We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walwyck Hotel Brugge
Ranked #81 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Modern decoration. Very friendly staff. In a really nice quiet street next to a small canal, very close to the center. Cute breakfast room with small but satisfying breakfast. Rooms very small, modern decorated. Our friends' room (superior in an next by building) had a great brand new bathroom, ours was old with mold in some tiles. There was no elevator and the ladder had really steep steps. The mosqitos were having a party!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoni286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    109
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
54
105
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend in September and really enjoyed ourselves - the hotel was spotless and was perfectly located (about 5 minutes away from the main Markt square in Bruges). We got a double room overlooking a very quiet street - it was originally a twin room but when we asked the manager they remade the bed as a double immediately. The continental breakfast was delicious - particularly the authentic Belgian hot chocolate which was a really nice surprise! Overall for the cost it was definitely worth it - great value, great location, friendly people - would definitely recommend as a base to explore Bruges!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Staff were very friendly. Room was perfect for a family of four (small, but served its purpose). Breakfast was good although the egg cooker seemed to struggle to keep up with demand. Location was perfect for us. Not in the middle of everything, but not far from the center of town and a short walk to the train station. Stairs to the rooms were a bit steep. When we make it back, we will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usfourexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We went camping around France and wanted a nice hotel to stay in before catching the ferry back to GB. We also really enjoyed Bruges last time we went on an overnighter a few years ago. We had the full family with us - 2 adults, 3 kids, so needed abig family room so we were all together, They sorted us out with adjoining rooms, with a door between our room (2 adults and the youngest child on a separate bed) and a second room for my sons with bunk beds. Both rooms had en suite showers (bath and shower for the adults), with LCD TV's, wi-fi, biscuits and tea / coffee. Breakfast was continental, with a wide range of choice, and fruit juice, coffee or tea.

The whole hotel was modern and clean, with am excellent restaurant area as well. Perhaps the biggest selling point were the excellent, friendly and knowledgeable staff, who took time out for every tourist query and even made suggestions for places and other towns to visit.

Location wise, the hotel was a 5/10 minute walk from the centre, and 10/15 minutes away from the car park where we left the car.

Our room was a bit noisy, looking out on a bridge which seemed to be used quite late on. Can't really complain though. Great hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeeffect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Little, friendly, clean hotel in the historic centre of Brugge (five minute walk). Simple but ingenious furnishing, very friendly staff. Breakfast from 8, but upon request, also earlier.

Steep trairs, slope ceiling (I regularly hit my head into the ceiling, when entering the bathroom)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdPezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed in hotel for a night, motto to travel the Bruges in single day. The location of the hotel is absolutely great, close to canal give an good vibe. The staff is very friendly and helped in things around.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brijeshkumar_sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here with my sisters for our respective 30th and 40th Birthdays. The staff had been made aware it was a special occasion and a bottle of bubbly was chilled and waiting our arrival; their gift to us. This set the tone and nothing really disappointed all weekend. We were in a very large triple room. There are two parts to the hotel accommodation and we were in the rooms over the living accommodation of the owners. This does mean you need to go outside before coming back in for reception/breakfast, but it’s not an issue. The decor was clean and modern throughout and we were really surprised by the size of the room, which had three separate windows. NB. The rooms in this part are opposite a church and there is a LOT of bell-ringing; we thought it might bother us but it was actually quite enjoyable and we got to see a local wedding too. The hotel is about 3-5 mins from the main market square so very convenient but far enough away too to be able to escape and enjoy some peace and quiet away from the hordes of tourists. The dining room is really lovely and we were very happy to linger there over long breakfasts; lots of choice and lovely fresh food.

Apart from the setting and the smart accommodation, the other great thing about the hotel is the warm welcome from the staff. We found that nothing was too much trouble; restaurant recommendations were provided, umbrellas issued to deal with the downpours, looked after our luggage, called taxis for us, etc. etc ....!

I can't think of anything to criticise them for. Our room did not have a shower, only a bath and shower head over. I was happy enough with that but might be a negative point for some. In short, when I return to Bruges (as I very much hope I will) I won't bother to look for accommodation options - I'll be straight back here. I've already recommended to others to do likewise.

Room Tip: Ask whether you'll be in the main part of the hotel or over the owners' accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReferenceMaterial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walwyck Hotel Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walwyck Hotel Brugge

Property: Walwyck Hotel Brugge
Address: Leeuwstraat 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Hotel Class:3 star — Walwyck Hotel Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Walwyck Hotel Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walwyck Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing