would have beaten any breakfast anywhere else by a mile! I couldn't the spread that had been put on for us! Especially on the Sunday where we were treated to an extra sweet surprise of all different varieties of pastries. I really couldn't recommend this place more highly, especially if going as a foursome! It is very close for comfort if you are not taking out both rooms as the living room is shared, and the breakfast is served at one large breakfast table in the morning. This is just a personal preference, but if you don't mind that kind of this it would be still be great.
After we had had enough of the cold and Christmas markets, it was a great place to come back to relax and have a bottle of wine (or belgian beer!) and a game of scrabble. :-)

Room Tip: Great if taking out both rooms as its like your own little home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at the Guesthouse Abiente at the end of November and it was an absolute delight! The hosts gave us a warm welcome and a friendly goodbye on check-in and check-out. It felt like we were staying in a private apartment rather than a BnB. We had the spacious room overlooking the main street which was very quiet and the Abiente is very well located for exploring Bruges. This option gives a more personal, memorable experience than you might get at the chain-type hotels. Ask the hosts for some restaurant recommendations - they got us a reservation at the fantastic "Scissor-bistro" which we really enjoyed. There is a nice spot for breakfast/brunch called Books and Brunch on the same road.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcrdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveturquoisewater
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

When we checked in for our two-night stay we called the number on the front window and waited just a few minutes before our host arrived to check us in. We were shown to our room which looked just like the pictures--very nice! The room is a little small, but the upstairs common area makes up for it. After we set our things down, we went downstairs where we were given a book/maps/restaurant ideas and talked about the next day's breakfast. The location is a very short walk-5 minutes or less from the main market area. The location can't be beat honestly. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this b&b. While we were there climbed the belfry, visited the church of the Holy Blood, went on a free walking tour, ate waffles, had a canal ride, bought amazing chocolates at Neuhaus and Dumon- the best chocolate in Bruges!! and drank beer at T'Brugs beertje, t'poatersgat, cafe rose red, and De Garre, . We wanted to go to Cambrinus but couldn't get a reservation or a spot at the bar in two days time because of large bus tours taking up all the room! Make sure you plan ahead for dinner at most places and get a reservation or you'll be eating fast food. We can't wait to return to Bruges and would stay here again. Love the town…kind of like stepping back in time and really being able to feel like you lived during a different time. We loved the breakfast choices but perhaps our only suggestion would be to scale back the amount of food. There is no way to eat it all and we felt like we were causing a lot of waste. Thanks again for a tremendous stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveturquoisewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hostess was very welcoming and the rooms were lovely. There is a great little communal lounge in the attic with a sofa, some board games and a small kitchen. Great if you want to save a little money on breakfast or lunch maybe or alternatively just a nice space to relax between sight seeing trips. The breakfast at €12.50 per person was excellent, with a selection of breads, pastries, meat, cheese, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, jams etc. Veele also encouraged us to take food from breakfast to make a sandwich for lunch, which was a lovely gesture. The parking I thought was good value at €10 per night and very convenient for the B&B, we were not keen to park in a public car park as we had camping equipment etc in the car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#2 of 231 in Bruges
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B 't Walleke
B&B 't Walleke
#36 of 231 in Bruges
171 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maison Printaniere Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Canal Deluxe B&B
Canal Deluxe B&B
#8 of 231 in Bruges
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abiente Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abiente Rooms

Property: The Abiente Rooms
Address: Eekhoutstraat 30, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Guesthouse Abiente)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abiente Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 2 modern rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV and a shared living room/loft in our freshly renovated 17th century house in the heart of the historic centre of Bruges. Located with a 300 metres from Bruges' central Markt square. For guests who are interested we have parking spots available for 10,- extra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Abiente Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing