We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't ask for the Angus steak.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock Fort

Rock Fort
Ranked #74 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$109
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't ask for the Angus steak.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I was very much looking forward to this place. Friendly staff and a modern decor which was nice. Everything was good until I received my Angus steak. I asked for it well done and it came rare! I know Angus steak is marbled meat but it was just awful! I spoke with the boss (short bald guy) who was very friendly. I mentioned his meat wasn't up to scratch and he didn't change us for our drinks which came to about €40! Very nice of him to do that but i was so disappointed with this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyRetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    85
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“a bit disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

After reading rave reviews, I booked and ate lunch. Decor spartan (plastic chairs) but service fine. not happy with the unappetizing amuse bouche - flavored popcorn and pork tartare - nor with bread served in a paper bag! The appetizer of foie gras was excellent (more toast please), as was the main course of wild salmon with new peas, accompanied by a very good house wine. Coffee and chocolates delicious, and cityZine appreciated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaquelleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We arrived as the restaurant opened, having heard that it is almost impossible to get a reservation because the place is so popular. We were greeted by both owner/chefs and were treated like royalty. The food was creative and unique and delicious. One of our favorites was a tuna tartare served with a whipped wasabi foam. It is easy to see why there is a clamoring for tables. It was a splurge for us. But worth every Euro!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tpsychnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of my stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We booked this after having three locals tell us this was the place to go and they were right. My girlfriend is vegetarian so we popped in and the said they would "knock something up" for that evening. We arrived back that evening with the staff remembering us from earlier and the place was very busy for a Thursday evening.
Our meal was simply fantastic and my girlfriend was delighted with her Salad starter with Roqeufort Ice Cream, a main of Mushroom and truffle risotto and a white chocolate, sorbet and mixed fruits desert which she said was the best pudding she has ever tasted.
I had a delicious tuna tartare in Hendricks Gin and a main of Pigeon. Both were unforgettable and the G & T I rounded the night off with was incredible!

Go here!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was a busy, unpretentious place, with food that is worthy of a Michelin star. The staff were excellent, discreet, yet friendly informative and very enthusiastic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Fort also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Rock Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing