We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Bruges!”
Review of Breydel De Coninc

Breydel De Coninc
Ranked #67 of 721 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Wooler
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal in Bruges!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A first class meal and lovely attentive service. everything about this place is lovely- the atmosphere, decor, staff, ambiance., as well as delicious food. We had the special menu- Coquilles St Jacques, Lobster and frites, and chocolate mousse. All perfect . The staff were friendly and very interested in us and our stay in Bruges. A really pleasurable evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 357SuzyQ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    283
    88
    58
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Called in for Lunch, shocked at prices and how close all the tables were packed in, restaurant not that busy, yet we both orded mussels, mine were overcooked and wifes were perfect, service poor staff were going through the motions so to speak and need to other tables/our etc to move chairs so they could learn over to serve another table etc, wouldn't go back, purely on how close the tables were

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shawchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“will always return.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have made this our restaurant of choice for 5 off the last 6 visits to Bruges - missed one year because it was a Wednesday any they are closed. The food is truly great and the service very friendly. The Mussels are to die for. Moderately priced. A must visit on your tour of this beautiful city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlew76205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, but expensive and strange service!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We came here on the last night of our stay in Bruges and they were very busy but we had booked a table luckily. We were seated in between 2 other couples VERY CLOSE so you feel like you are eating on top of each other a bit. We were then ignored by the waiter for a long time, but as I said they were busy. We managed to order some wine and my fiancée went for the set menu while I went a la carte. My Coquilles Saint-Jacques was perfection and the oysters also looked very fresh. I then went for mussels, of course, which was huge! Would have been nice to have some bread with though. Lobster and garlic butter was also beautiful and go for the Crème brûlée for afters. The seafood is fresh and brilliantly cooked at this place, but it was full of tourists, not locals so I think the waiter was a bit frazzled. It was also the most expensive place we ate at, but you would expect this for good quality seafood really.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FOOD POISONING! Bad service to top it off!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My fiance and I ate here on Saturday night, only to fall extremely ill with food poisoning around midnight that evening. We have both had seafood related illness before, so we knew it when it hit us. Aside from the food poisoning, the food was average, but very overpriced and the service was below mediocre.

We went back on Sunday to speak to the manager, who escorted us to a private room and refused to take any responsibility. Despite us being polite about the incident, when we should have been quite the opposite, she was condescending and completely unhelpful. She inferred that she knew most her clientele were tourists so "repeat" business meant little to her, as did ours.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aross658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breydel De Coninc also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Breydel De Coninc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing