We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walwyck Hotel Brugge
Ranked #81 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked on line. So disappointed. Dirty hotel. No elevator and almost vertical staircase to room. Drapes had holes. Cobwebs under table. Sink & shower dirty. Toilet seat falling off. We checked in then immediately checked out and found a super hotel just around the corner.

Room Tip: do not book this hotel at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    109
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
54
105
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this cute and cozy hotel. Its the perfect stay for a couple of days of sight seeing in Bruges.
Since the hotel is in a great location of town, only a few minutes walk to the city center, the parking is rather difficult. The spaces in front of the hotel are always full and the parking in the side streets are restricted and only for residents.
We parked our car at the Biekorf garage which has a fair 24 hour rate and is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
The check in at the hotel is very friendly and smooth. We were immediately recognized by the multi-lingual staff as returning guests. All in all we had a very warm welcome.

Last time we visited this hotel, we had a standard room in the main house. The room was very small, so we opted for a superior room this time as there wasn't a big price difference.
The superior room was in a different building and slightly bigger than the standard one. The rooms in general are very nice, modern and clean but at the same time, very basic. There are barely any amenities. No blow dryer in the room (you can ask for one at the reception) and no minibar. A bottle of water in the room would be nice. There is a little flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, and the beds are very comfortable.
Only real down turn in the room is the bath/shower. All the rooms I've seen have a bathtub including a shower head but its not usable to take a proper shower while standing. You are either forced to take a full bath or shower yourself while sitting in the tub.

The room rates include breakfast which is not huge but offers everything you need. The small buffet has eggs, cereals, assorted rolls and buns, some fruits and yoghurts. Along with coffee and tea.
Although we're missing a few things in this hotel, we would come back again. We feel appreciated as returning guests and we enjoy the family atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairytella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Hotel was clean and tidy, room was adequate with lovely towels and bedding, breakfast was continental style, breads, fruit, cheeses, ham, etc and very nice but room tended to be crowded at peak times. Had room 10 at the front of the hotel, no air con with the windows open led to an uncomfortable night as the traffic passing the building, both on foot and motorised was loud. Luckily road was not too busy but nonetheless disturbing.
Staff were helpful and pleasant, hotel was in a great location and we managed to park right outside for free which was a bonus.

Room Tip: If staying in the summer ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We visited the Walwyck Hotel mid July 2013 for a two night stay on a very hot weekend. We'd chosen it for it's quiet location and easy access to central Bruges which for the latter it was perfect.

We were met at reception by friendly helpful staff who took our bags as we were a little early and directed us to the nearby parking.

Once booked in, the room itself was small but adequate but did feel a little lacking considering the price we paid in comparison to other places we'd stayed that week.

This theme sort of continued throughout the stay, whereby everything seemed to be about giving an appearance of some sort of peaceful spa-like retreat whilst lacking anything to really back it up.

Breakfast was a massive let down, it was a continental style affair as expected but was far from lavish. Guests had to queue, plate in hand, and huddle around a long table on which everything was crammed.
This including the incredibly dangerous "boil yourself an egg' device. A small boiling tank of water in which were hanging little egg holders. Not exactly service but that is not the half of it. This tank was perched right at the very edge of the table with two of the four standing legs barely on the table proper due to space constraints, hanging from which was the power cable. Dangerous enough for adults but children too were wandering about and this for me is a catastrophic accident waiting to happen.

The other negative was the lack of air conditioning which during the humid period we were there left us with no option but to sleep with windows open to the street 10 feet below. A security risk for starters but also despite the street being generally quiet, with cars passing regularly on cobbled roads and late night revellers passing left no option but to use earplugs for the duration.

It's a nice enough looking place and in a decent location, but needs more money spending on looking after guest comfort and service than on trying to look the part.

3 out of 5 is probably a little high, knock a half off and you are not far off..

Room Tip: Not sure if there is an option but ask for something away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at The Walwyck Hotel for 3 nites in June. The staff and location were excellent but the room it self was VERY disappointing. We had a family room with 1 double bed and 2 singles. The room itself was very small and the only ventilation was a sliding glass door that opened to a balcony that could be accessed from the outside (when we came back to the room after it had been cleaned the door was wide open so anyone could have cleaned out our room). The bathroom was very small and did not have a fan of any kind so the bathroom was very moldy. There was also mold on the ceiling in the bedroom. Everyone's allergies were a problem. Also the room was very stuffy. Friends of ours had stayed there previously and had recommended The Walwyck so I know not of of their rooms are so sub par. Definitely stay away from room 9.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cortez1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We decided last minute to take a trip to Brugge. The walwyck was the perfect choice. The hotel was close to everything, staff very helpful and friendly. The room was in the attic with plenty of personality and room, With barn doors to the bunk room giving adults privacy. The breakfast was nice with fresh fruit, eggs, breads meats and cheese, cereal and yogurt. The best part was the hot chocolate. Brought to the table was a warm cup of milk and a solid lolly of chocolate which melted into divine cocoa.

Room Tip: we stayed in the family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Needed a few days away so came up with the idea of revisiting Brugges with the family. Dover to Calais ferry and then an easy sat-nav guided drive to the hotel. The welcome was warm but the rooms weren't (until I turned the radiator on). The rooms were simple to put it mildly and the view of the street rather than the canal was pretty uninspiring for €200 per night. We did however get an adjoining room with a bunk bed for the kids so plenty of room for everyone. We set off to explore in the rain - spirits were low and my reputation for booking dodgy holidays was going to be reaffirmed. Was this really the place where I had such a good time in my early years? The turning point was the Habit restaurant. Great beer and food brightened the mood and we retired to the small bar back at the hotel for a game of cards.
Next day better weather and Brugges has come alive. A horse-drawn carriage trip, diamond museum, canal boat ride, sweet making, chocolate buying, modelrailway and a harp concert - my stock was going up. I reduced our booking to just two nights deciding to go for quality rather than
push my luck.
The hotel is fine, is in a good location near to the main squares and the breakfast is good. I just think it doesn't have enough if the weather is poor which is fine for a honeymooning couple but not for a family with young kids. The owner was kind enough to let us off the last night without holding out for payment. Will do the dolphins tomorrow and spend a night in France.

Room Tip: Check if a canal view room is available! Will make the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank push99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#31 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walwyck Hotel Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walwyck Hotel Brugge

Property: Walwyck Hotel Brugge
Address: Leeuwstraat 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Hotel Class:3 star — Walwyck Hotel Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Walwyck Hotel Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walwyck Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing