We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and relaxed stay”
Review of Hotel 't Zand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 't Zand
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pleasant and relaxed stay”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in this small and relaxed for 2 nights in November 2011. The location was excellent - close enough to walk to the train station and also a quick walk to the historical centre of Bruges. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and everything except the desk lamp worked (which we didn't use anyway). Great shower in the bathroom with lots of shelf space to store toiletries. The breakfast was good - there was a reasonable selection of warm and cold food. We stayed on the same floor as the dining room, and the smell of cooking food in our room was quite off-putting, although I'm sure some people wouldn't mind! The staff were friendly, if a little scarce at times and check in was quick and painless.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, which didn't have a view, but was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    62
    35
    12
    2
See reviews for
22
67
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We booked this hotel on last minute.com. We chose it because of the great price plus the excellent reviews. One of the best bits is the location. The main square is a 10 minute walk and you can walk down the main shopping street, but we had fun finding different routes as the shopping street can get quite crowded!
Upon arriving we were greeted by a friendly woman at the reception. Our room wasn't due to be ready but she said it was. Don't be put off by the tiny corridors, the rooms are quite spacious by European standards! We were in one of the rooms at the back of the hotel. I wouldn't of liked one at the front as there was building work in the square, but at the back of the hotel it didn't disturb us one bit. The view from our room was fantastic, we were on the 3rd floor, from our room we could see all 3 of Bruge's well know towers/spires!
The room was basic, a bed with two bedside tables and a dressing table. There was also a wardrobe, but bring your own hangers as their aren't many. The bathroom was lovely. There were some marks and hand prints on the walls but all in all nothing to complain about. We barely ever heard any other guests. Nobody ever disturbed us. The maid came every day and tidied and cleaned everything. We had new towels and little sachets of soap etc every day.
The breakfast was quite nice. There were cereals, pastries, yoghurt, fruit and bread (which you could toast). There was also scrambled egg and bacon which was adequate. You can also have tea,coffee and lovely fresh orange juice. A lady regularly replenished the food when it was getting low.
At night there is no one on reception but you can use your electronic key to get in.
The lady on reception was always helpful when we asked about something. When we left we had to check out at 10am and our train from Brussels wasn't until 7.30pm, the people on reception let us keep our luggage in the hotel in a room next to the reception. I was really pleased with this because we felt that we had an extra day as we weren't lumbered with suitcases.
The hotel made our stay special and we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the square have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Great small hotel...much surprised by it. Last minute booking. Good value, but thought it may be noisy on a main traffic square and with construction...was pleasantly surprised! Great Breakfast. Recently updated, with great bathrooms by European standards....rooms could use a regular painting touch up from dings and luggage marks on walls, otherwise, good location, only downfall is wifi does not work well in rooms, if at all.

Room Tip: only 19 rooms, ask for on on backside, away form square...mine had a pretty view of the Bell Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prairieguyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Most impressed with the hotel, situated on T'Zand Square and close to all amenities. The square houses the market on Wednesdays, is traffic-free on Saturdays & Sundays (at least it was when we stayed there) and has the most marvellous fountain in the middle. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has been modernised to a high standard. Rooms are compact but have all the essentials - we had a lovely view over the market square but some rooms at the back would not be so lucky, so make sure you ask for a room at the front of the hotel. The staff are helpful, friendly and efficient and we were made to feel most welcome. Breakfast in the modern spacious dining room consisted of everything we could want, including egg, bacon, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts. cheese, cold meats, all types of bread and preserves plus tea, coffee and fruit juice. A very nice hotel and good value for money. We ate in the restaurant of the hotel and were again impressed by the quality of food and efficiency & friendliness of the staff. All in all, a most enjoyable break in the lovely city of Bruges and we would recommend the hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a lovely view over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjobanjo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Booked this hotel blind and were very happy with our choice. Clean, good buffet breakfast, central and close to Bus Station. Staff very courteous and helpful. Would use again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Spent one night here with partner and relatives on a Eurostar deal. I don't know the price of this hotel but our deal was very cheap. It is family run and the owner seems to really care whether the guests are comfortable. The rooms are clean, smart, modern and of good size for a small hotel in Bruge. Location is great, very central and close to rail station. The rooms were quiet apart from clanging church bells on Sunday am but they added to the atmosphere. Breakfast was good and replenished right up til 10am. There is a bar and cafe downstairs which we didn't try.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Not knowing anything about Bruges, chose this hotel as on the map it looked sort of "in the middle" between city center and the train station. However, distances are very small in the city, so it turned out to be on the border of the historic center (and therefore away of the tourist hype) but quite walkable to it.
The hotel is small, but in front of a large square, next to bus stops, the new city theatre, and is part of a restaurant. Even though, there is a separate entrance to the hotel and mini-lobby, so you never get disturbed by the restaurant. Rooms facing the city center have nice view, almost like a postcard.
The room had an adequate size for Bruges, together with spacious shower area. However, my companion told me that hers was quite cramped. Facilities are a bit over used but still in good shape. Breakfast was continental, very good, even with home made jam.
Staff was helpful and corteous, provided us with maps and could answer many questions.
Overall, it is quite recommendable hotel. Only thing that was too slow was the wifi, but I guess it can be easily

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the city center
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosochoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#72 of 97 in Bruges
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portinari Hotel
Portinari Hotel
#47 of 97 in Bruges
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Brugge
Park Hotel Brugge
#86 of 97 in Bruges
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Zand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Zand

Property: Hotel 't Zand
Address: 't Zand 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 't Zand 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 't Zand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Zand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing