We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good intimately small restaurant”
Review of Chez Olivier - CLOSED

Chez Olivier
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good intimately small restaurant”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Service was good and accommodating. I never saw a chef who cleans tables after cooking last round and saying hello to guests. The cookies and cakes served with coffee are not plastic wrapped commercial stuff, they were yummy and made in house.

If you have mobility issues, you will have problems getting down extremely steep and narrow stairs to the toilet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Michelin stars in the waiting.”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

We've eaten at a few "quality " restaurants. Whilst I'd love to give this one 5 stars across the board if I did it wouldn't leave room for the truly exceptional.
Anyway there are far more good things to say about chez Olivier than bad. Good: are the environment, ambience and food. Bad: well there aren't any bad things really but if I was to nit pick, we had the suggested wines to go with the set menu. They were divine, but severely lacking in the dessert department (ie none existent). But O am being picky, don't let my parochial opinions put you off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class!”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Chez Olivier is well known in Bruges, nevertheless it was the first time I visited it with some friends.
I must say it was EXTRAORDINARY. From start until end it was just wonderful. Never had such an experience in my life.
The service is great, thanks to Ann, who is just so natural. The food was even greater, thanks to Olivier.
I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FlemishFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful informal dining”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This small restaurant by the canal has a pleasant intimate ambience, excellent service & most importantly, wonderful food. We visited on a Saturday evening in October (when they only serve their menu option at 63 Euros but were informed that alternatives are available if required) and enjoyed cooking of the highest order. There are just 2 people involved - Olivier is the chef and Ann efficiently does everything else - who provide some the finest tastes we have ever experienced. This is really great cooking. We could eat here often!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow, this restaurant is spectacular!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This restaurant is amazing!!! I diner there with my partner and we were both thrilled with the service (thank you Ann ) and also with the quality of food and presentation of same. The restaurant is quite intimate and relaxing with no air of stiffness. I'd be very surprised if this restaurant hasn't received a Michelin Star by this time next year!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Olivier also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing