We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and peaceful”

Brugge Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brugge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #190 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed in the B&B (bb-bruges) for 2 nights during the Christmas season. The house is next to a fancy hotel, a very short walk from the Markt square where all the action is, and is inconspicuous (we were not sure that we had found the place because there were no signs, but the address, Riddersstraat 9 was right). We stayed in one of the three guest rooms on the top floor - the one that overlooks the backyard. It was roomy, superbly quiet, and very peaceful. We arrived late due to a delayed train, which was no problem for the host (Inne, the daughter of the previous hosts mentioned in other reviews) - we were given a door code and let ourselves in. The bed was very comfortable and the room, warm and cozy. The furnishings and decor were simple; we only wished the wood floors were not covered by carpet and the selection of posters on the wall more coherent. The spacious bathroom had a shower cabin and a small fridge. Breakfast in the morning was tasty, abundant, and with a huge variety (one could find something to eat, whatever her diet preference - there was even gluten-free cereal). The host was friendly, helpful, and kind. We would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2011. It is a dedicated B&B run by a couple who live on the lower floor. Our room had an ensuite, king bed and was very comfortable. The B&B is in a very central but quiet location just a short walk to the main square. The breakfast was the best breakfast I have had in a B&B, pastries, cereal, yoghurt, meat cheese, bread, fresh fruit, such as figs and melons and lovely jam.
There were lots of tourist info and books at our disposal which was helpful. The host recommend a bike trip which we did and enjoyed.
Overall this was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigPostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

I stayed here a few years ago with my cousin and it was just fantastic! We arrived when no one was home so we were to let ourselves in. We somehow managed to drag out HUGE bags up the windy, beautiful staircase and arrived in a room which was just beautiful. We overlooked the street, never heard a sound, and had a big bright clean bathroom. The room was large with very comfortable beds, a table and chairs along with a tv. In the morning we went down to a large dining room table where we met all of the other guests and had a delightful breakfast. They way they set the table is in such a way that if you don't want to talk to the guest next to you you don't have to. If you do want to talk to them you can but they way the table is set you don't feel you have to socialize with strangers. The breakfast was excellent starting with the hot chocolate which tasted like melted heaven. Everyone is served from their own silver coffee/tea/chocolate service set which adds to the luxury of drinking molten chocolate with bread, cheese, fruit, yoghurt and meats. I was using their computer and were burnt my pictures to a CD, when I got back to Vancouver I realized that the last two months of my University exchange did not burn properly and were gone. I immediately emailed the hotel and asked if my pictures were on their computer, they were there and the owners were nice enough to burn all of my pictures onto CDs for me and mail them to Vancouver. They stay I had at this hotel was so memorable and made my time in Belgium so wonderful I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cortona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We were really impressed when we arrived - the downstairs area is really stylish, and the rooms are spacious with simple good quality furnishings and spotlessly clean. We paid 65 euros a night for a double room and 55 euros a night for a single room (with a double bed) making it amazing value too. The breakfast was great too - fresh bread and pastries from the local bakery with cheese and ham and orange juice. The only downside for me was that I'm used to staying in hotels, so the fact that you are living in someones house, and they are so friendly, was a bit disarming for me, but I'm sure that is exactly what some people are looking for!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue789_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

This B&B is a great find in the centre of Bruges. It offers great value and the owners Paul and Roos made us feel completely at home in this delightful historic building. The rooms (on the 2nd floor) are spacious and up a steep spiral staircase. Breakfast is generous.

I'd recommend this B&B wholeheartedly and would not consider staying anywhere else in Bruges!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

My wife and I truly feel like we struck gold with the discovery of this beautiful B&B in Bruges. We had the pleasure of staying at Riddersstraat #9 in July of 2007, and we would go back in a heartbeat. Besides the fact that Bruges itself is one of the most gorgeous cities we have every visited, the mansion at #9, the home of Paul and Roos Gheeraert-Vandevelde, was more than we could have hoped for.

The three rooms in this B&B are all located on the 3rd floor (2nd floor for Europeans). A warning - the spiral staircase is very narrow, and very steep. If you have a disability I would advise against you staying here. However, staying on the third floor has its advantages. Our room had an amazing view of the quiet residential street below as well as the medeival bell tower in the market square, a quick 5-minute walk away. We had a large room with two twin beds pushed together, a private bathroom, and a small refrigerator (a unique touch that we truly appreciated on market day). Breakfast in the morning was delicious with an assortment of breads, pastries, jams, chocolate spread, fruit, meats, cheeses, yogurts, and cereals. It really was quite filling. The one difference between this B&B and others that we have stayed in is that the hosts, Paul and Roos, tend to be more in the background. They are there if you need them, and have many resources such as maps and guidebooks available, but they are not ones to sit and chat. We found them to be very pleasant and I'm sure they would have given us whatever we needed, had we asked. Another benefit of this B&B that we have not always encountered is the presence of a guest computer with internet access on the ground floor. This computer is available at all times, and it was great to be able to check e-mail for free.

In conclusion, it was the small touches that we really enjoyed in this B&B. They even called a cab for us on the day that we left, as it was raining buckets outside. We were charged 65 Euros/night, and we probably would have paid close to $200/night for the same service in the states. We would surely stay there again and again, and we would suggest this B&B to anyone who was going to Bruges.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wrldtrvlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank crd750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,607 reviews
2.8 mi away
Green Park Hotel Brugge
Green Park Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
10.5 mi away
Woodside Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brugge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brugge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Riddersstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing