We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try Somewhere Else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Breydel De Coninc

Breydel De Coninc
Ranked #80 of 706 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Try Somewhere Else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We ate lunch here on the recommendation of our hotel. We were looking to have some mussels. While the mussels were okay, they were over 24 Euros. Also, while we know all restaurants in Brugge, charge for water, their prices were over the top for water as well. We live in Paris so we are used to high prices, but I felt that they were totally taking advantage of the tourists they appeal to. We are used to excellent mussels in Paris for 15 - 18 Euros...these were definitely not worth the money. On previous visits to Brugge we had simply dined at one of the many restaurants offering excellent mussels in the market or square and would highly recommend you do that. This is a very stuffy, formal, overpriced restaurant for what you get and I think you might enjoy the food, prices, ambience and overall feel of Brugge at a different restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAH_Chicago_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    266
    80
    53
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lobster was delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I noticed the fresh lobster's while walking by during the day and decided that is where we would have dinner, we love seafood and were not disappointed one bit. It was the perfect dinner for my bday and we plan on going back if ever in Brugge again! Also, it was the best and friendliest service we received while visiting the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, N.Y.
Level Contributor
296 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had a great meal here, and enjoyed their specialty, seafood, very much. I especially recommend the house fish soup. This being said, it seemed the wait staff were in a hurry, and rather indifferent to the customer's wants/needs; they delivered rather perfunctory service. Yet it is worth mention that they accommodated us for an early dinner, despite the fact that we had no reservation, and they had quite a decent crowd already. At the prices they get for their menu items, I would like to be treated a little better, though, but both the prices and the jaded staff are likely products of and explained by the proximity of the restaurant to the Markt. Note: Closed Wednesdays. Qualified recommendation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gtennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must for the seafood lover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was recommended in the guide books and I really wanted seafood, well lobster really. Had checked out the menu on line so knew it wasn't cheap but was pleasantly surprised to find they did a set menu: smoked salmon and trout mousse, lobster with salad and frites, and dessert (I had creme brûlée) for 40 euros - bargain - was beautiful and the service was great. Wine wasn't unreasonable either. Highly recommend this restaurant for any real seafood lover.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We ate here on the recommendation of the hotel receptionist. She explained it is not a fancy place but a sea food restaurant that the locals use. We were not disappointed. The menu is simple and the wine list limited but having said that we found plenty to satisfy both our appetites and our thirst. The service was excellent and the ambiance pleasant. The couple at the next table were local and said their meals were, as always, excellent as did the tourists at the table beyond them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whilboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breydel De Coninc also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Breydel De Coninc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing