We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you not like chocolate”

Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum
Ranked #33 of 154 things to do in Bruges
Attraction details
California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“How can you not like chocolate”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A museum is questionable. But an education in chocolate is what you will find. You have to stop and read all the displays to get a full understanding of how chocolate has come to be a big part of our lives. What I found so interesting is that coco beans were used as currency at one time because of their rarity and consistent shape and size. I won't give all the details but if you like chocolate you will enjoy learning about how it is made and why European chocolate is so much better than the states.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nipper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    825
    710
    250
    128
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great museum for kids”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Really fun and interesting. They give kids a sticker booklet with things to find around the museum and give the kids a chocolate at the end.
The prailine demo at the end is great and they are the best prailines I've ever tasted.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bailkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A bad experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

It surprising that something about chocolate can be such terrible.
It did not have neither museum quality, nor content quality. It's boring and the chocolote kitchen is crowded. I don't like it at all.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank esraiyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fun and yummy”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Lovely museum, just the right amount of information for us and the children. Interesting exhibits.
Fantastic chocolate making demonstration from a super multi-lingual chef and a free sample of freshly made chocolate praline, gorgeous. The children were kept occupied by a simple sticker activity with a prize at the end - more chocolate, lucky them!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouisP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
290 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“OK If It's Raining”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We visited on a wet afternoon on our last day in Bruges. The museum is in a beautiful building laid out over 3 floors. Having been to the chocolate museum in Cologne and loved it, we were expecting something similar here. The displays were very dry, lots to read and virtually nothing hands-on which makes it very dull for children. I would have been happy to browse and read, but our son was constantly racing ahead. The film in the attic was ok, the best part was the chocolate demonstration but even that didn't really last very long. We were right at the back of the room so had to content ourselves with watching the chef on a screen - not ideal. The sample chocolate he gave us on the way out was very tasty.
Would not recommend this, unless it is pouring with rain and you have nothing else to do. I think there are far better ways to spend you time in Bruges.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing