We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meals I ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Petite Aneth

Petite Aneth
Ranked #172 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meals I ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I was there for a big business meeting. Therefore I could suppose the staff made us a special menu. But either way it was the best food I ever had. We have been served various meals:
- Salade de tourteau de l'Atlantique
- Dorade royale, crevettes grises, truffe d'automne, salsifis au "brun"
- Fletan au four, queue de boeuf, pop-corn, ciboulette
- Poire poché, grand cru 77% Costa Rica, atsina, flocons d'avoine, liqueur Poire Williams
I took a picture of it that's how I remember.
The food was delicate, very artistic, modern and of course delicious. There was always just the amount you need. Every slice was a spectacular surprise. Every drop of the different sauces carefully put around the course is just magic. A wonderful experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spirallism2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    37
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was one of the best meals I have had. Very unique. Excellent presentation. The staff is very accommodating and informative. A little expensive, but worth it if you are willing to splurge.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jsauder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sublime and Intimate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Just arriving at Aneth feels special, the restaurant is situated in a residential area, with a commanding position over a lovely park and a canal. There is only a small number of tables, spread across two rooms, giving a feeling of intimacy. The decoration is contemporary, yet within keeping of the historic house.
The food is why you visit though, Paul Hendrickx and his small team really deliver. In keeping with the 'young restaurateurs' theme, the front of house team are relatively young, with a fresh and knowledgeable attitude.
Before even receiving a menu the first round of amuse bouche arrived at the table, including a sublime 'truffle' of fois gras dipped in a thin coating of white chocolate. We knew from this point on the experience would be special.
We opted for the 6 course set menu, yet counted over 22 different dishes over the unhurried evening. The carpaccio of tomato, with razor clam, and quinoa salad surprised and delivered a great balance of both flavour and texture. Many of the dishes were a twist on a classic. The turbot came with a single 'chip' and three different types of pickled cauliflower. The pigeon breast was cooked perfectly rare in the centre and delivered a wonderful 'earthy, woodland' flavour and feel. The deserts took the experience up yet another level, especially as coffee came with a cornucopia of sweet amuse bouche.
We were very glad of the walk back home.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NickandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We enjoyed a very interesting evening, unhurried, informed - though some things were a bit lost in translation - stunning presentation and really good service.

Though we chose the four course menu we had many more dishes starting with three amuses bouches! Paul Hendrickx is hugely creative and technically sound. Highlights in a strong field included sous vide cooked pork and an inspired, stylish reworking of a classic peach Melba.

It isn't cheap but we thought it good value for such a high standard of food in an exceptionally comfortable setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Olive oil made from grapes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I would recommend this restaurant.
The food is good, the athmosphere is very nice.
The waiters are a bit young (i.e. we are getting old). The waitress told us the olive oil was made from grapes, a delightful experience ;-)
For me, the wines were not the best choice. They could certainly improve on that point.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdwannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petite Aneth also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Petite Aneth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing