We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be a better place when....In Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Couldn't be a better place when....In Bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

As you approach the hotel which is situated in the centre of town, you know it will be good. The place is a real picture. It must have been amazing as a private resident.

Great rooms, friendly staff who like all in Belgium happily speak English and are very friendly and very efficient.

Lot's of great little touches throughout the hotel. Staying in December, it couldn't look more like Christmas. Great night's sleep, the pillows are like sleeping on clouds.

Only slight problem was the hotel bar closed early even for residents. Wouldn't serve us a night cap at midnight. Sort of expect better from 5 star.

Great place will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichWandsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    525
    170
    55
    34
See reviews for
340
1,674
32
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We were expecting MUCH more from the Kempinski Dukes' Palace. Our experience with other Kempinski properties have always been stellar. We spoke to Mr. Alexis van den Reeck THREE times prior to our arrival. We told him we were celebrating a special occasion, and wanted our trip to memorable. Upon arrival, no one was available to take our luggage from the limo into the hotel. Christian and Illya (sp?) were just sitting at the desk doing nothing. When they sent someone out, I had to help her with the luggage cart. They told us to take the elevator to our deluxe junior suite on the second floor. No upgrade, pushing the luggage cart, showing ourselves to our room--what a warm welcome--NOT !!!!

The shower was impossible to regulate--it went from very hot to very cold 5 times. Mr. Van den Reeck told us (the next day) that the hotel is very aware of the situation--but it will cost 20,000 Euros for a new bolier, and the management is not ready to do it ???? It was only at that point did they offer to upgrade us. This was a "little too late" for us to contemplate moving--especially since the shower situation was identical throughout the hotel. Apparently, during our entire stay, the manager Phillipe De Meyer was incognito and not to be found.

The breakfast at other Kempinski properties (i.e. The Adlon, and The Corvinius) have always been a highlight--here it was just mediocre--another disappointment ! After coming from the Amigo in Brussels--where everyone was warm and friendly--and going on to the De L'Europe in Amsterdam where we experienced the same warmth--(look at my other reviews)--this was the LOW point of our trip. On our next trip to Bruges, we will stay at a Relais and Chateau where will get our usual warm welcome and much more charm.

Room Tip: Don't go--problems regulating the hot and cold water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtravellerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here with friends on a city break. When you see the building ahead of you on arrival you know you are going to enjoy your stay. The staff are really friendly and gave us lots of local knowledge for bars and restaurants. The bedrooms are comfortable and well designed. The weekend we were there they did have a problem with the showers in all rooms but that did not impact on our stay. The hotel had a lot of guests while we were there but the hotel itself did not feel crowded. My only comment on the hotel is that the reception is too small and the desk is very close to the front door so if there are several people checking in at the same time it can feel uncomfortable.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room in the new section overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolfzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights. It is impressive upon arrival. We were greeted by a helpful staff, a pretty lobby where you actually sit down to check in, an elegant spiral staircase, drawing room with a large fireplace and comfortable couches, lovely floral arrangements, candles, nice bar, and large courtyard. The hotel is historic, was once a castle, and we felt like royalty! Our room was comfortable, nice, and big. We ordered roomservice for breakfast, which was perfect. We had beautiful tall windows that we could open for fresh air. The bathroom was lovely, and it had two sinks with a separate tub and shower. The tub was wonderful, the shower was a little difficult to regulate, but we could ignore that because everything else was so nice. If you like history and a romantic feel, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here as part of a pre cruise package with Vantage Travel and were overwhelmed by the beauty of the hotel. It is down a little alley, set apart from the street and is just beautiful. It is close to all- market square, canal rides etc. The rooms were elegant and comfortable- even heated floors in the bathrooms!! You feel as if you are part of a royal entourage!
The staff are all capable and helpful. They recommended several good spots to eat. The hotel's dining room and lounge were also a good place to meet and sit with friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csenora48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

This past week end we decided to make a romantic gateaway to Brugges and we were disapointed with the 5 star experience of the Kempinski hotel.

*As chocolate lovers we took the choc a licious package which was a TOTAL RIP OFF. No chocolate upon arrival or return to hotel, when requested, they sent us in our room a small 4€ box of brugges chocolate, not the "home made truffle".

*The shower didn't work well and it took us forever to get a middle temp and we burned our skin under that disfonctional shower

* Wifi is either 5€/day or 25€/day, it's a 5 Star hotel? even at mac donalds wifi is free.

*When returning to our hotel room at 9 pm, we realised our door was opened!! not closed at all... Room 321 to avoid completly!!!
The door has either a disfunction or a security system, but the housekeeper didn't close it well, we were stressing out that nothing had gone missing( which was not the case).

When i complained at the desk during check out, the lady just said she was sorry...

AVOID THIS HOTEL if you wanna have a pleasant stay.

*toilets didn't work well either.

Room Tip: avoid it completly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank manucaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Dukes' Palace for our first wedding anniversary. We had the most amazing weekend, in both the hotel and Bruges. We arrived on Friday evening, and found the hotel to be elegant, spacious, and charming. We checked in with the very helpful receptionist, and were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from our paid for Deluxe room to a Junior Suite in the original wing of the building. Even though we arrived late at 10pm, the hotel arranged for us to have dinner in the bar area, and the food was delicious.

The room was amazing! It overlooked a charming courtyard, and was very spacious. The bed was absolutely massive, and the bathroom was clinically clean and well appointed.

Breakfast in the morning was large and varied, and we enjoyed it very much during our stay. The reception staff helpfully pointed out in the morning on a provided map the best places to visit in the city, and also booked a table in the hotel for the evening. The meal in the evening was also delicious, and we were well looked after.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing