We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect evening”
Review of Park Restaurant

Park Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 718 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$52 - US$87
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A classy and relaxed restaurant in a classic 19th-century house, facing the beautiful Koningin Astrid Park. Old fashioned Belgian cuisine - light jazzy background music.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We visited the Park restaurant again this year, for our 30th wedding anniversary. After visiting last year we knew this was where we wanted to celebrate our milestone!

Axel and his team are very professional and extremely friendly. The restaurant has a very relaxing atmosphere. We believe Axel's brother is the chef and should be complimented for the delicious food served. The amuse bouche was lovely. We decided to have the a la carte menu. My husband said his scallops in white wine were excellent - he loved the sauce. My brown shrimp fritters were lovely. The lamb dish was beautiful and cooked medium as we had ordered. The crepe suzettes were delicious. Coffee and chocolate were lovely. Just perfect in every way and beautifully presented.

The champagne and wines in the wine package were lovely and excellent value. We really enjoyed them.

The rooms in the restaurant are beautiful. We stayed in one of the guest rooms and at breakfast were able to appreciate just how lovely they are. You don't always realise this in a restaurant when the lighting is dimmed. Axel's mum is lovely too and it was interesting to learn a little about the building.

We were sad to leave but left with fond memories. Thank you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear BlueTwo 47

Thank you very much for visit, your fine comments and your loyalty !

My brother is the Chef indeed, whilst our Mother is in charge of our small B&B on the first floor of this 1849 mansion.

We all join in congratulating you and your charming wife , for your 30th wedding anniversary .

All the best from Bruges

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,696
    349
    85
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"A Special Evening"”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a lovely evening at the Park restaurant in Bruges it was our twentieth wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was relaxed yet very elegant. The food and wine was delicious and the staff were attentive without being overbearing. We had the all inclusive package with wine @ 75 Euros each. It was great value for money and we will definitely return when we visit Bruges again. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank F4mi1y-of-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect and Relaxed”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a lovely meal at the Park on our first night in Bruges (1st Aug 14).
It was a warm night and we had a drink and our appetisers outside in the garden before venturing inside for dinner, which I think is a must, although didn’t seem to be to be the norm it added to the experience.
The atmosphere in the Park was perfect and very relaxed and friendly despite the elegant and very sophisticated setting. The staff were superb and set the tone perfectly. The food was absolutely exquisite; as it was a Friday we had the €40 set menu but decided to pay the extra for the lobster starter, which was amazing and well worth the extra €. With wine and our supplementary choices and tip our bill was €150, which was well worth it. I would definitely go again and have already recommended to friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma8303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
1 review
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I proposed to my girlfriend during dinner. The restaurant provided the perfect athmosphere for that special evening

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Super Amazing!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Best restaurant in Brugge. Food, ambiance, wine list, bubbly, service were excellent! axel the manager is wonderfully friendly. It is a family affair! Will go back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Park Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing