We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food in Brugge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Breydel De Coninc

Breydel De Coninc
Ranked #79 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best food in Brugge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The best meal we had in Brugge. Simple but excellent. Terrific oysters and grilled lobster in butter and garlic. Very good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    266
    80
    53
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Loved this restaurant on our recent trip to Bruges, the food was excellent, one of the dished we tried was their local fish stew, which I really recommend! Service was really good as well! I would definately go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good seafood. Appetizers very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just off main square. Not cheap but very good seafood. Had the moules anf frites which were a large portion and good with a few different choices for preparation (garlic, spicy, etc.) but thought the appetizers were very interesting and tasty. Didn't get dessert and glad we didn't because the vw van outside the restaurant had amazing waffles with ice cream and dark chocolate suace.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ActiveFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood recommended by a local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Place was suggested by a local who goes here for moules (mussels), and although I had fish, my 2 friends ordered moules frites and were not disappointed. Their only complaint would be there were WAY too many! We lost count after 120 moules in the pot brought to the table. If you plan on eating here, bring your appetite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good for fresh mussels, a bit pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

The restaurant serves mostly mussels which are fresh and served several ways. The frites are also fresh. The mixed salad is plain with plain dressing, not recommended, and only bottled water available. We tried the Jupiter beer on tap which was not as good as the local beer that we had tried at lunch. We shared one order of mussels in wine & cream which was quite adequate for two. The restaurant was full and we waited 1/2 hour just to place our order in spite of having a reservation. We enjoyed the meal, but the overall was just average. We are still looking for the best mussels in Brugge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breydel De Coninc also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Breydel De Coninc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing