We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel 't Zand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 't Zand
Ranked #76 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Quite a good hotel will all necessary services. We stayed in a cathedral suite, the room was quite big and bright. For sure, it is not a 5 star hotel, it is an average 4 star accommodation so you can not find any luxurious furniture, room service, delicious food or something esle. Nevertheless, this hotel offers everything necessary for a good and comfortable stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Leonid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

My first impression of this place was that it has seen better days, and not too long ago. The rooms are fine and in a great location. Halfway between the main square and the train station.

The room was clean and a reasonable size, the bathroom was nice, free wifi, they stored our bags for the day after check out free of charge and the aircon was good. However a couple of power points were coming away at the wall which meant that there was only one that we could use for charging phones and my mattress had seen better days.

This place is budget but not awful. If you just want somewhere clean and secure to sleep then it's great but maybe not a place that will impress!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueberryruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As 3* it had no help with luggage - only parking way off in underground area -- small lift -- open window brought in smashing of bottles below, plates being slammed together, yells at dumpster hunters after midnight
The breakfast was quite Ok
Most disappointing place of my whole trip
Never go down to 3 star
Restaurant was Great [ good lamb / good soup / even tour group was in]

Room Tip: not many to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

At just 10-15 minutes walk through a park from the train station, this hotel is conveniently placed. There is a bus stop and an underground car park just opposite (No. 12 from the station if you don't want to walk). It has a bar and restaurant downstairs and, although it sits in a row of cafes and restaurants, it's surprisingly quiet and an easy walk from the centre, Markt square etc.
Nice room, modern bathroom and good Wi-Fi. Fairly basic but adequate breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseyboy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The tzand is a good base for a short break. It is located just 10 - 15 minute walk to the city centre. Only pity being that the whole square was being used for a giant funfair, great if you like that sort of thing but not what you expect to see in a medieval city break (this fair is apparently a regular event which lasts for 5 weeks during April/may. Place itself is clean and tidy, with nice breakfast room. Bedrooms clean and comfortable - walls paper thin though, so hope you get on with neighbours. Overall however I would stop here again, this hotel does not pretend to be anything other than what it portrays - does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Small non-pretentious hotel, very convenient for all sightseeing and the train station which is a 10-15 minute walk away. Lovely helpful receptionist. Very clean bedroom and bathroom. Help yourself breakfast from 7.30 am which is simple but perfectly adequate. Efficient lift to all floors. Useful cafe on ground floor and pavement area. Really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook the town. Front rooms overlook a large square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

It took me all of 15 minutes to walk to the 'T Zand from Bruges' main train station. Although it sits in a row of restaurants on a large public square, it was fairly quiet. The hotel map showed me that the very center of the city was also just a 15-minute walk. How convenient. I give this hotel an "A" for location.

My guest room was bright, clean, comfortable, and surprisingly larger than typical European hotels. The facilities were adequate and the huge bathtub/shower was a plus. I liked this hotel because there were only 19 rooms so the breakfast room was never crowded. There was also a full serve restaurant on the ground floor which closes fairly early so the noise was not an issue at all. The front desk, however, didn't seem to be staffed all the time. You have to ring the bell to get someone to come out from the restaurant side. It didn't bother me because the only time I really needed service was to check in and out and staff was readily available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REA-WashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#16 of 97 in Bruges
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Passage
Hotel Passage
#87 of 97 in Bruges
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,477 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Barge Hotel
De Barge Hotel
#54 of 97 in Bruges
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Zand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Zand

Address: 't Zand 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £90 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 't Zand 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 't Zand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Zand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing