We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best Hotel in its Class"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Ranked #45 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“"Best Hotel in its Class"”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

So said the certificate awarded last year by the local Bruges Tourist Board, proudly displayed on the wall of the reception area. This superb small hotel is very conveniently sited between the two main tourist hubs of this delightful city - Minnewater, and the Burg/Markt area - and the closest quality hotel to the station (the walk took us less than10 minutes, albeit at a quiet time - beware: the pavements are cobbled like the roads!). We had four nights at the Loreto and slept very soundly in the rear top floor room (31) overlooking the tower of the Half Moon brewery (visit highly recommended!). There was a bath, safe, kettle (tea/coffee/milk provided) and spacious fridge/minibar, not unreasonably priced. Breakfast was outstanding, with top-quality (Serrano?) cured ham amongst others, and an efficient egg boiler as well as a wide choice of fresh bread rolls. We dined on one evening, and were impressed by the price/quality ratio in a generally expensive city, as well as by the portion sizes! The staff were extremely competent and helpful throughout, with very good English! It was a delight to stay here, and the complimentary chocolates in our room one day set the seal on a marvellous holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    95
    21
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
171
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launching Place
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Great Hotel - I selected this Hotel based on reviews in trip advisor and I am so glad I did, it is right in the centre of Bruge so the location is excellent and so is the owner. This lady went out of her way to assist us in everything we wanted, she lent us her own laptop to use the internet as we stupidly didn't take one and I can't speak highly enough of her. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was lovely (even provided chocolate for Brekky!!). On the last night we eat in her resteraunt and we just wished we had eaten here the first night as well as it was just good home cooked food at a very reasonable price. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubadiver50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Hotel Loreto is a beautiful hotel. The location is perfect it's right in the centre of everything. The room was lovely and the bathroom was huge. The breakfast was the best breakfast we had on our entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph_Australia_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary. We chose it because of the good reviews on this and other sites and the location and price met our needs. We were very pleased with the decision and really enjoyed our stay at Loreto. We would stay there again and have no reservation in recommending it to others. The (included) breakfasts were good, it was clean and the staff were friendly. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumblebee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I liked a lot about this hotel. But our room was small and kind of plain. That's really the only reason I would not give it 5 stars. There was a mini frig, which was nice to have. The staff was very professional and helpful. Breakfast was good, although the 9 AM start time was a bit late for us. The location was excellent. It was walking distance (over cobblestones) from the train station, plus really close to all the sights of the city. Our room faced the d street. There was a bit of noise, but it died down pretty early.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Loreto for our first wedding anniversary, just as a weekend trip to Bruges. We chose the hotel on the basis of the reviews on TripAdvisor. I should say that the reviews were generally correct -- the staff was great and friendly, the breakfast room and breakfast were excellent and welcoming, and the location of the hotel -- in the center of the historic old town, can't be beat. But the rooms left a lot to be desired. The hallways were dim, the rooms were very clean but VERY simple, our window looked out onto the wall of another building, the furnishings are inexpensive lacking any aesthetic qualities, and our room was so small that the bed took up most of the room. We had barely had enough space in the room for our travel cot for our infant son, and had to stand on the bed in order to get around it. So if you want a budget hotel in a great location and you're not planning to spend any time in the room except to sleep, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EWL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2010

From the moment we entered this little hotel, we loved it. It was clean, stylish and welcoming. Our room was comfortable and although we were in a busy part of town, we weren't disturbed - in fact the gentle clip clopping of the horse drawn carriages was very pleasant.
Breakfast was delicious and served until 10:30 - great if you need a lie-in.
Nothing was too much trouble and we were sorry to leave .... but we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobias123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
0.1 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Loreto

Property: Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Address: Katelijnestraat 40, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bruges
#27 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Loreto 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Loreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loreto Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing