We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 't Zand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 't Zand
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The tzand is a good base for a short break. It is located just 10 - 15 minute walk to the city centre. Only pity being that the whole square was being used for a giant funfair, great if you like that sort of thing but not what you expect to see in a medieval city break (this fair is apparently a regular event which lasts for 5 weeks during April/may. Place itself is clean and tidy, with nice breakfast room. Bedrooms clean and comfortable - walls paper thin though, so hope you get on with neighbours. Overall however I would stop here again, this hotel does not pretend to be anything other than what it portrays - does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    61
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
65
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Small non-pretentious hotel, very convenient for all sightseeing and the train station which is a 10-15 minute walk away. Lovely helpful receptionist. Very clean bedroom and bathroom. Help yourself breakfast from 7.30 am which is simple but perfectly adequate. Efficient lift to all floors. Useful cafe on ground floor and pavement area. Really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook the town. Front rooms overlook a large square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

It took me all of 15 minutes to walk to the 'T Zand from Bruges' main train station. Although it sits in a row of restaurants on a large public square, it was fairly quiet. The hotel map showed me that the very center of the city was also just a 15-minute walk. How convenient. I give this hotel an "A" for location.

My guest room was bright, clean, comfortable, and surprisingly larger than typical European hotels. The facilities were adequate and the huge bathtub/shower was a plus. I liked this hotel because there were only 19 rooms so the breakfast room was never crowded. There was also a full serve restaurant on the ground floor which closes fairly early so the noise was not an issue at all. The front desk, however, didn't seem to be staffed all the time. You have to ring the bell to get someone to come out from the restaurant side. It didn't bother me because the only time I really needed service was to check in and out and staff was readily available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REA-WashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Rooms are really small, but the bathroom was spacious not usual in small towns like this one. Several things in the room did't and since there wasn't any assistance impossible to fix. Not big deal but annoying. As service expect only a welcome and that's all.
Breakfast was good and included, an interesting feature if you think that in most hotels you have to spend 15 euros pe person for a spartan meal.
Distance is really short from the railway station, you can walk it carrying a wheeled suitcase something impossible if you enter the cobbled stone streets of the old town. Again a good saving.
The hotel is located in a place with at least 10 restaurants at reasonable prices in a town where any meal is expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back with a view of the historic buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Clean room and friendly staff. The room was a little warm so we had to sleep with the window open, couldn't get the aircon to work but we didn't ask reception as it wasn't a major issue but if it had of been mid summer it might have been. Good breakfast with a selection of fruit, pastries, bacon, eggs, ham, cheese and lovely breads, also lots of tea and coffee. We would have liked some tea and coffee in our room. A good base to see the lovely city of Brugge but don't expect 5*. Would book again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyb592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

we have stayed at this hotel twice and each time thoroughly enjoyed our stay , it isn't posh or luxurious but the hotel isn't in that price bracket so you shouldn't expect it! it's warm,cosy,very clean , friendly helpful staff , we found breakfast lovely and you could eat as much or little as you wanted depending on if you prefer yoghurt / fruit or something hot.
Very good location , easy 5 minute walk from all the major sight seeing spots and wouldn't hesitate in booking again or recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

With all the Excellent and Very good ratings, perhaps I my expectations were unfairly high. We were also all very excited about the Christmas market in beautiful Bruges as well. But while I couldn't describe the accommodation as terrible or poor, 'average' seems a bit generous. Here's why. On the plus side, it's an excellent location for the price, which I know will figure into most people's high rating. We didn't eat in the Restaurant downstairs, but it looked warm and inviting. We arrived around 5:30/6, and as been pointed out before, there's no one to greet you, but after a couple of loud rings of the schoolmarm's bell, help was on hand. A very rushed man came, gave us a friendly, yet rushed introduction to the facilities, directed us to the lift and was off less than 3 minutes later. The rooms are impeccably clean and bright, but Spartan. I'd say on par with a Travel Lodge, slightly less than a Premiere Inn. While they are modern in design, they are a bit tired: cracks and holes in the bathtub tiles, chipped and marked walls and door frames, a hanging switch plate, natty wire hangers in the closet - don't get me wrong! I'm not a picky person, but scoring a very good or excellent means a bit more attention to detail. And all of these things could be rectified in a 2 or 3 hours. The beds were comfortable and extra pillows and queen size duvet (the beds, advertised as a queen was actually 2 singles pushed together) were in the closet. Other have raved about the breakfast, but the guest plain breakfast room (on the first floor, not in the cosy main restaurant) held a large warming vat of scrambled eggs and bacon, melon and cold meats and cheese (as I'd expect in any European hotel) which doesn't make me go 'wow.' No one was there to greet you but kitchen help attentively replenished supplies. However the croissants and rolls were fresh and lovely (but not warm). It's like everything ran right up to the mark of average, but never surpassed and some times fell short. Which really surprised me because I had expected more. It was OK, but there was nothing to coax me back again, especially for a nice get-away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#75 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portinari Hotel
Portinari Hotel
#50 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salvators
Hotel Salvators
#58 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#88 of 97 in Bruges
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Zand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Zand

Property: Hotel 't Zand
Address: 't Zand 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 't Zand 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 't Zand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Zand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing