We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner Good Value for Money Warm Welcome”
Review of Petite Aneth

Petite Aneth
Ranked #137 of 723 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner Good Value for Money Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We went to this restaurant by chance having had an unfortunate experience at a restaurant near by. It turned out to be very lucky this is an excellent restaurant with a good traditional menu and very helpful staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolute must”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were celebrating our parent's ruby wedding anniversary whilst in Brugge and everything about the dining experience at Aneth was simply wonderful. The service was very personal, friendly and so welcoming from the minute we stepped in to the restaurant. I would not be able to choose a favourite course as they were all exquisite in taste and presentation. Kaz, the sommelier, was very knowledgable about the wines and Paul, the owner and chef, took time to chat with us about the food we were eating. Their English was very good and the information about the food and wines just added to the experience. This was definitely an unforgettable evening and an absolute must for anyone after some fine dining in Bruges. Don't be put off the fact the restaurant is not right in the centre. We walked there in 10 mins from our central hotel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoragG1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tienen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just like Bo Derek in the film 10”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

That is for once the quote, which I would give to this restaurant.
It is indeed my years' favorite and I dont expect to find better in the lasting month.
Of course, I do'nt keep looking at the top restaurants of the Michelin or Gault Miliau, charging close to 150 € per person.
Here, the quality, presentation and originality of the "mets" is exceptional and the various "entre-mets" are a pleasure to one's "palait".
If you happen to be in Bruges, leave the centre and find this small (25 seating places, 10 tables) restaurant and enjoy.
Of course, you will be seating in an typical and nice Art-Déco house.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Bruges highlight”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Aneth for lunch. We were greeted by Casimier Dusart who proved to be a great host. Started with a glass of house champagne which was perfect in taste and freshness, right temperature, and two sets of excellent appetizers before the start of our menu.

We chose the Market Menu (3 courses for €45) as we were not terribly hungry, but proved to be very satisfying. Excellent first course of semi-cooked salmon with white and brown tripe sauces, and second of plaice with a bisque sauce to die for. The dessert was pear with chocolate and small crumbles with sauce that gave an amazing taste. Proper coffee was accompanied with delicious handmade fudge bon-bons, cookies presented in an inventive way. We left the restaurant smiling! I can not comprehend how Michelin took their star away. The labour needed to create these dishes and the quality of ingredients and service was at the level of two stars.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Powders, foams and a surprising rip off on bottled water”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Setting: lovely
Food: some amazing dishes but all quite salty and lots of powders and foams at every turn.
Cost: prices for their intricate degustation menus are not cheap, and you are aware when you pick which menu to go for what the cost will be. However I really obect to being charged a surprising £20 plus per bottle of Vichy Catalan mineral water which is under £2 at any Spanish supermarket. Frankly a p*ss-take.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petite Aneth also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Petite Aneth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing