We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of interesting and well presented chocolate history”

Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum
Ranked #33 of 153 things to do in Bruges
Attraction details
S
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting and well presented chocolate history”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was impressed with the depth and breadth of information provided in this museum. It was also great having chocolate samples available as we waited to enter the museum.

The various displays were very nicely done, combining facts and personal notes along the way. At the end you can take a short questionnaire to learn which cocoa bean is the best one for you and your taste preference. Although there is a site at the museum, I went to Dumon's nearby to purchase some delicious chocolate.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    841
    719
    260
    128
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The story of my favourite food.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was a great place to visit on a rainy day. The layout is superb and the displays are well done. Although....I must say, my favourite part was the chocolate making display and free tasting. Well done.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Granddaughters are serious about Chocolate”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We promised them a trip to the Chocolate Story and to be honest it exceeded our expectations by a big margin. There are six rooms that tell a very detailed story of Chocolate from Ancient times to the present day. Everyone will learn something there. There was also a nice film about Chocolate and a very good demonstration of Chocolate making. The girls loved it - it's about 1 hour and would recommend it to anyone who loves Chocolate or has Children (probably need to be over 7 to get the best).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Choco trip”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

You get a walk around the museum showing various stages of manufacture and farming. Then went onto a chocolate making demonstration. Really interesting understanding the different types of chocolate and what makes some better than others. Of course taste testing was quite good!! The a small gift shop where we got some bake ware.
Really interesting - great as a fill in on a wet day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ok for a rainy day”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We bought the combined chocolate and chip museum ticket - 28 euros for the family. It's only really an hours entertainment but something to do to break up the day, particularly when it's raining. I think in the UK we get used to our museums being very interactive - this isn't. A trail for small children to do keeps them occupied and there's some interesting info and a demo at the end. Considering it's chocolate which most people love, It could be much better than it is - average but not awful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing