We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food fine but service poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 't Nieuw Walnutje

't Nieuw Walnutje
Ranked #472 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: US$84 - US$545
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Billinghay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Food fine but service poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Wish I had read the Tripadvisor reviews before visting this restaurant the service is best described as poor although the food when it did come was fine I dont understand the long wait for it when the place had very few customers Dont go here unless you nothing better to do with your time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    107
    63
    44
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Looks good, but?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Situated in a small square, this is an attractive restaurant. Inviting enough for us to go in for a late lunch.

However it was a real struggle to get served. Others, it appeared, had left without paying as getting attention was so difficult

Our drinks arrived poorly presented and we had to pay straight away. That being the case we elected to eat elsewhere.

The staircase to the gents toilets was like climbing the Matterhorn. If your legs are dodgy you have no chance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't waste money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Went for an evening meal, party of six. Food was mediocre at best and far more expensive than surrounding places. We had to continually flag down waiter to complete our order. We finished our meal, finally flagged down waiter and asked to order dessert. He said kitchen was closing in15 minutes...so we couldn't order.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcobyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pricey and Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We paid 60+ Euros for very average Moules-Frites and a beer and a soft drink. The food was OK but the service was pretty poor to be honest.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thepaulyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lazy and memorable for the wrong reasons”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I've signed up for this site purely because our visit to 't Nieuw Walnutje was so irritating, I feel the need to vent.

We'd been for the tour of the Halve Maan brewery (highly recommended by the way) and wandered here after to get some food. Getting the attention of the waiting staff was near impossible and drinks took forever to arrive. When the food turned up, a geological age later, it was perfunctory but hardly good for the price (also the €1 for the pot of mayo just added injury to the insult of the bill).

The waiting staff seemed very badly trained - one kid spent most of his time chatting to a bunch of his mates who were sitting drinking beer. It was so unprofessional, I felt embarrassed for him, and also really annoyed, as, y'know, we would quite have liked to have got the bill so we could leave.

Don't go. The staff were surly at best, rudely indifferent at all other times. The setting was nice enough. But it's Bruges, everywhere is pretty. The food was passable although the price was eye-watering. Such a shame to have a lovely time at the Halve Maan then be dragged down to earth at 't Nieuw Walnutje.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 't Nieuw Walnutje also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Nieuw Walnutje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing