We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice food and scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Brugse Hanze - CLOSED

De Brugse Hanze
Price range: US$3 - US$33
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Liverpool
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“nice food and scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

On our trip to the city we looked around many eating places, finally deciding on this one. We weren't disappointed. We chose here as the inside of the city (as you would expect) had higher prices. We opted for the day's menu. I had Tomato soup followed by the local Brugge Stew. I am always surprised by how other countries prepare and deliver food. The stew was meat slow cooked in a local beer, and served with chips (they do these well in Belgium) with a salad.
it was a very lovely stew well seasoned and tender meat. Just hit the spot.
service was good, staff spoke some English, so not a problem ordering food and drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    11
    7
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
286 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“touristic price an quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

value for money yes but cheap quality flemish stew with more sauce than meat.

However, for a 2 course meal and coffee included it does not break the bank.

Not particulary memorable

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFC_ASR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Oxford
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stopped off at this restaurant for a snack on a wet day so might be seeing it more positively than others. The décor is a bit shabby, and the waiters a little haphazard but the food was good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Nesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We found this restaurant to be modestly priced despite it's location on a prominent square in Bruges. The food was very good and the service excellent. Our waiter was extremely helpful and showed a great sense of humour despite being very busy. I would recommend this restaurant anytime.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware the broken card machine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Nice enough start but croque Monsieur was a very thin cheese and ham sandwich and fish soup reheated with rubbery bits. Bread was delivered when soup nearly finished. As previous reviewer indicated the card machine mysteriously had just broken even though the special threshold of €25 has been exceeded, server was upset when reminded we were not born yesterday.
Enter at your peril.
(He didn't care that tripadvisors would be warned of the tactics and quality).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysinthesun12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Brugse Hanze also viewed

Sint Andries, Bruges
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing