We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal so far in Bruges” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christophe

Christophe
Ranked #98 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$54
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
258 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Best meal so far in Bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

It is a 10 minute walk from the touristy part of the city which was nice because we got to see some other stuff on the walk.
Everything we ate was very good-excellent, aside from the filet mignon. I would highly recommend the venison, lamb chops and baked cod. Stay away from the filet.
Other reviewers seemed to complain about the service. I thought everyone who waited on us was gracious. It is true it takes a while to get your food, but to me that is an added bonus. I don't like feeing rushed in nice restaurants.
For the four of us with a bottle of wine, the total was about 220 Euros.
I would highly recommend!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    146
    43
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We asked the owner of the B&B we were staying in to book a restaurant. This is where he sent us and we were vey happy. Service could probably do with a bit of work and or food did take a while to arrive, but when it did it was very good. We were also given a free starter (Dont know why, but im not one to complain about free stuff) All in all it was a nice evening that ended up costing €50 per head (Quite a lot of beer and wine was flowing).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rawfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We concluded during our weekend in Bruges that the restaurants must have to pay a special city tax which is used to keep the wonderful city landscape in excellent condition. This makes meals 30-50% more expensive that what you would expect to pay in less touristy places like, say London or Paris.... or they could just be taking the p*ss!

We picked Christophe in spite of some of the reviews, and had an OK but far from ourstanding meal. Chrstophe is a bit off the beaten track - in being about 500 metres from the Mark square (in Bruges, tourist We went on a Friday evening and most of the crowd was local (or at least Dutvch/Flemish speaking). The menu is a mix of Flanders classics and more adventurous bistro food. EWe were welcomed with an amuse bouche of deep fried breadcrumbed carrot sticks. A new one on us, but surprisingly tasty.

The lady orthopod's starter of salmon tartare was a model of its kind, and delicious. My starter, a mix of the ubiquitous cheese and prawn croquettes were tasty; but this is filling, lumpen food. LO's main was nicely cooked chunks of monkfish with tagliatelle and vegetables, to which -bizarrely - beansprouts had been added. Not a good mouthfeel. My saddle of hare was cooked to perfection and came with interesting but messily presented vegetable accompaniments.

The kitchen clearly has ambition, but needs to concentrate on presentation. The would also sell more puds if they didn't have croquettes on the starter menu! The menu probably reflects the fact that they mainly service a local crowd. On our visit, the service was very friendly, if a little slow. The value for money was poor, but then this is Bruges!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank food_enthusiast666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the worst customer experience ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were looking forward to visiting Christophe as recommended by our fantastic hosts Sandra and Jason of the brilliant Townhouse. However, from the moment that the unfriendly, arrogant waitress approached us to take our orders --we started to change our minds. My job as an International Speaker lecturing on Customer Service was about to experience the worse service in over 30 years of travelling the globe. We asked for a jug of tap-water--big no-and were brought a bottle of still water and two glasses put on the table--with no finesse, no water being poured out, no smile! We then ordered the Filet Mignon and asked her to describe it--she answered- a piece of meat on a plate! We should have known better but went ahead with the order as it was now nearly 22.00hrs and we were hungry. An amuse bouche of fried carrots and béarnaise sauce was brought to the table--inedible--sweet and sickly. This was followed by two filet mignons , chips (had asked for cripsy but naturally they were white and soggy!) and béarnaise sauce and salad. The meat was tough and I couldn't eat it so asked the waiter to take it away. He said the chef would cook another one--but I said I was happy just to eat the salad so refused his request. The plate was taken away--then brought back with the filet sliced and told it would not be so tough now!!!Once again and said I did not want it, but he refused to take it away. My husband finished his and we asked for the bill--2x filet mignons. I asked the waitress to take one off the bill as I had not touched it and she refused. I also commented on the chips-held up a soggy, white one and she said it was crispy--unbelievable!! We asked to see the manager who was the chef--naturally he did not come out so we had to walk into the kitchen to speak with him. After demanding that we pay for the uneaten filet and threatening to call the police I asked him to go ahead--at which point he screamed at us to --Get the F--- out of his restaurant. However my husband still honoured his part of the bill. All in all --the worst customer experience we have ever come across. When telling our host the following day he told us that he had received reports of the bad service there in the past--enough said!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lexiegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food in Bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Me and a group of friends had dinner at Christophe on a recent weekend break to Bruges. the food was absolutely delicious. We ordered quite a range of dishes from the menu. I had the Filet Mignon with bearnaise sauce which was delicious and served with frites. Also fantastic was the venison and hare dishes. Starters were cheese filled croquets which were nice, but extremely filling. We also got a complimentary starter of deep friend carrots served with bearnaise sauce, which was better than it may sound! The downsides were some slightly slow and gruff service and outrageously expensive bottled water at 8 Euros a pop (they don't serve tap water). If you can put up with those two issues, this is a great place to eat, slightly off the beaten track in Bruges and it's also open late if you're looking for a late evening meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mogs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christophe also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing